Domestic General Partnership
To register a Domestic General Partnership in Hawaii, the Registration Statement for Partnership (Form GP-1) is filed with the appropriate filing fee. Click above "Forms" link to get a complete listing of Domestic General Partnership forms.
Application must be typewritten or printed in black ink, and must be legible.
All signatures must be in black ink.
Submit original application with the appropriate fee(s).
This statement must be signed and certified by at least on general partner. If partner is a CORPORATION, a corporate officer much sign on behalf of the corporation. If partner is another PARTNERSHIP, a general partner must sign on behalf of the other partnership. If partner is a LLC, must be signed and certified by at least one manager of a manager-managed company or by at least one member of a member-managed company. If partner is a LLP, must be signed by at least one partner. If partner is a LLLP, must be signed by at least one general partner.
Statement must be filed in the Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs, together with the required filing fee, within thirty (30) days after the partnership is formed. Failure to file a registration statement within the prescribed time will make each partner liable severally to the State in the amount of $25.00 for each and every month while the default shall continue.
Make checks payable to the DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE AND CONSUMER AFFAIRS, for the exact amount. Filing fees are NOT REFUNDABLE. There is a $25.00 fee charge on all dishonored checks.
Information for Partnerships After Registration With This Department: Chapter 425, Hawaii Revised Statutes, relating to partnerships in general, provides the following:
- You must file annually a statement of facts concerning your partnership as of the preceding year. Reminders will be mailed to every partnership each year. The filing fee is $5.00. If you fail to file any annual statement for a period of two years, your partnership may be canceled by the Director of Commerce and Consumer Affairs. The cancellation of your partnership shall not relieve you of liability for the penalties for failure to file any annual statement.
- Whenever your partnership name is changed, a statement of change of firm name must be filed in this office within thirty (30) days after the change on a form provided by this office showing: a) the registered name of the partnership, and b)the new name of the partnership. The filing fee is $10.00.
- Upon dissolution, whether by mutual consent of all the partners, disagreement among the partners, death of a partner, or for any other reason, a statement of dissolution must be filed. Any lawful taxes, imposts, license fees or assessments for which the partnership, or any partner, is liable shall constitute a prior lien upon the assets of the partnership, but not as against the interest of those creditors who have prior recorded liens. The filing fee is $10.00.
- Failure to comply with any of the above requirements carries a maximum penalty of $25.00 for each month of delinquency. The penalty may be waived provided the reason for the delinquency is satisfactory to this office.