
IMPORTANT ANNOUNCEMENT
for

LICENSED MORTGAGE BROKERS
and SOLICITORS

Changes to Chapter 454, Hawaii Revised Statutes (“HRS”), relating to Mortgage Brokers and
Solicitors, were approved by the Governor on April 6, 2001.  Act 4, SLH 2001, makes housekeeping
amendments to the law for consistency with recent statutory amendments, repeals obsolete provisions, and
aligns the program with current administrative practices for regulatory licenses.

The main provisions of Act 4 are:

? $15,000 surety bond requirement for Mortgage Broker license
The $50,000 mortgage servicing bond requirement has been repealed.  For consistency
with the 1999 repeal of the real estate collection servicing agent licensing law (formerly
chapter 454D, HRS), the $50,000 mortgage servicing bond requirement in the mortgage
broker licensing law that mirrored the real estate collection servicing agent bond
requirement has been repealed.  The requirement is now a $15,000 bond for all licensed
Mortgage Brokers.

? Financial integrity requirement for Mortgage Broker and Solicitor licenses
Act 4 establishes financial integrity as a condition of licensure, consistent with the
standards established for other professions whose members’ activities have financial
impact on consumers.

? Requirement of two years of experience for licensure as a Designated Principal
Mortgage Solicitor (“DPMS”)
The Act clarifies the two-year experience requirement for the DPMS, which establishes a
consumer protection standard for the solicitor in charge of the Mortgage Broker’s
operations.  The two years of experience must reflect dealing in financial transactions
involving primary or subordinate mortgage financing.

? Biennial license renewal
Effective with the December 31, 2000 renewal, the schedule for renewal of a Mortgage
Broker’s license was shifted to a biennial cycle.  Subsequent renewal dates are December
31, 2002, and every even-numbered year thereafter.

Failure to renew your license by the deadline date constitutes an automatic forfeiture of the
license.  You may restore your forfeited license, as long as the application for restoration is
made within six months and a penalty fee is paid in addition to the delinquent license fee.
However, should you fail to restore your license within the six-month period, you must then
apply as a new applicant.
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? Five year license suspension and revocation period
Act 4 repeals the two-year license suspension period to allow suspension and revocation
periods consistent with the consumer remedies provision of the public agency meetings
law (Section 92-17, HRS) which provides for a five-year suspension and revocation period.

? Fees
Obsolete licensing fees have been repealed.  Hawaii Administrative Rules Title 16,
Chapter 53, entitled “Fees Relating to Boards and Commissions”, establishes license fees
for boards, commissions, and programs administratively attached to the department.

? Display of license(s)
The requirement for the display of license(s) in the Mortgage Broker’s office has been
repealed.  The law now requires that, upon request, the Mortgage Broker must make
available for inspection the Mortgage Broker’s license and the licenses of all the Mortgage
Solicitors employed by the Mortgage Broker.

? Mortgage Solicitor’s release from Mortgage Broker
Rather than returning the Mortgage Solicitor’s license to the department for cancellation
when he/she leaves the employ of a Mortgage Broker, the Mortgage Broker must
immediately return the license to the Mortgage Solicitor.

FOR COMPLETE INFORMATION ON THE CHANGES TO CHAPTER 454, HRS,
CHECK THE PROGRAM’S WEBSITE:

www.state.hi.us/dcca/pvl/areas_mortgage_broker.html

or  CALL THE PROGRAM’S OFFICE AT:  (808)  586-2696

FOR THE COMPLETE TEXT OF ACT 4, CHECK THE STATE LEGISLATURE’S WEBSITE:

www.capitol.hawaii.gov
Select “Status and Documents”; request the text for “HB587”; click “HB 587 HD1”.

IN ADDITION,
TWO NEW ONLINE SERVICES ARE AVAILABLE FROM THE DEPARTMENT:

www.ehawaiigov.org/serv/pvl     Search for professional and vocational licenses

www.ehawaiigov.org/serv/rico     Search for business and licensee complaints history


