
INSTRUCTIONS AND INFORMATION FOR PRELICENSING EDUCATION EQUIVALENCY- REAL ESTATE 
Access this form via website at:  www.hawaii.gov/hirec 

WHO FILES? 

PURPOSE 

APPLICATION FORM 

SOCIAL SECURITY 
NUMBER 

FEES 

EQUIVALENCY 
CATEGORIES 
AND SUPPORTING 
DOCUMENTS 

Any candidate planning to take the Hawaii real estate salesperson or broker examination and who 
desires an equivalency to the prelicensing education requirements and qualifies under one of the 
specified categories shall file a COMPLETE application prior to registering for the examination. 

All candidates for the Hawaii real estate salesperson or broker examination shall successfully 
complete a real estate prelicensing course accredited by the Hawaii Real Estate Commission unless 
granted a prelicensing education equivalency. The prelicensing education equivalency is subject to 
the review and approval of the Real Estate Commission and shall be secured prior to taking the 
examination. The prelicensing education equivalency certificate is valid for two years from the date 
of issuance. No extension of time will be granted; a new complete application must be submitted. 

Complete the entire application form using a typewriter or print legibly in black ink. 

Your social security number is used to verify your identity for licensing purposes and for compliance 
with the below laws. For a license to be issued you must provide your social security number or 
your application will be deemed deficient and will not be processed further. 
The following laws require that you furnish your social security number to our agency: 
FEDERAL LAWS: 
42 U.S.C.A. §666 (a)(13) requires the social security number of any applicant for a professional 
license or occupational license be recorded on the application for license; and 
If you are a licensed health care practitioner, 45 C.F.R., Part 61, Subpart B, §61.7 requires the social 
security number as part of the mandatory reporting we must do to the Healthcare Integrity and 
Protection Data Bank (HIPDB), of any final adverse licensing action against a licensed health care 
practitioner. 
HAWAII REVISED STATUTES ("HRS"): 
§576D-13(j), HRS requires the social security number of any applicant for a professional license or 
occupational license be recorded on the application for license; and 
§436B-10(4) HRS which states that an applicant for license shall provide the applicant's social 
security number if the licensing authority is authorized by federal law to require the disclosure (and 
by the federal cites shown above, we are authorized to require the social security number). 

The candidate shall submit a complete application form with the $25 NON-REFUNDABLE application 
fee payable to COMMERCE & CONSUMER AFFAIRS and the required supporting documents. 

NOTE: One of the numerous legal requirements that you must meet in order for your new license to 
be issued is the payment of fees as set forth in this application.  You may be sent a license certificate 
before the payment you sent us for your required fees is honored by your bank.  If your payment is 
dishonored, you will have failed to pay the required licensing fee and your license will not be valid, 
and you may not do business under that license. Also, a $25.00 service charge shall be assessed for 
payments that are dishonored for any reason. 

If for any reason you are denied the license/certificate you are applying for, you may be entitled to a 
hearing as provided by Title 16, Chapter 201, Hawaii Administrative Rules, and/or Chapter 91, 
Hawaii Revised Statutes. Your written request for a hearing must be directed to the agency that 
denied your application, and must be made within 60 days of notification that your application for a 
license/certificate has been denied. 

The following required documents shall be attached to the application form for the specified 
category. An application without the required documents or with substitute documents is considered 
an incomplete application subject to processing termination and denial.  No partial credit is given for a 
category, a candidate shall qualify for one (1) category only. 

(CONTINUED ON BACK) 
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ACTIVE AND CURRENT 
EQUIVALENCY OUT-OF-STATE 
CATEGORIES REAL ESTATE LICENSE 
AND SUPPORTING 
DOCUMENTS 
(Cont'd) 

LAW DEGREE 

BACHELOR OF ARTS 
OR SCIENCE DEGREE 
IN REAL ESTATE OR 
BUSINESS 

6 SEMESTER CREDITS 
IN REAL ESTATE, 
BUSINESS, BUSINESS 
LAW, REAL ESTATE 
DEVELOPMENT, OR 
FINANCE COURSES 

CERTIFICATE IN 
ADVANCED 
REAL ESTATE 

RE 300 AND RE 310 -
UNIVERSITY OF 
HAWAII 

A current license, that was active within one year immediately prior to 
the date of the equivalency application as a salesperson or broker in 
another state with similar or superior prelicensing education 
requirements as determined by the Commission. Applicant must have 
successfully completed the prelicensing education. 

