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Sale of Your Home
2005

General Instructions
Important Change
Act 60, Session Laws of Hawaii 2005, provides
that you cannot exclude from income a gain from
selling your main home after October 22, 2004, if
you acquired the home in a like-kind exchange
and sold it during the 5-year period beginning with
the date you acquired the home. For more infor-
mation, see Special Situations, later.
Who Must File.—Use Form N-103 to report the
sale of your main home, whether or not you had a
gain from the sale. A loss is not deductible. Attach
Form N-103 to Form N-11, N-12, or N-15 for the
year of sale.

If you are not required to file an income tax re-
turn for the year of sale, file Form N-103 by itself.
Send Form N-103 to:

Hawaii Department of Taxation
P. O. Box 3559

Honolulu, Hawaii 96811-3559
If Form N-103 is being filed by itself, enter your

name and address and sign and date the form.
Main Home.—You file Form N-103 only for the
sale of your main home. It can be a house, house-
boat, mobile home, cooperative apartment, con-
dominium, etc. If you have more than one home,
your main home is ordinarily the one you live in
most of the time.

In addition to your living in your home most of
the time, other factors are relevant in determining
if that home is your main home. Those factors in-
clude the following:
1. Your place of employment.
2. The location of your family members’ main

home.
3. Your mailing address for bills and correspon-

dence.
4. The address listed on your:

a. Federal and state tax returns,
b. Driver’s license,
c. Car registration, and
d. Voter registration card.

5. The location of the banks you use.
6. The location of recreational clubs and religious

organizations you are a member of.
How To Obtain Tax Forms.—To request tax
forms by fax or mail, you may call 808-587-7572 or
toll-free at 1-800-222-7572.
Tax forms are also available on the Internet. The
Department of Taxation’s site on the Internet is:

www.state.hi.us/tax

Sales After May 6, 1997
You may qualify to exclude from your income all

or part of any gain from the sale of your main
home. This means that, if you qualify, you will not
have to pay tax on the gain up to the limit de-
scribed under Maximum Exclusion. To qualify, you
must meet the ownership and use tests described
later.

You can choose not to take the exclusion by in-
cluding the gain from the sale in your gross income
on your tax return for the year of the sale. To do so,
complete all the lines in Part I, and lines 8 through
12 in Part II. Enter the gain on the Capital
Gain/Loss Worksheet in the Instructions for Form
N-12 or Form N-15. Form N-11 filers should in-
clude the gain on Form N-11, line 10 (if not already
included on Form N-11, line 7).

Gain (or Loss), Exclusion, and
Taxable Gain (Part II)

Maximum Exclusion
You can exclude up to $250,000 of the gain on

the sale of your main home if all of the following are
true.
1. You meet the ownership test.
2. You meet the use test.
3. During the 2-year period ending on the date of

the sale, you did not exclude gain from the sale
of another home.
If you and another person owned the home

jointly but file separate returns, each of you can ex-
clude up to $250,000 of gain from the sale of your
interest in the home if each of you meets the three
conditions just listed.

You can exclude up to $500,000 of the gain on
the sale of your main home if all of the following are
true.
1. You are married and file a joint return for the

year.
2. Either you or your spouse meets the ownership

test.
3. Both you and your spouse meet the use test.
4. During the 2-year period ending on the date of

the sale, neither you nor your spouse excluded
gain from the sale of another home.
If either spouse does not satisfy all these re-

quirements, the maximum exclusion that can be
claimed by the couple is the total of the maximum
exclusions that each spouse would qualify for if not
married and the amounts were figured separately.
For this purpose, each spouse is treated as own-
ing the property during the period that either
spouse owned the property.

Ownership and Use Tests
To claim the exclusion, you must meet the own-

ership and use tests. This means that during the
5-year period ending on the date of the sale, you
must have:
1. Owned the home for at least 2 years (the own-

ership test), and
2. Lived in the home as your main home for at

least 2 years (the use test).
Exception. If you owned and lived in the property
as your main home for less than 2 years, you can
still claim an exclusion in some cases. The maxi-
mum amount you can exclude will be reduced.
See Reduced Maximum Exclusion, later.

Period of Ownership and Use
The required 2 years of ownership and use during
the 5-year period ending on the date of the sale do
not have to be continuous. You meet the tests if
you can show that you owned and lived in the prop-
erty as your main home for either 24 full months or
730 days (365 x 2) during the 5-year period ending
on the date of sale.
Temporary absence. Short temporary absences
for vacations or other seasonal absences, even if
you rent out the property during the absences, are
counted as periods of use.
Ownership and use tests met at different
times. You can meet the ownership and use tests
during different 2-year periods. However, you
must meet both tests during the 5-year period end-
ing on the date of the sale.
Cooperative apartment. If you sold stock in a co-

operative housing corporation, the ownership and
use tests are met if, during the 5-year period end-
ing on the date of sale, you:
1. Owned the stock for at least 2 years, and
2. Lived in the house or apartment that the stock

entitles you to occupy as your main home for at
least 2 years.

