
 
REGISTRATION OF REAL ESTATE PRELICENSE GUEST LECTURER  

________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 

INSTRUCTIONS 
 

 
1. Read entire instructions prior to completing the required forms. 
 
2. Review Hawaii Administrative Rules, Chapter 99, Subchapter 5, REGISTERED REAL ESTATE 

SCHOOLS.  Prelicense guest lecturers must comply with all rules as outlined in this chapter. 
 
3. Prelicense guest lecturer registration expires and must be re-registered prior to the end of each even-

numbered year.  Failure to re-register will result in forfeiture of prelicense guest lecturer registration. 
The re-registration deadline is November 30th of each even-numbered year. 

 
4. Only complete applications will be reviewed and considered by the Real Estate Commission 

(“Commission”).  Incomplete applications will not be considered.  Please allow 45 days for 
processing. 

 
5. Prelicense guest lecturer applicants may be required to appear before the Commission to 

demonstrate the guest lecturer's command of and ability to communicate the specific subject matter. 
 
 
 
UNTIL RECEIPT OF WRITTEN NOTIFICATION OF APPROVAL, NO SCHOOL SHALL SCHEDULE A 
CLASS OR ADVERTISE WITH YOU AS THE GUEST LECTURER. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
This material can be made available for individuals with special needs.  Please call the Senior Real Estate Specialist 

at 586-2643 to submit your request. 
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REGISTRATION OF REAL ESTATE PRELICENSE GUEST LECTURER 

________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Submit the following: 
 

 Completed Application for Real Estate Prelicense Guest Lecturer Registration form. 
 

 Resume that provides evidence of “expertise” in the specific subject matter. 
 

 A check made payable to “Commerce and Consumer Affairs” 
 

Application fee (nonrefundable)     $50 
 
Certification fee       $25 
 
Compliance Resolution Fund: 
 If certification to take effect in odd-numbered year  $90 
 If certification to take effect en even-numbered year  $45 
 

 
 



Instructions for "Yes" Answers on Section 7 of the Application for Prelicense Guest 
Lecturer Registration 

_______________________________________________________________________________ 
 
A. The following documents must be provided at the time you apply for registration.  Applications will not be 

considered without this material. 
 

Question a1) 
If you have applied for, been granted, or held a real estate license in Hawaii or any other jurisdiction, list the 
jurisdiction, license type, and license number in the space provided.  Attach a separate page if more space is 
required. 

 
Questions a2, a3, a4, and a5) 
These questions refer to complaints, charges of unlicensed activity, or pending disciplinary actions for any profession, 
occupation, or license, both real estate and those other than real estate.  If your answer is "yes" to one or more of 
these questions, read paragraph B below, and you must submit the following: 

 
i.  A statement by you explaining the circumstances; 

 
ii. Copies of any documents from the agency, including final orders, petitions,  findings of fact and conclusions 

of law, and any other relevant documents; 
 

iii. A resume of any employment, business activities, and education since the date of the action; and, 
 

iv. You may also include statements from employers, business associates, clients, and others who can attest to 
your reputation for or record of competency, honesty, truthfulness, financial integrity, and fair dealing. 

 
Question b) 
If your application indicates a criminal conviction, read paragraph B below, and you must submit the following: 

 
i. A statement by you explaining the circumstances leading to the conviction and detailing all activities since 

the conviction, including employment and business involvements.  Include job title, period of employment, 
employer's name, description of duties, training attended, and educational courses attended; 

 
ii. A copy of the court order, verdict, and terms of sentence; 

 
iii. If applicable, a copy of the terms of probation and/or parole and a statement from your probation or parole 

officer as to your reputation for or record of competency, honesty, truthfulness, financial integrity, and fair 
dealing; and, 

 
iv. Statements from employers, business associates, clients, and others who can attest to your business 

dealings since the conviction, including a statement as to your reputation for or record of competency, 
honesty, truthfulness, financial integrity, and fair dealing. 

 
Question c) 
If you have any pending lawsuits, unpaid judgments, outstanding tax obligation, or any other type of involuntary liens 
against you, read paragraph B below, and you must submit the following: 

 
i. A statement by you explaining the circumstances and current status, and if no payment of payment 

arrangement has been made, the reason; 
 

ii. A resume of employment and business activities; and, 
 

iii. Copies of the court complaint, judgment, documentation of payment arrangements, lien documents, records 
of any payments, and other relevant documents. 