Submit a completed "Verification of License" form (see attached) with 
application form. Candidate to complete Part I and submit form to the 
out-of-state agency for completion of Part II, who shall return the 
completed form back to the candidate. Note that some states charge 
a fee for completing Part II of the form.  Upon receipt of the 
completed form, the candidate shall submit the verification of license 
form with the application form and required fees to Licensing Branch. 
(See "Address to File Application.") 

Photocopies of out-of-state license will not be accepted.  "Verification 
of License" form must be completed and issued by the out-of-state 
agency not more than 6 months ago. 

***If submitting under "ACTIVE AND CURRENT OUT-OF-STATE 
REAL ESTATE LICENSE" category, also consider submitting 
"Application for Equivalency to the Uniform Section of the Hawaii Real 
Estate Licensing Examination" (separate application and $25 fee). 

***BROKER CANDIDATES – PLEASE SEE "BROKER EXAMINATION 
CANDIDATES" section below. 

Graduate of a law school accredited by the American Bar Association. 
Submit photocopy of diploma or original certified transcripts (with 
school seal) with application form. 

Bachelor of arts or bachelor of science degree graduates of accredited 
colleges and universities who have majored in real estate or business. 
Submit photocopy of degree/diploma if it specifically cites a degree in 
real estate or business, or original certified transcripts (with school 
seal) with the date the degree was conferred highlighted for reference 
with application form. 

Successful completion for credit of 6 semester credits in real estate, 
business, business law, real estate development or finance courses 
from an accredited college or university. Submit original certified 
transcripts (with school seal) with courses highlighted for reference 
with application form.  If unclear as to whether a real estate, business, 
business law, real estate development or finance course, candidate 
shall provide verification documentation from the accredited college or 
university. CONTINUING EDUCATION COURSES ARE NOT 
ACCEPTABLE UNLESS PART OF A REAL ESTATE DEGREE 
CURRICULUM. 

Successful completion of the curriculum and confirmation of 
certificate from the Small Business Management Program, University 
of Hawaii. Submit photocopy of certificate or original letter 
confirming certificate with application. 

Successful completion for credit of RE 300 and RE 310 from the 
University of Hawaii. Submit original certified transcripts (with school 
seal) with courses highlighted for reference or original certification 
letter from the University of the two courses with application.  (July 
24, 1987) 
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EQUIVALENCY GRI DESIGNATION Successful completion of the GRI (Graduate Realtors Institute) 
CATEGORIES curriculum and confirmation of designation. Submit photocopy of 
AND SUPPORTING certificate or original letter from issuing agency confirming 
DOCUMENTS designation. 
(Cont'd) 

CCIM DESIGNATION	 Successful completion of the CCIM (Certified Commercial Investment 
Member) curriculum and confirmation of designation. Submit 
photocopy of certificate or original letter from issuing agency 
confirming designation with application.  (August 31, 1990) 

BOMI - RPA	 Successful completion of the BOMI (Building Owners and Managers 
Institute) International's - RPA (Real Property Administrator) curriculum 
and confirmation of designation. Submit photocopy of certificate or 
original letter from issuing agency confirming designation with 
application.  (November 24, 1993) 

OTHER PROFESSIONAL The Real Estate Commission will review, evaluate, and decide on 
DESIGNATIONS OR other professional designations or certificates on a case-by-case basis 
CERTIFICATES at its monthly meeting. This process will take an additional 30 days 

or longer for decision. Applicants must submit a summary of the 
curriculum, courses, requirements, and other information about the 
professional designation or certificate, or have the issuing agency 
petition the Commission for approval of the professional designation 
or certificate. Submit a photocopy of designation or certificate or 
original letter from issuing agency confirming designation or certificate 
with application. 

BROKER EXAMINATION CANDIDATES 

Candidates for the broker examination are required to apply and be granted an "Experience Certificate" prior to registering 
for the examination with the testing company.  To qualify, candidates must submit the "Application for Experience Certificate", $50 
non-refundable application fee, and required documents. 

EQUIVALENCY TO THE If you have a current real estate license in another state, and have passed the uniform section of that 
UNIFORM SECTION OF state's licensing examination for the equivalent level of license, you may also qualify for an 
THE EXAM equivalency to the uniform section of the Hawaii licensing examination.  To qualify, you must submit 

the "Application for Equivalency to the Uniform Section of the Hawaii Real Estate Licensing 
Examination" (form REC-35), $25 non-refundable application fee, and supporting documents.  If 
granted, instead of having to take both national and state sections of the Hawaii licensing 
examination, you will be required to take the Hawaii specific section only, subject to the applicant 
having a valid Hawaii School Completion Certificate or prelicensing Education Equivalency Certificate. 
 Call or write the office listed below to request an application or for more information. 

