
IMPORTANT INFORMATION 

2008 RENEWAL AND CONTINUING EDUCATION 
REQUIREMENT (CE) FOR PODIATRISTS 

LICENSE RENEWAL 

Licenses expire on January 31, 2008 unless renewed.  In order to renew, podiatrists must 
meet the continuing education (CE) requirement established by law. 

RANDOM AUDIT 

In order to determine whether the CE requirement has been met, the Board conducts a 
random audit. 

As a result, podiatrists do NOT need to submit documentation of CE unless they are being 
audited.  Those who are being audited will receive a memo in October 2007.  Because 
they are expected to submit CE documentation with their renewal, they will not be able 
to renew online. 

CE REQUIREMENT 

40 hours of CE are required of podiatrists licensed in Hawaii prior to 2/1/06.  The 40 CE 
hours are to be obtained between 2/1/06 – 1/31/08. 

20 hours of CE are required of podiatrists licensed in Hawaii between 2/1/06 – 1/31/07. 
The 20 CE hours are to be obtained between 2/1/07 – 1/31/08. (Only 20 hours are 
required for the initial renewal.  Beginning with the 2010 renewal and thereafter, 40 hours 
will be required). 

WAIVER/MODIFICATION: 

The Board is able to waive/modify the CE requirement if the podiatrist: 

•	 Practices in an isolated geographical area with an absence of opportunities for CE;
 or 

•	 Is unable to devote sufficient hours to CE because of incapacity, undue hardship, or 
any other extenuating circumstances. 

Podiatrists wishing to request a waiver/modification, will need to mail in the renewal, fee 
and affidavit which: 

•	 Requests a waiver/modification of the CE requirement; 
•	 Provides an explanation as to why you were unable to meet the CE requirement;
 and 
•	 Is notarized. 


