Hawai‘i State Law Library System

Circulation Policy

Borrowing Privileges | Circulation of Materials | Fines and Fees | Library Card Application

For a detailed listing of library rules and policies, please consult the Hawaii State Law Library System Handbook (RefRm KFH399.5 A9 H31).

Items to be returned should be brought to the Circulation/Reference Desk during library business hours.
Open Monday - Friday, 7:45 am - 4:15 pm.

Borrowing Privileges

The library resources are available to all for legal research and study. However, borrowing privileges are extended ONLY to those who are:

1. Judiciary personnel and volunteers

2. Individuals issued a current Hawaii State Bar Association membership card

3. Individuals issued a current Supreme Court Law Library card*

*Please see below for instructions on how to obtain a Supreme Court Library Card.

Top of Page

Circulation of Materials

Borrowing of library books and materials is generally governed by the Library's Circulation Policy.

Materials with white charge-out cards may be checked out by authorized borrowers who must present a valid Judiciary ID, HSBA membership card, or Supreme Court Law Library card each time materials are checked out. The loan period is two (2) weeks and the library reserves the right to limit the number of books on a specific subject that can be checked out by an individual during the same loan period. Materials may be renewed for up to two (2) consecutive periods and can be made in-person or over the phone. Borrowed materials should be returned to the Circulation/Reference Desk during the library business hours of 7:45 am - 4:15 pm.

Top of Page

Fines and Fees

Fines will be imposed on all overdue materials. Regular loans will incur a non-refundable $1.00 per day (except Saturdays, Sundays and State holidays) charge for each item. Special or limited loans will incur a non-refundable $5.00 fine for each half-hour or fraction thereof, 24 hours per day regardless of the day of the week or State holiday, charge for each item. Library materials not returned within 60 days after the due date will be considered lost. The replacement costs of lost or damaged items are based on the current price of the item (or its equivalent), plus a $5.00 processing fee, and will be charged in addition to any overdue fines. A user's borrowing privileges will be suspended until all overdue fines and replacement costs are paid in full. Failure to pay after the third past-due notice is sent may result in the issuance of an Order to Show Cause and further disciplinary action by the Hawai‘i Supreme Court.

Please consult the Schedule of Library Fines and Fees (RefRm KFH399.5 A9 H31) for more detailed information.

Top of Page

Library Card Application

Complete the "Application for a Library Card" form, which is available in the library or online adobe. Submit the form, along with copies of any required documentation, to the library either by mail or in-person.

Please allow at least one day for applications to be processed. If the card is not picked up at the library, allow additional days for mail delivery. There is no charge for the initial card, but a $25.00 fee will be charged for a replacement card.

adobe Indicates that adobe acrobat is required to view text/information.

Top of Page

Judiciary Home | Library Home

Send suggestions or comments via e-mail.

© Copyright 2015 Hawai‘i State Law Library System.