FILING DEADLINE	 It is the responsibility of the applicant to file a complete application in sufficient time to be granted 
and receive a prelicensing education equivalency certificate prior to taking the examination. 

ADDRESS TO FILE Mail the COMPLETE APPLICATION to: Deliver to office location at: 
APPLICATION 

DCCA, PVL, Licensing Branch or 335 Merchant St., Room 301 
P. O. Box 3469 	 Honolulu, HI 96813 
Honolulu, HI 	96801 

Phone: (808) 586-3000 

This material can be made available for individuals with special needs.  Please call the Licensing Branch Manager at (808) 586-3000 to submit your 
request. 
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APPLICATION FOR PRELICENSING EDUCATION EQUIVALENCY-
REAL ESTATE 
Read the attached instructions before completing form. 
Applicants are subject to requirements, forms, and fees in effect at time of 
filing. 
Complete and submit with the $25 non-refundable application fee. 

Submit ORIGINAL only – FAX and PHOTOCOPY will not be accepted. S
E 

O
N

LY
 

APPROVED 

DENIED 

Initials/date: 

Exp. Date Cert. Sent 

Legal Name (First, Middle) (LAST) 

FO
R
 B

O
A

R
D

 U

Mailing Address (include apt. no., city, state & zip code 

CIRCLE TYPE OF EXAM: 

SALESPERSON BROKER 

Phone No. (days): Social Security No: 

Circle or underline your answer and provide information: 

1. Have you ever applied for and been denied of a prelicensing education equivalency? ..................................................YES NO 

If YES, when? 

2. Have you ever taken a Hawaii real estate exam? ....................................................................................................YES NO 

a. If YES, salesperson or broker? b. What year and month? 

Check equivalency category under which you are applying and attach REQUIRED supporting documents. Check one category ONLY. 
[ ] Active and current out-of-state real estate license.  Attach completed "Verification of License" form. 
[ ] Law degree from a law school accredited by the American Bar Association.  Name of law school attended: . 

Date degree was conferred: . Attach photocopy of diploma or original certified transcripts. 
[ ] Bachelor of Arts or Bachelor of Science degree with a major in real estate or business from an accredited college or university. 

 Attach photocopy of degree or original certified transcript and highlight the date degree was conferred. 
[ ] 6 semester credits in real estate, business, business law, real estate development, or finance courses from an accredited 

college or university. Attach original certified transcript and highlight the courses for reference. 
[ ] GRI designation. Attach photocopy of certificate or original certification letter. 
[ ] Certificate in advanced real estate from the University of Hawaii.  Attach photocopy of certificate or original certification 

letter. 
[ ] RE 300 and RE 310 - University of Hawaii. Attach original certified transcript or original certification letter. 
[ ] CCIM designation. Attach photocopy of certificate or original certification letter. 
[ ] BOMI - RPA designation. Attach photocopy of certificate or original certification letter. 
[ ] Other professional designation or certificate. SEE INSTRUCTIONS. 

CERTIFICATION OF APPLICANT: 
I understand that it is my responsibility to read the instructions thoroughly and to file a complete application, including required 

documents and fees, in sufficient time to be reviewed and, if approved, for a prelicensing education equivalency certificate to be issued prior 
to taking the examination. 

I hereby certify that the information provided on this application and the documents attached are true and correct.  I understand that 
misrepresentation is grounds for refusal or subsequent revocation and is a misdemeanor (§710-1017, and §436B-19, Hawaii Revised 
Statutes), and may result in denial of application, denial of license, or revocation of license.  I understand that it is unlawful to file with the 
Real Estate Commission any document which is false and untrue or contains any material misstatement of fact.  (§467-20, HRS). 

Date Signature of Applicant 

This material can be made available for individuals with special needs.  Please 
call the Licensing Branch Manager at (808) 586-3000 to submit your request. 
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Appl.............................
Service Charge..............

