Department Of Transportation 

Motor Vehicle Safety Office

BASIC MOPED RIDER INFORMATION TO BE FURNISHED TO CUSTOMERS BY PERSONS ENGAGED IN THE RETAIL BUSINESS OF SELLING OR RENTING MOPEDS IN HAWAII (Revised 11/05)

Note: The numbers in parenthesis are legal references. HRS means Hawaii Revised Statutes. They can be viewed at web site: http://www.capitol.hawaii.gov/site1/docs/docs.asp - hrs. FMVSS means Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards; see web site:http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_98/49cfrv5_98.html. Standards that will be of interest are Parts 565, 566, 567 and 571. HAR means Hawaii Administrative Rules. See web site: http://www.hawaii.gov/dot/highways/adminrules/ruleshwy.htm.

MOPED OPERATION

1. 
A moped driver must have a valid driver's license (291C-194, HRS).

2.
A moped driver must be at least 15.5 years of age (18 years with an out-of-state license) (286-110, and 286-105(3), HRS).

3.
Parents or guardians are responsible for violations, misconduct, and negligence of minor moped drivers (291C-192, HRS).

4.
Traffic laws apply to persons driving mopeds except where special rules apply, or where by their nature they are not applicable to mopeds (291C-193, HRS).

5.
No passenger may be carried on a moped (291C-195(c), HRS).

6.
Mopeds may not be driven on a sidewalk, a sidewalk area, or any other place intended for the exclusive use by pedestrians (291C-196, HRS).

7.
A moped must be driven as near to the right edge of the roadway as is practicable (291C-196, HRS).

8.
A moped must not be driven at a speed greater than 35 miles per hour.  On a level surface a moped must not be capable of going faster than 30 miles per hour (286-2 and 291C-198, HRS).

9.
Mopeds may not be driven on freeways. Mopeds engines are not supposed to have more than two horsepower or go faster than 30 mph. Freeway entrances have signs prohibiting vehicles with less than five horsepower engines. The minimum speed on freeways is 45 mph. 

10.
Mopeds must be driven in single file (291C-196, HRS).

11.
Mopeds must use bicycle lanes where provided on a roadway (291C-197, HRS).

12.
Mopeds may use bicycle paths except where prohibited by signs (291C-197, HRS).

13.
A moped driver must ride astride the seat with one leg on each side of the moped (291C-195, HRS).

14.
A moped must not be driven when attached to a vehicle or other transportation device (291C-195, HRS).

REGISTRATION

1.
A moped must be registered with the County director of finance (249-14 (a), HRS).

2.
Dealers must register every new moped they sell (249-14.5, HRS).

3.
A moped must display a registration decal on the rear fender facing rearward (249-14 (b), HRS).

4.
An unregistered moped may be seized and sold by the police (249-15, HRS).

5.
The penalty for a fraudulent decal is $500.00 (249-17, HRS).

MOPED EQUIPMENT REQUIREMENTS 

1.
Engine: maximum of two horsepower (one thousand four hundred ninety-two watts, or a maximum of 50 cubic centimeters displacement); moped must not be able to exceed 30 mph on a straight level surface. It is illegal to modify the engine so it has more than 2 horsepower (286-2 and 291C-206, HRS). 

2.
Automatic drive transmission (286-2 and 291C-1, HRS).

3.
An exhaust system that directs exhaust gases away from rider and a muffler that reduces noise (291-24, HRS; 19-135-28(14), HAR).

4.
The drive chain or shaft must be covered so that nothing will get entangled in it (19-135-28(13)(C), HAR).

5.
A seat or saddle must be provided for the driver (291C-195 (b) HRS).

6.
Footrests or pedals must be provided for the driver (FMVSS 123; 291C-202, HRS;). 

7.
A retracting stand (291C-202; FMVSS 123) for holding the moped up when parked. Stand must fold upward and backward if it were to touch the pavement while the moped is traveling forward.

8.
A fender must cover the treads of the tire on each wheel (19-135-28(13)(E), HAR).

9.
Tires must have a “DOT” marking on the sidewall to indicate that they comply with FMVSS 119. The load capacity of the tires must not be less than the Gross Axle Weight Ratings that are listed on the certification label  (FMVSS 119; 291C-202, H RS).
10.
Headlamp (If the moped is equipped with an optional high beam, the switch will be on the right handlebar.), tail lamp, stop lamp, a license plate lamp, a rear red reflector, one red reflector on each side of the moped near the rear and one amber reflector on each side located near the front of the moped. Front and rear turn signal lamps are optional. They can be either red or amber in the rear but must be amber in the front. The turn signal switch location is not mandated, but it will most likely be on the left handlebar (FMVSS 108; 291C-202, H RS). 

11.
Mirror or mirrors (FMVSS 111) that allow the driver to see at least 200 feet to the rear (15-19.29, ROH).

12.
Handle grips (19-135-28(5), HAR). The controls by the grips must be located so they can be used without releasing the handle grips (FMVSS 123).

13.
Twist grip throttle on the right handlebar that is self-closing to idle in a clockwise direction after release (FMVSS 123; 291C-202, HRS).

14.
Front wheel brake lever on the right handlebar (FMVSS 123; 291C-202, HRS).

15.
Rear wheel brake lever on the left handlebar. Motorcycles have a right foot pedal that controls the rear brake; it is possible that a 3-wheel moped will have this configuration (FMVSS 123; 291C-202, HRS).
16.
Ignition: “Off” position is counterclockwise to the other positions (FMVSS 123; 291C-202, HRS).
17.
Electric horn button located on the left handlebar (FMVSS 123; 291C-202, HRS).
18.
Supplemental engine stop switch on the right handlebar (FMVSS 123; 291C-202, HRS).
19.
A speedometer/odometer (486-75, HRS).

20.
Possession of a moped, a moped motor, or any other moped part with an altered, erased, or mutilated identification or serial number is prohibited (291C-205, HRS).
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