ACT 57


The purpose of Act 57 (Bill No. HB267, 2004) is to amend the law relating to the Office of Elections and the Campaign Spending Commission.


Act 57 establishes a nine-member panel, called the Elections Commission, which replaces the Elections and Appointment Review Panel. The nine-member panel is composed of the following:

        2 members appointed by the President of the Senate

        2 members appointed by the Senate Minority Leader

        2 members appointed by the Speaker of the House

        2 members appointed by the House Minority Leader

        1 member selected by a two-thirds vote of the Elections Commission serves as Chairperson


Each group of four Elections Commission members selected by each house will include one Elections Commission member from each of the four counties in the State: Hawaii, Maui, Kauai and Oahu.


A person from the same county as the departing Elections Commission member will fill a vacancy in the Elections Commission. If the vacancy is not filled within fifteen days, the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court will fill the vacancy.


The Elections Commission appoints the Chief Election Officer (CEO) and oversees the functions of the CEO and the Office of Elections.





















Date Appointed by Term Expiration


William Marston (Chairperson)


Victor V. Vierra Senate President June 30, 2018


Carol Kitaoka House Minority Leader June 30, 2016


Terry Lynn Moore Senate Minority Leader June 30, 2016


Warren Orikasa House Speaker June 30, 2018


Patricia Berg Senate Minority Leader June 30, 2018


Charles King House Minority Leader June 30, 2018


Zale Okazaki Senate President June 30, 2016


Daniel Young House Speaker June 30, 2016




The duties of the Elections Commission provided under Hawaii Revised Statutes 11-7.5 are as follows:


1) Hold Public Hearings;


2) Investigate and hold hearings for receiving evidence of any violations and



3) Adopt rules pursuant to chapter 91;


4) Employ, without regard to chapter 76, a full-time Chief Election Officer, pursuant to section 11-1.6; and


This FACTSHEET is intended for informational purposes only and should not be used as an authority on Hawaii election law. Requirements and/or deadlines may change. Consult the Hawaii Revised Statutes and other sources for more detailed requirements.

Office of Elections

802 Lehua Avenue

Pearl City, Hawaii 96782

Phone: (808) 453-VOTE (8683)

Neighbor Island Toll Free: 1-800-442-VOTE (8683)

TTY: (808) 453-6150


Office of Elections FSVS532N

Rev. 12/12/2014

5) Advise the Chief Election Officer on matters relating to elections.