
IMPORTANT ANNOUNCEMENT

CONCERNING THE 

EDUCATIONAL REQUIREMENTS

FOR THE 

CPA EXAMINATION


Amendments to Hawaii Revised Statutes §466-5.5 were approved by the Governor on 
June 6, 2002. Act 135, SLH 2002, now allows a candidate with a bachelor’s degree (which 
requires approximately 120 hours of college education) to sit for the CPA examination; and 
retains the 150-hour education requirement to obtain a license as a certified public 
accountant in the State of Hawaii. Thus, Act 135 makes the educational requirements to sit 
for the examination revert back to what they were prior to December 31, 2000. 

QUALIFICATIONS TO TAKE THE UNIFORM CPA EXAMINATION: 

•	 Baccalaureate degree in accounting conferred by a college or university 
acceptable to the Board; or 

•	 Baccalaureate degree with a major in a subject other than in accounting, plus 
eighteen (18) semester hours of upper division or graduate level accounting or 
auditing subjects, conferred by a college or university acceptable to the Board; 
or 

•	 Baccalaureate degree or its equivalent in accounting, conferred by a college or 
university outside of the U.S., and submission of a letter of acceptance from an 
accredited U.S. college or university to its advanced degree program, or an 
educational equivalency report prepared by an evaluator approved by the 
Board. 

•	 If necessary, a statement from a college official indicating that the applicant 
will graduate within one hundred twenty (120) days after the examination. 

FOR COMPLETE INFORMATION ON THE REQUIREMENTS TO TAKE THE CPA 

EXAMINATION, CHECK THE BOARD’S WEBSITE:   


www.hawaii.gov/dcca/areas/pvl/boards/accountancy 

or CALL THE BOARD’S OFFICE AT:  (808) 586-2696 


FOR APPLICATION FORMS AND INFORMATION ON REGISTRATION, 

CHECK THE CPA EXAMINATION SERVICES (CPAES) WEBSITE:   


www.nasba.org/nasbaweb.nsf/exam 

or CALL CPAES AT:   (800) 272-3926 or (615) 880-4268 



CPA REQUIREMENTS - EXAMINATION, CERTIFICATE AND PERMIT TO PRACTICE


BOARD'S LAWS Copies of the Accountancy laws, Chapter 466, Hawaii Revised Statutes, and Chapter 71, Hawaii Administrative 
AND RULES Rules are available by submitting a written request to:  Board of Public Accountancy, Commerce & Consumer 

Affairs, P.0. Box 3469, Honolulu, HI 96801. 

The laws and rules are also posted on our website at www.hawaii.gov/dcca/areas/pvl. Click on "Accountancy". 

MAILING BOARD OF PUBLIC ACCOUNTANCY Deliver to office location at: 
ADDRESS DCCA, PVL Licensing Branch or 

P.0. Box 3469 	 335 Merchant St., Room 301 
Honolulu, HI 96801 	 Honolulu, HI 96813 

Phone: (808) 586-3000 

EXAMINATION 

EDUCATION	 Possess a baccalaureate degree and 18 semester (27 quarter) hours of upper division or graduate level courses in 
accounting or auditing. 

Requirement must be met prior to the candidate's 1st exam or at the latest 120 days following the 1st exam. 

Foreign School Graduates may sit for the examination by first submitting a letter of acceptance from an accredited 
U.S. college/university's advanced degree program, or have their credentials evaluated by an approved educational 
evaluation service. Contact CPA Examination Services at the address and telephone number below for details. 

RESCHEDULING The examination can be rescheduled: 

OF EXAM o at no charge if the applicant notifies the testing service at least 30 days prior to the examination date; 


o	 with the payment of a non-refundable fee if the applicant notifies the testing service 5 to 30 days prior to the 
examination date; 

o	 with the payment of a non-refundable fee if the applicant notifies the testing service within 5 days of the 
examination date. 

The failure to appear for the examination shall result in the forfeiture of all fees charged. 

CONDITIONAL An applicant may take the required sections of the examination individually and in any order.  Credit for any section 
CREDIT passed will be valid for 18 months from the actual date the applicant took that section, without having to maintain a 

minimum score on any failed section(s), and without regard to whether the applicant has taken other sections. 
o	 An applicant must pass all 4 sections of the examination within a rolling 18-month period, which begins on 

the date that the first section passed is taken; 
o	 An applicant cannot retake a failed section in the same examination window;  
o	 In the event all 4 sections of the examination are not passed within the rolling 18-month period, credit for 

any section(s) passed will expire and that section(s) must be retaken. 