 580........................ $25 
 BCF........................ $25 



VERIFICATION OF LICENSE -- REAL ESTATE 
PART I. TO BE COMPLETED BY APPLICANT 
 
INSTRUCTIONS: A. Applicant to complete information in Part I only. 
 B. Applicant to send this form to out-of-state licensing agency to complete Part II. 
 C. Upon receipt of completed form from the out-of-state agency, applicant to attach completed form to 

application(s) and submit to Licensing Branch.  Please note that only one (1) completed Verification of 
License form is required to be submitted if applicant is submitting multiple applications at the same time. 

Applicant's Name (First, Middle) (LAST) Type of License held: 
 
 
 SALESPERSON BROKER 

Mailing Address (Include apt. no. & zip code) 

License Number Date Licensed 

 

PART II. TO BE COMPLETED BY OUT-OF-STATE LICENSING AGENCY 

The above-named person is applying for a real estate exam in Hawaii.  Please supply the following information, and mail this form 
back to the above-named person. 
Circle Type of License 
Issued: 
 
 SALESPERSON 
 
 BROKER 

Has disciplinary action ever been taken against the license? ................................................................  YES NO 
 
Are there any pending disciplinary actions? ........................................................................................  YES NO 
 
Are there any conditions currently placed on this license? ...................................................................  YES NO 
 
If yes, please explain: 

Date Licensed 
 
 

Expiration Date 

Is the license current and active? (not forfeited, escrowed, or inactive) .................................................  YES NO 
 
If not active and current, date license expired, forfeited or placed inactive: 
 
Who placed the license on inactive/expired status? 

 
 1a) Was there a pre-license educational requirement at the time applicant was licensed? .........................................................  YES NO 

 b) If yes, what was requirement?   hours. 

  2 Did the person named above fulfill the pre-license educational requirement? .....................................................................  YES NO 

 3a) Was the pre-license educational requirement or a portion of the pre-license educational requirement waived? ......................  YES NO 

 b) If yes, what portion of the pre-license educational requirement was waived and what was submitted in lieu of the requirement? 
 
 Requirement: Waived due to: 
 
    
 
    
 
 4a) Did the applicant pass the uniform portion of the salesperson (or equivalent) examination in your state? .............................  YES NO 

 b) If yes, please provide the date:    

 5a) Did the applicant pass the uniform portion of the broker (or equivalent) examination in your state? .....................................  YES NO 

 b) If yes, please provide the date:    

Name of Out-of-state Agency Signature Date 

Address of Out-of-state Agency Name & Title 
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LINDA LINGLE LAWRENCE M. REIFURTH 
GOVERNOR DIRECTOR 

JAMES R. AIONA, JR. NOE NOE TOM 
LIEUTENANT GOVERNOR LICENSING ADMINISTRATOR 

STATE OF HAWAII 
REAL ESTATE BRANCH 

PROFESSIONAL AND VOCATIONAL LICENSING DIVISION 
DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE AND CONSUMER AFFAIRS 

KING KALAKAUA BUILDING 
335 MERCHANT STREET, ROOM 333 

HONOLULU, HAWAII 96813 
http://www.hawaii.gov/hirec 

hirec@dcca.hawaii.gov 

May 1, 2006 

M E M O R A N D U M 

TO: 	 Candidates for Prelicensing Schools or Anyone Considering a Real 
Estate License 

FROM: 	 Real Estate Commission 

SUBJECT:	 Persons with a Questionable Background Issue(s) 

Do you have a questionable background issue?  Questionable background 
issues include, but is not limited to, criminal convictions (felony, misdemeanor, or court 
martial), or any civil/administrative/government action, against you, including DUIs, 
drug/alcohol issues, abuse situations, tax liens, unpaid tax obligations, judgments, 
unpaid judgments, disciplinary action (for another licensing area or from another state or 
country), applicants currently serving parole or probation, violations of administrative 
laws/court orders/government sanctions, etc.  If you have a questionable background 
issue, the Commission highly recommends you review the attached application.  If your 
answer to any of the questions from 1.b) through 5 will be “yes”, immediately 
contact the Real Estate Branch at the above address or at (808) 586-2643.  Do not 
enroll in any Prelicensing Real Estate course until you secured advice on how to 
proceed and/or, if applicable, submit the attached “Request for Preliminary 
Decision” application. 

Although a good number of applicants with questionable background issues have 
been granted licenses or conditional licenses, a good number of applicants with 
questionable background issues have been denied licenses.  Denied applicants have 
spent monies for the prelicensing school, taking and passing the examination, and 
submitting an application, as well as expending a lot of time studying, attending classes, 
and taking the examination. Therefore, prior to expending monies and time on the 
process to eventually submit an application for a real estate license that may be denied, 
the applicant should submit a Request for Preliminary Decision Application to the 
Commission. 



