
What you need to know about 
Hawaii’s Graduated Licensing Program

Got Questions?
DOE students:  For further information regarding Hawaii’s Graduated Licensing Program, please see your high school’s 
driver education coordinator.

For additional information please see the following web links:

State of Hawaii: Public Affairs
http://www.state.hi.us/dot/publicaffairs/index.htm

City & County of Honolulu
http://www.honolulu.gov

Hawaii County
http://www.hawaiipolice.com

Maui County
http://www.co.maui.hi.us/department/MotorVehicle/

Kauai County
http://www.kauai.gov
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The Graduated Licensing 
Program
The new Hawaii law establishes a three-stage 
graduated licensing program for drivers under 
the age of 18.  The program allows beginning 
drivers to develop their driving skills over time 
as they gain experience and maturity.

Key elements of the new “provisional” stage 
include limits on unsupervised late-night 
driving and the number of passengers allowed 
during unsupervised driving.

Why Hawaii Needs the 
Graduated Licensing 
Program
Motor vehicle crashes are the leading cause of 
death among U.S. teens.  Crash rates for young 
beginning drivers and their passengers are 
particularly high.  Sixteen year-old drivers have 
higher crash rates than drivers of any other age, 
including older teen drivers.

Because of their inexperience, beginning drivers 
are least able to handle hazardous situations.  This, 
combined with a lack of maturity and aggressive 
driving behaviors, results in high crash rates.

Graduated licensing programs, already 
working successfully in most other states, have 
resulted in fewer crashes, injuries, and fatalities 
involving teen drivers.

The Instructional 
Permit Phase
The person must:

•	 be at least 15 years and 6 months in age  
	 to acquire an instructional permit.

•	 be in immediate possession of the permit  
	 when driving a motor vehicle.

•	 be seated next to a person who is at least  
	 21 years of age and licensed to operate the  
	 same type of motor vehicle.  However,  
	 between the hours of 11:00 p.m. and 5:00  
	 a.m., the supervising parent or guardian  
	 must be seated next to the minor driver.

•	 have all occupants wear their seat belts and  
	 children under 4 years of age be properly re- 
	 strained within a child safety seat in  
	 compliance with Hawaii State law.

The permit:

•	 is valid for one (1) year from the date of  
	 issuance; and

•	 may be renewed for another one-year  
	 period no sooner than 30 days before the  
	 expiration date of the permit and no later  
	 than 90 days after the expiration date of the 
	 permit.

Failure to renew the instructional permit 
within 30 days after the expiration date will 
result in waiting 180 days before being eligible 
for a road test.

The Provisional 
License Phase
A person may be granted a provisional license 
to operate a motor vehicle if that person:

•	 is at least sixteen (16) years old, but under  
	 the age of eighteen (18);

•	 holds an instructional permit and has held  
	 that permit for at least 180 days and there  
	 is no pending violation that might result in  
	 a suspension or revocation of that person’s  
	 instructional permit;

•	 satisfactorily completes a State certified  
	 driver’s education course and possesses the  

	 classroom and behind-the-wheel certifi- 
	 cates; and

•	 successfully passes a road examination test.

The person granted a provisional license shall, 
as a requirement:

1.	 have in their immediate possession their 
	 provisional driver’s license;

2.	 have all occupants wear their seat belts and  
	 children under 4 years of age be properly  
	 restrained within a child safety seat in  
	 compliance with Hawaii State law;

3.	 Passenger Restrictions: 
	 The provisional licensee driver SHALL NOT  
	 TRANSPORT more than one person below  
	 the age of eighteen (18), without being  
	 accompanied by a licensed driver that is  
	 the provisional licensee’s parent or guard- 
	 ian, unless that person is a household  
	 member.

4.	 Night-Time Driving Restriction: 
	 The provisional licensee driver SHALL 
	 NOT DRIVE between 11:00 p.m. and 5:00  
	 a.m., unless accompanied by either a  
	 parent or guardian that is licensed to drive 	
	 the same type of motor vehicle and is  
	 seated in the passenger seat beside the  
	 licensee.