WAIVER OF The examination shall be waived if a candidate:  
ENTIRE EXAM 

1. 	 Holds a valid certificate which was issued under the laws of another state, OR 
2. 	 Does not hold a certificate but passed the Uniform CPA exam in its entirety in another state. 

APPLICATION	 CPA Examination Services (a division of the National Association of State Boards of Accountancy) has been 
contracted by the board to administer the CPA exam.  All inquiries regarding the exam, and requests for application 
forms, should be directed to the following: 

CPA Examination Services 

 Hawaii Coordinator 


150 Fourth Avenue, North 

Nashville TN 37219-2417 


Phone: (800) 272-3926 8:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m. Central Time 
(615) 880-4200 

website:  www.nasba.org/nasbaweb.nsf/exam 
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CERTIFICATE 


Candidates must be at least 18 years of age and must have passed the Uniform CPA Examination. 

EDUCATION 1. 	 150 semester (225 quarter) hours of college education, within which an applicant shall have: 
a. 	 A baccalaureate or higher degree conferred by a college or university acceptable to the Board; and 
b. 	 An accounting concentration (see attached Board Policy Regarding Educational Requirements, effective 

June 21, 2001, amended June 7, 2002). 
2. 	 Applicants who passed the Uniform CPA Examination before December 31, 2000, or held conditional credits 

before December 31, 2000 and subsequently passed the examination before the conditional credits expired, 
may continue to meet the following education requirements: 
a. 	 A baccalaureate degree; and 
b. 	 30 semester (45 quarter) hours of upper division or graduate level business-related1/ subjects (in addition to 

the baccalaureate degree); OR 
30 months of experience with a public accounting firm (this experience may not also be credited toward the 
experience requirement); and 

c. 	 18 semester (27 quarter) hours of upper division or graduate level accounting or auditing subjects (which 
may have been earned while obtaining the baccalaureate degree). 

You may be eligible for an exemption from the education requirements if the following conditions are met: 
•	 You hold, and have continued to hold, a valid comparable CPA certificate, registration, or license from 

another state for at least 10 years preceding the date of this application for a Hawaii CPA certificate; and 

•	 You have been in the active practice of public accountancy for at least 5 years preceding the date of this 
application for a Hawaii CPA certificate. 

Submit a completed Form CPA-05, Verification of License and/or Exam Scores, together with a signed statement 
from the Board of Accountancy of your state of licensure verifying that you meet the above-cited conditions. 

Note: If you passed the Uniform CPA Examination in May 1998 or later as a Hawaii candidate, and you are applying 
for CPA licensure within 5 years of passing the exam, you need not submit your educational transcripts with your 
license application. The transcripts that you submitted to CPA Examination Services in order to qualify to take the 
exam should have been forwarded to the Board once you passed the examination. 

EXPERIENCE 1. 	 1,500 chargeable hours in performance of audits involving generally accepted accounting principles and 
auditing standards earned while in public accounting practice; OR 

2. 	 Two (2) years of professional experience in public accounting practice, private, industry, government, or 
education. 

IMPORTANT NOTICE:  This experience requirement is in addition to the 30-month experience option that satisfies 
the 30 semester hours of additional study requirement for applicants who passed the Uniform CPA Exam before 
December 31, 2000, or held conditional credits before December 31, 2000, and subsequently passed the exam 
before the conditional credits expired. 

Your experience must have been earned while you were employed on a full-time basis (35 or more hours per week). 
A letter from your employer or supervisor verifying the duration and scope of your experience must be attached to 
your license application.  There is no form or sample letter included with this application; your employer or supervisor 
is requested to draft and sign the letter in his/her style and format. 

In the letter, your employer or supervisor should provide specific starting and ending dates of your employment, the 
total number of chargeable audit hours worked (if you are choosing to fulfill the experience requirement for licensure 
as a CPA with 1,500 chargeable hours in the performance of audits), a detailed description of your duties and 
responsibilities, the CPA license number of the employer or supervisor who is signing the letter, and the state or 
jurisdiction where your employer or supervisor is licensed as a CPA or was licensed as a CPA during the time that 
you were under your employer's or supervisor's supervision. 

The letter must also state whether the experience that you have gained fulfills the 1,500 chargeable audit hours 
option or the 2 years of professional experience option.  Please be sure to have the letter signed by your former or 
present employer or supervisor who holds or had held a CPA license in Hawaii, or in another state or jurisdiction, 
during the time of your employment or supervision. 