Upon receipt of a Request for Preliminary Decision application and prior to 
inclusion on the Commission’s meeting agenda, the Real Estate Branch staff gathers all 
pertinent documentation from the applicant to support and explain any and all “yes” 
answer(s). The Commission then reviews each application on a case by case basis at 
its monthly meeting. The applicant is invited to appear at the Commission’s meeting to 
answer questions the Commissioners may have, and/or to provide oral testimony.  The 
Commission then decides whether they would most likely approve or most likely deny a 
real estate license application with the affected background issues.  Although the 
Preliminary Decision is a non-binding decision and subject to further review upon 
receipt of the license application, the decision should provide the candidate with a fair 
indication as to how the Commission may vote on the actual license application. 

Lastly, Hawaii Revised Statutes Section 467-20 states that any false statement 
provided by the applicant to the Commission is an unlawful act subject to administrative 
sanctions and constitutes a misdemeanor criminally punishable under the laws of the 
State of Hawaii. In the electronic age of the internet, open records law by federal, state, 
and county governments, various private services, and with governmental agencies 
sharing information, access to background information on individuals and entities are 
easier to obtain. Therefore, the worst act by an applicant for licensure would be to 
answer the questions in the application falsely or basically lie. 

Please contact the Real Estate Branch at the above address or telephone (808) 
586-2643, between 7:45 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. HST, Monday to Friday. 



REQUEST FOR PRELIMINARY DECISION: STATE OF HAWAII 

REAL ESTATE SALESPERSON OR BROKER DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE & CONSUMER AFFAIRS 

Access this form via website at: www.hawaii.gov/hirec PROFESSIONAL & VOCATIONAL LICENSING DIVISION 

Legal Name of Applicant (First, Middle): (LAST) For Official Use Only 

Residence Address (Include street address, apt. no., city, state & zip code): 

Mailing Address, if different from above (Include apt. no., city, state & zip code): 

Type of License Preparing for 
(check one): 

Salesperson 

Broker 

Social Security No.: 

Daytime Telephone No.: 

Answer All Questions Below 

Yes  No 

1a) Have you ever applied for, been granted, or held a real estate license in Hawaii or any other state? 

If yes, what state, license type, and license number?  

b) Has an application for license or a real estate license ever been denied, suspended, fined, involuntarily 
terminated, revoked, or otherwise subject to disciplinary action? 

c) Have any complaints or charges ever been filed against you, regardless of outcome, with the licensing 
agency of any state? 

d) Have any charges of unlicensed activity ever been filed against you, regardless of outcome, with the 
licensing agency of any state? 

e) Are there any pending disciplinary actions against you? 

2. During the past 20 years have you ever been convicted of a crime where there has not been an order 
annulling or expunging the conviction? 

3. Are there any pending lawsuits, unpaid judgments, outstanding tax obligations, or any other type of 
involuntary liens against you? 

4. Are you LESS than 18 years of age? 

5. Are you an alien WITHOUT authorization to work in the United States? 

Explain all "Yes" responses on a separate sheet with detailed information and supporting documents as described in the 
instructions. 

READ AND SIGN THE CERTIFICATION ON THE REVERSE SIDE
 

Appl..................... 580...............  $25 
Service Charge...... BCF...............  $25 
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 CERTIFICATION 

I have read and understand §467-8, HRS. I understand that no license will be issued to any person who does not possess 
a reputation for or record of competency, honesty, truthfulness, financial integrity, and fair dealing. 

I understand that this is NOT an application for license, this is a request for a preliminary decision to provide advisory 
guidance only and is not binding or subject to appeal. I understand that even if a preliminary decision is unfavorable to me, I may 
submit a complete license application and fees following successful completion of the prelicensing requirements.  I understand that 
if a preliminary decision is favorable to me, I must still successfully complete the prelicensing requirements before applying for a 
license. 

I understand that it is my responsibility to read the instructions thoroughly and to file a complete application, including 
required documents and fees. I hereby certify that the statements and answers on this application and accompanying documents 
are true and correct. I understand that any false or untrue statement or material misstatement of fact shall constitute grounds for 
refusal or subsequent revocation of license and is a misdemeanor under Hawaii law. (Sections 710-1017, 436B-19 and 467-20, 
HRS). 