The person granted a provisional driver’s 
license may drive between 11:00 p.m. and 
5:00 a.m. without a licensed parent or 
guardian in the motor vehicle only under 
the following conditions:

A.	Traveling to or from the licensee’s place  
	 of employment, where the operation of a  
	 motor vehicle is necessary for that purpose.  
	 The provisional licensee shall keep in his  
	 or her possession a signed statement  

	 from the employer containing the  
	 employer’s:

•	 Name,

•	 Address,

•	 Telephone number, and

•	 Verification of employment and work  
	 hours.

B.	 Traveling to or from a school-authorized 
	 activity, where the operation of a motor  
	 vehicle is necessary for that purpose, and  
	 the provisional licensee shall keep in his  
	 or her possession a signed statement  
	 from a parent or guardian containing  
	 the parent’s or guardian’s:

•	 Name,

•	 Address,

•	 Telephone number, and

•	 Verification that the operation of the  
	 motor vehicle by the licensee is  
	 necessary to travel to or from the  
	 school-authorized activity;

 
	 provided that under A. and B. above, the  
	 provisional licensee shall not transport  
	 more than one person under the age of  
	 eighteen (18) between 11:00 p.m. and 5:00  
	 a.m. without being accompanied by the  
	 licensed parent or guardian of the 
	 provisional licensee.

5.	 The provisional license shall expire on  
	 the provisional licensee’s nineteenth (19th)  
	 birthday.

Full Driver’s License
A provisional licensee may be issued a full 
driver’s license if the provisional licensee:

•	 has satisfactorily held the provisional  
	 license for at least six (6) months;

•	 has no pending violation that might result  
	 in a suspension or revocation;

•	 is at least seventeen (17) years old; and has  
	 satisfactorily complied with all the require- 
	 ments of Chapter 286, Hawaii Revised  
	 Statutes.

Penalties
For 1st violation of items listed in the Provi-
sional License Phase section, the provisional 
license shall be suspended for a 3-month 
period.

For 2nd or subsequent violations of items 
listed in the Provisional License Phase section, 
the provisional license shall be revoked for a 
6-month period.

If a provisional licensee is convicted of an 
offense relating to the operation of a motor 
vehicle: 
•	 For a 1st conviction, the provisional license 
shall be suspended or revoked for 6 months. 
•	 For a 2nd or subsequent convictions, the 
provisional license shall be revoked for one 
year. 

Attention All Minor 
Applicants
Effective January 9, 2006, pursuant to Act 72 
of the Hawaii State Legislature, the State of 
Hawaii will initiate a Graduated Provisional 
Licensing Program. This means:

•	 The minimum age to acquire a permit is  
	 15½ years old.

•	 All license examinations and driver’s educa- 
	 tion requirements will remain in place.

•	 Applicants between the ages of 15½  
	 through 17, must hold a valid Hawaii  
	 instructional permit for a period of 180  
	 days, instead of 90 days.

•	 You must be accompanied by a licensed  
	 driver at least 21 years or older, instead of  
	 18 during the instructional permit phase.   
	 The licensed driver must be a parent or 	
	 guardian between the hours of 11:00 p.m.  
	 and 5:00 a.m during the instructional  
	 permit and provisional phases.

•	 To receive either a provisional license or full  
	 driver’s license you cannot have any pending  
	 violations that may result in the suspension  
	 or revocation of either your instructional  
	 permit or provisional driver’s license.

•	 To obtain a full driver’s license, you must  
	 hold your provisional driver’s license for at  
	 least 6 months and be at least 17 years old.

•	 You have until your 19th birthday to convert  
	 your provisional driver’s license to a full  
	 driver’s license. Your provisional driver’s  
	 license expires on your 19th birthday.

•	 If you fail to convert your provisional  
	 driver’s license by your 19th birthday, you  
	 must reapply as a new applicant.  

•	 If your provisional driver’s license expiration  
	 date is on a weekend or holiday for the 
	 City/County, then YOU MUST CONVERT YOUR  
	 PROVISIONAL DRIVER’S LICENSE to a full  
	 driver’s license by the last working day prior  
	 to the expiration date. 