Note:  If your experience was gained in the private, government, or academic sectors, and not at a CPA firm, 
it is crucial that the description of your duties and responsibilities be as comprehensive and inclusive as 
possible, so that the Board has the information required for it to determine whether your experience is 
equivalent to experience gained at a CPA firm. 

1/	 "Business-related" subjects include: accounting and auditing; taxation; management services; computer science; economics; business law; functional fields of business 
(finance, production, marketing, personnel relations, and business management), and other business-related subjects as approved by the Board. 
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COMPETENCE Applicants shall submit three (3) Certificate of Competence forms which have been completed by people who are not 
CERTIFICATES related to you and will attest to your competence, trustworthiness and fairness. 

FEES If a certificate will be issued to you in an EVEN-NUMBERED year, pay ...........................................$165 
(Application-$252/, Certificate-$50, Compliance Resolution Fund-$70, 

 1/2 Renewal-$20) 
If a certificate will be issued to you in an ODD-NUMBERED year, pay..............................................$1103/

 (Application-$252/, Certificate -$50, Compliance Resolution Fund-$35) 

Make check payable to:  COMMERCE & CONSUMER AFFAIRS. 

Note: One of the numerous legal requirements that you must meet in order for your new license to issue is the 
payment of fees as set forth in this application.  You may be sent a license certificate before the check you sent us 
for your required fees clears your bank. If your check is returned to us unpaid, you will have failed to pay the 
required licensing fee and your license will not be valid, and you may not do business under that license.  Also, a 
$15.00 service fee will be charged for checks which are returned by the bank. 

If for any reason you are denied the license you are applying for, you may be entitled to a hearing as provided by 
Title 16, Chapter 201, Hawaii Administrative Rules, and/or Chapter 91, Hawaii Revised Statutes.  Your written 
request for a hearing must be directed to the agency that denied your application, and must be made within 60 days 
of notification that your application for a license has been denied. 

APPLICATION 	 Submit an Application for Certificate-CPA (Form CPA-04), with applicable fees and supporting documents for 
education and experience. 

BIENNIAL Licensees shall renew certificates and permits to practice on or before December 31 of each odd-numbered year. 
RENEWAL There is no grace period for renewal.  Practicing public accountancy without a current license and a current permit 

to practice shall constitute unlicensed activity. 

PERMIT TO PRACTICE 

A PA or CPA certificate or license indicates that the licensee has met the minimum education and experience requirements. 

To practice as a PA or CPA the licensee: 

1. Shall hold a current Hawaii PA or CPA certificate, and  
2. Shall obtain a current "Permit to Practice." 

APPLICATION	 Licensee shall submit an "Application for 20 - 20 Permit to Practice" at least 30 days 
before the date on which the permit will become effective. 

FEES	 Licensee shall attach to the application the appropriate fee:  

If you will practice as a sole practitioner, partner or 
principal of a corporation, pay..............................................................................................$125 
If you will practice as a staff member of one 

 of the above, pay..................................................................................................................$  55 

Make checks payable to:  COMMERCE & CONSUMER AFFAIRS. Note: A $15.00 service fee will be charged for 
checks which are returned by the bank. 

CONTINUING Licensees applying for permits after allowing their permits to lapse or applying for the first time shall obtain 80 hours 
PROFESSIONAL of continuing professional education (CPE). 
EDUCATION Licensees renewing their Permit to Practice shall certify on the application form that 80 hours of CPE were earned 

during the 24 months prior to the date of application. Licensees renewing their permit for the first time may apply on 
a prorated basis (10 CPE per quarter) dependent on the effective date of the initial permit.  All CPE credits must 
have the Board's approval. 

CPE 	 Licensees applying for permit renewal who fail to have 80 CPE hours by the December 31 deadline shall not be 
DEFICIENCY	 permitted to practice until the deficiency is made up. Licensees who are applying for a permit for the first time and 

who fail to earn 80 CPE hours by the date of application shall not be permitted to practice until the deficiency is made 
up. Practicing public accountancy without a current license and a current permit to practice shall constitute 
unlicensed activity. 

CPE A maximum carryover of 40 CPE hours shall be allowed. 
CARRYOVER 
2/ Application fee is not refundable. 

3/ Subject to renewal December 31, odd-numbered years. 
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CPE CREDIT A licensee shall be credited with 80 hours of CPE for passing the Uniform CPA Examination, provided an application 
FOR PASSING for permit to practice is filed within two (2) years of the notification date for passing the exam.  Forty (40) hours of 
AICPA EXAM CPE will be credited for passing the Uniform CPA Examination if the application for permit is filed within three (3) 

years of the notification date for passing the exam. Credits for passing the exam may be used only once. 