 
B. If your answer to questions a2), a3), a4), a5), b), or c) is "yes", your application will be reviewed at a monthly 

Real Estate Commission meeting if you have provided all applicable information and documents as 
described above.  The Commission will not review incomplete applications.  If you wish to present oral 
testimony at the meeting, submit a written request with your application.  A courtesy notice with information 
on the date, time, and location of the meeting will be sent to you. 



REAL ESTATE COMMISSION 
State of Hawaii 
Professional and Vocational Licensing Division 
Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs 
335 Merchant Street, Room 333 
Honolulu, Hawaii  96813 
 
 
 
 
APPLICATION FOR REAL ESTATE PRELICENSE GUEST LECTURER REGISTRATION 
 
A guest lecturer is an individual who has “expertise” in a specific subject matter beyond that of the 
ordinary prelicense instructor and will only instruct the prelicense class in the physical presence of 
the certified prelicense instructor.  All guest lecturers and substitute teachers cannot be used for 
more than 50% of the prelicense course class hours.  
 
 
 
1. Applicant's name:  
 
 
 
 
2. Business Address:     
 
 
 
 
3. Residence Address:     
 
 
 
 
4. Business Telephone:   Residence Telephone: 
 
 
 Email: 
 

 
 
 
5. I will be a guest lecturer for __________________________________________________________ 

     Name of prelicense school 
 

 Subject matter:            
 
6. Qualifications (professional):  Attach a resume that provides evidence of “expertise” in the specific 

subject matter. 
 
 
 
  
 
 
For   App  $50 905 
Cashier's Use  Cert $25 905 
Only   CRF $90/$45 583 

Srvc Fee $25 BCF 
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FOR OFFICE USE ONLY 
 
Approved/Date:          Cert. No.: 
 
 
 
Denied/Date: 
 
 
Cashier’s Validation: 
 



7. CIRCLE ANSWERS TO ALL QUESTIONS AND EXPLAIN ALL "YES" RESPONSES ON A 
SEPARATE SHEET WITH DETAILED INFORMATION AND SUBMIT SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS 
(SEE INSTRUCTION SHEET FOR DOCUMENTS TO BE SUBMITTED).   

 
a. 1) Have you ever applied for, been granted, or held a real estate license in Hawaii or 

any other state?       YES NO 
 

If yes, what state, license type, and license number? _________________________ 
 

2) Has an application for license or a real estate license ever been denied, suspended, 
fined, involuntarily terminated, revoked, or otherwise subject to disciplinary action?  
        YES NO 

 
3) Have any complaints or charges ever been filed against you, regardless of outcome, 

with the licensing agency of any state?    YES NO 
 

4) Have any charges of unlicensed activity ever been filed against you, regardless of 
outcome, with the licensing agency of any state?    YES NO 

 
5) Are there any pending disciplinary actions against you?  YES NO 

 
b. During the past 20 years have you ever been convicted of a crime where there has not been 

an order annulling or expunging the conviction?    YES NO 
 

c. Are there any pending lawsuits, unpaid judgments, outstanding tax obligations, or any other 
type of involuntary liens against you?     YES NO 

 
d. Are you LESS than 18 years of age?     YES NO 

 
e. Are you an alien without authorization to work in the United States? YES NO 

 
Certification of Applicant: 

I hereby certify that the statements and answers on this application and accompanying document(s) 
are true and correct.  I understand that any statement false or untrue, or any material misstatement of fact 
shall constitute grounds for refusal or subsequent revocation of registration. 
 
 
               
Print Name of Applicant    Signature of Applicant 

 
 
Certification of Prelicense Instructor and Principal: 

As the certified prelicense instructor and principal, we certify that the applicant has “expertise” in the 
specific subject matter beyond that of any ordinary prelicense instructor, that the guest lecturer will instruct 
only with the physical presence of the certified prelicense instructor, that all guest lecturers and substitute 
teachers certified for a prelicense class shall not be used for more than fifty percent of the prelicense course 
class hours, that the guest lecturer will comply with the “Statement of Ethical Teaching Practices” and 
“Consent” to evaluation and monitoring. 
 
 
              
Print Name of Prelicense Instructor   Signature of Prelicense Instructor 
 
 
              
Print Name of Principal    Signature of Principal 
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