You are here: Home Airport Information State Airport System

State Airport System



The Hawaii State Airports System is operated as a single system by the State of Hawaii Department of Transportation (HDOT).  The Airports Division, HDOT, was established on July 1, 1961 to succeed the Hawaii Aeronautics Commission under the provisions of Act 1, Hawaii State Government Reorganization Act of 1959, Second Special Session Laws of Hawaii.


The Airports Division has jurisdiction over and control of all State of Hawaii airports and air navigation facilities and general supervision of aeronautics within the State.  The Airports Division currently operates and maintains 15 airports located throughout the State.  An Airports Administrator is responsible for day to day operations of the Division.


The mission of the Airports Division is to develop, manage and maintain a safe and efficient global air transportation organization.    


The Division is composed of five staff offices that provide services to all of the state airports: 

  • Staff Services Office 
  • Visitor Information Program Office 
  • Information Technology Office 
  • Engineering Branch 
  • Airports Operations Office                    


The Division is also composed of four District Offices that manage the day to day operations of the airports under their control:


Oahu District

  • Honolulu International Airport (HNL)
  • Kalaeloa Airport (JRF)
  • Dillingham Airfield (HDH) 


Maui District

  • Hana Airport (HNM)
  • Kalaupapa Airport (LUP)
  • Kahului Airport (OGG)
  • Kapalua Airport (JHM)
  • Lanai Airport (LNY)
  • Molokai Airport (MKK) 


Hawaii District

  • Kona International Airport (KOA)
  • Hilo International Airport (ITO)
  • Upolu Airport (UPP)
  • Waimea-Kohala Airport (MUE) 


Kauai District

  • Lihue Airport (LIH)
  • Port Allen Airport (PAK)


To contact the State Airports Administrator call (808) 838-8600 or click here for the Airports Division website.


Document Actions