BOARD'S Mail all required items to: Deliver to office location at: 
ADDRESS Board of Public Accountancy 

DCCA, PVL Licensing Branch or 335 Merchant St., Room 301 
P.0. Box 3469 Honolulu, HI 96813 
Honolulu, HI 96801 Phone: (808) 586-3000 

This material can be made available for individuals with special needs.  Please call the Licensing Branch Manager at (808) 586-3000 to submit your request. 

(Auth: Chapter 466, HRS, and Chapter 71, HAR) -4-



BOARD OF PUBLIC ACCOUNTANCY

BOARD POLICY REGARDING EDUCATIONAL REQUIREMENTS 


(Effective June 21, 2001; Amended June 7, 2002) 


An applicant subject to the one hundred fifty (150) semester hour educational requirement provided 
in §466-5.5 HRS, shall have: 

(1) 	 A baccalaureate or higher degree conferred by an educational institution accredited by a 
regional or national accrediting agency or association approved by the Board, or evidence that 
the baccalaureate or comparable degree qualifies the applicant for acceptance for an advanced 
degree at an educational institution accredited by a regional or national accrediting agency or 
association approved by the Board; and 

(2) 	 One hundred fifty (150) semester hours of college education from an educational institution 
accredited by a regional or national accrediting agency or association approved by the Board, 
which shall, at minimum, include: 

(a) 	 Twenty-four (24) semester hours in upper division or graduate level accounting courses 
including, without limitation, courses in financial accounting, auditing, taxation, and 
managerial accounting; and 

(b) 	 Twenty-four (24) semester hours in upper division or graduate level non-accounting 
business-related courses including, without limitation, courses in economics; legal and 
social environment of business; business law; marketing; finance; organizational, group, 
and individual behavior; quantitative applications in business; communication skills; 
business ethics; globalization; total-quality management; computer science; human 
relations; or other business-type courses. 

For purposes of this policy: 

(1) 	 "Educational institution" means a four-year degree-granting college, school, or university; 

(2) 	 "National accrediting agency or association" includes, without limitation, the American 
Assembly of Collegiate Schools of Business, and other similar agencies and associations 
approved by the Board; 

(3) 	 "Regional accrediting agency or association" includes, without limitation, the Western 
Association of Schools and Colleges, and other similar agencies and associations approved by 
the Board; 

(4) 	 "Upper division courses" means courses usually taken at the junior or senior undergraduate 
level; and 

(5) 	 To be acceptable, the educational institution shall be accredited in accordance with this policy 
at the time the applicant is granted the degree. 
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IMPORTANT NOTICE 


BOARD OF PUBLIC ACCOUNTANCY 

New License Requirement 

Effective June 17, 2003 and pursuant to Hawaii Revised Statutes 
section 436B-10 and federal law, it is the policy of the State of Hawaii 
("State") Board of Public Accountancy ("Board") that, in addition to 
meeting the education, experience, and examination requirements for 
licensure, an applicant for a Hawaii public accountant's license is required to 
be either a United States citizen, a United States national, or an alien 
authorized to work in the United States. 

This means that, even if an applicant meets the education, 
experience, and examination requirements for licensure, that 
applicant shall not be issued a license if that applicant is not a U.S. 
citizen, a U.S. national, or an alien authorized to work in the U.S. 

However, the Board will issue the applicant a conditional approval 
that signifies that the applicant has met the education, experience, and 
examination requirements for licensure; provided that this conditional 
approval shall not be considered a license to engage in the profession and 
shall not authorize the applicant to work in our State.  To obtain  
authorization to work in our State, the applicant shall be required to contact 
the U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services ("USCIS").  In addition,  
federal law [45 U.S.C. 666 (a)(13)(A)] requires that once an applicant is 
authorized by the USCIS to work in the U.S., the applicant must supply 
his/her Social Security Number ("SSN") so that states can use this 
information for child support enforcement purposes. 

Once the applicant submits evidence to the Board that the USCIS has 
authorized the applicant to work in the U.S. (without conditions or other 
encumbrances), provides a SSN, and meets all of the licensing 
requirements in effect at that time (including, but not limited to, the 
requirement that the applicant has not been convicted of any crime that is 
directly related to the profession), the applicant shall be issued a full and 
unrestricted license. 

This conditional approval shall be valid for two (2) years.  An applicant 
must obtain the appropriate USCIS authorization within this two (2) year 
period in order to have a license issued.  If the applicant is unable to meet 
this deadline, the applicant may be required to reapply for licensure and 
meet all of the requirements in effect at that time. 
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