 Applicant's Signature Date 

This material can be made available for individuals with special needs.  Please call the Licensing Branch Manager at (808) 586-3000 to submit your request. 
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 INSTRUCTIONS
 

This is NOT an application for license. This is a request for a preliminary decision to provide advisory guidance only and is not 
binding or subject to appeal. You are NOT considered an applicant for licensure.  A preliminary decision that is unfavorable to you 
does not prevent you from submitting a complete license application and fees following successful completion of the prelicensing 
requirements. If a preliminary decision is favorable to you, you must still successfully complete the prelicensing requirements before 
applying for a license.  If your application for license is received within six months of the preliminary decision, the preliminary 
decision will be considered together with your application for license. 

1. 	 Read the information below. 

2. 	 Complete the application form, being sure to answer ALL questions. 

3. 	 Attach supporting documents, as described below. 

4. 	 Submit the application form, supporting documents, and a $25 nonrefundable fee to: 

Mailing Address: DCCA, PVL, Licensing Branch 	 Deliver to office location at: 
P.O. Box 3469 or 335 Merchant St., Room 301 
Honolulu, HI 96801 Honolulu, HI 96813 

NOTE: One of the numerous legal requirements that you must meet in order for your new license to be issued is the payment of 
fees as set forth in this application. You may be sent a license certificate before the payment you sent us for your required fees is 
honored by your bank. If your payment is dishonored, you will have failed to pay the required licensing fee and your license will not 
be valid, and you may not do business under that license. Also, a $25.00 service charge shall be assessed for payments that are 
dishonored for any reason. 

5. 	 All applications must be reviewed and decided upon by the Real Estate Commission.  The Commission meets once each month. 
The Commission will not review incomplete applications. Therefore, submitting a request without all applicable information and 
documents as described below will delay processing. If you wish to present oral testimony at the meeting, submit a written 
request. A courtesy notice with information on the date, time, and location of the meeting will be sent to you. 

Instructions for "Yes" Answers 

A. 	 The following documentation must be provided with your application. The application will not be considered without this 
material. 

1a) 	 If you have applied for, been granted, or held a real estate license in Hawaii or any other jurisdiction, list the jurisdiction, 
license type, and license number in the space provided. Attach a separate page if more space is required. 

1b), 1c), 1d), or 1e) These questions refer to complaints, charges of unlicensed activity, or pending disciplinary actions for any 
profession, occupation, or license, both real estate and those other than real estate.  If your answer is "yes" to one or 
more of these questions, you must submit the following: 

i. 	 A statement signed by you explaining the circumstances; 

ii. 	 Copies of any documents from the agency, including final orders, petitions, complaints, findings of fact and 
conclusions of law, and any other relevant documents; 

iii. 	 A resume of any employment, business activities, and education since the date of the action; and  

iv. 	 You may also include statements from employers, business associates, clients, and others who can attest to your 
reputation for or record of competency, honesty, truthfulness, financial integrity, and fair dealing. 

2) 	 If your application indicates a criminal conviction, you must submit the following: 

i. 	 A statement signed by you explaining the circumstances leading to the conviction and detailing all activities since the 
conviction, including employment and business involvements. Include job title, period of employment, employer's 
name, description of duties, training attended, and educational courses attended; 

ii. 	 A copy of the court order, verdict, and terms of sentence; written proof of completion and/or compliance with 
applicable terms of sentence, e.g., payment of fine(s) or restitution; 

(CONTINUED ON REVERSE SIDE) 
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iii. 	 If applicable, a copy of the terms of probation and/or parole and a statement from your probation or parole officer as 
to your reputation for or record of competency, honesty, truthfulness, financial integrity, and fair dealing; and  

iv. 	Signed statements from employers, business associates, clients, and others who can attest to your business 
dealings since the conviction, including a statement as to your reputation for or record of competency, honesty, 
truthfulness, financial integrity, and fair dealing. 

3) 	 If you have any pending lawsuits, unpaid judgments, outstanding tax obligations, or any other type of involuntary liens 
against you, submit the following: 

i. 	 A statement signed by you explaining the circumstances and current status, and if no payment or payment 
arrangement has been made, the reason; 

ii. 	 A resume of employment and business activities; and 

iii. 	 Copies of the court complaint, judgment, documentation of payment arrangements, lien documents, records of any 
payments, and other relevant documents. 

This material can be made available for individuals with special needs.  Please call the Licensing Branch Manager at (808) 586-3000 to submit your request. 
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