Members of the uniformed services or Foreign
Service. You can choose to have the 5-year test
period for ownership and use suspended during
any period you or your spouse serve on qualified
official extended duty as a member of the uni-
formed services or Foreign Service of the United
States. This means that you may be able to meet
the 2-year use test even if, because of your ser-
vice, you did not actually live in your home for at
least the required 2 years during the 5-year period
ending on the date of sale.
Period of suspension. The period of suspension
cannot last more than 10 years. You cannot sus-
pend the 5-year period for more than one property
at a time. You can revoke your choice to suspend
the 5-year period at any time.
Uniformed services. The uniformed services are:
• The Armed Forces (the Army, Navy, Air Force,

Marine Corps, and Coast Guard),
• The commissioned corps of the National Oce-

anic and Atmospheric Administration, and
• The commissioned corps of the Public Health

Service.
Foreign Service member. You are a member of
the Foreign Service if you are any of the following.
• A Chief of mission.
• An Ambassador at large.
• A member of the Senior Foreign Service.
• A Foreign Service officer.
• Part of the Foreign Service personnel.
Qualified official extended duty. You are on
qualified official extended duty if you serve on ex-
tended duty either:
• At a duty station at least 50 miles from your main

home, or
• While you live in Government quarters under

Government orders.
You are on extended duty when you are called

or ordered to active duty for a period of more than
90 days or for an indefinite period.
Exception for individuals with a disability.
There is an exception to the use test if, during the
5-year period before the sale of your home:
1. You become physically or mentally unable to

care for yourself, and
2. You owned and lived in your home as your main

home for a total of at least 1 year.
Under this exception, you are considered to live

in your home during any time that you own the
home and live in a facility (including a nursing
home) that is licensed by a state or political subdi-
vision to care for persons in your condition.

If you meet this exception to the use test, you
still have to meet the 2-out-of-5-year ownership
test to claim the exclusion.
Previous home destroyed or condemned. For
the ownership and use tests, you add the time you
owned and lived in a previous home that was de-
stroyed or condemned to the time you owned and
lived in the home on which you wish to exclude



gain. This rule applies if any part of the basis of the
home you sold depended on the basis of the de-
stroyed or condemned home. Otherwise, you
must have owned and lived in the same home for 2
of the 5 years before the sale to qualify for the ex-
clusion.

Married Persons
If you and your spouse file a joint return for the

year of sale, you can exclude gain if either spouse
meets the ownership and use tests. (But see Maxi-
mum Exclusion, earlier.)
Death of spouse before sale. If your spouse died
and you did not remarry before the date of sale,
you are considered to have owned and lived in the
property as your main home during any period of
time when your spouse owned and lived in it as a
main home.
Home transferred from spouse. If your home
was transferred to you by your spouse (or former
spouse if the transfer was incident to divorce), you
are considered to have owned it during any period
of time when your spouse owned it.
Use of home after divorce. You are considered
to have used property as your main home during
any period when:
1. You owned it, and
2. Your spouse or former spouse is allowed to live

in it under a divorce or separation instrument
and uses it as his or her main home.

Reduced Maximum Exclusion
You can claim an exclusion, but the maximum

amount of gain you can exclude will be reduced if
either of the following is true.
1. You did not meet the ownership and use tests,

but the reason you sold the home was:
a. A change in the place of employment,
b. Health, or
c. Unforeseen circumstances (as defined later).

2. Your exclusion would have been disallowed be-
cause of the rule described in More Than One
Home Sold During 2-Year Period, later, except
that the reason you sold the home was:
a. A change in place of employment,
b. Health, or
c. Unforeseen circumstances (as defined later).
A change in place of employment, health, or un-

foreseen circumstances (whichever applies) is
considered to be the reason you sold your home if
either of the following is true.
1. Your home sale qualifies under a “safe harbor.”

A safe harbor is a set of certain facts and cir-
cumstances that qualifies you to claim a re-
duced maximum exclusion. The safe harbors
are explained in detail later.

2. The primary reason you sold the home was a
change in place of employment, health, or un-
foreseen circumstances. Factors that may be
relevant in determining your primary reason for
sale include whether:
a. Your sale and the circumstances causing it

were close in time,
b. The circumstances causing your sale oc-

curred during the time you owned and used
the property as your main home,

c. The circumstances causing your sale were
not reasonably foreseeable when you began
using the property as your main home,

d. Your financial ability to maintain your home
materially changed,

e. The suitability of your property as a home ma-
terially changed, and

f. During the time you owned the property, you
used it as your home.

Change in Place of Employment
The sale of your main home is because of a
change in place of employment if your primary rea-
son for the sale is a change in the location of em-
ployment of a qualified individual.
Qualified individual. For purposes of the reduced
maximum exclusion, a qualified individual is any of
the following.
• You.
• Your spouse.
• A co-owner of the home.
• A person whose main home is the same as

yours.
Employment. For this purpose, employment in-
cludes the start of work with a new employer or
continuation of work with the same employer. It
also includes the start or continuation of self-em-
ployment.
Distance safe harbor. A change in place of em-
ployment is considered to be the reason you sold
your home if:
1. The change occurred during the period you

owned and used the property as your main
home, and

2. The new place of employment is at least 50
miles farther from your home than the former
place of employment was (or, if there was no
former place of employment, the distance be-
tween your new place of employment and the
home sold is at least 50 miles).

Health
The sale of your main home is because of health if
your primary reason for the sale is to obtain, pro-
vide, or facilitate the diagnosis, cure, mitigation, or
treatment of disease, illness, or injury of a qualified
individual. For purposes of this reason, a qualified
individual includes, in addition to the individuals
listed earlier, any of the following:
• Parent, grandparent, stepmother, stepfather.
• Child, grandchild, stepchild, adopted child.
• Brother, sister, stepbrother, stepsister, half

brother, half sister.
• Mother-in-law, father-in-law, brother-in-law, sis-

ter-in-law, son-in-law, or daughter-in-law.
• Uncle, aunt, nephew, niece, or cousin.

The sale of your home is not because of health if
the sale merely benefits a qualified individual’s
general health or well-being.
Doctor’s recommendation safe harbor. Health
is considered to be the reason you sold your home
if, for one or more of the reasons listed at the be-
ginning of this discussion, a doctor recommends a
change of residence.

Unforeseen Circumstances
The sale of your main home is because of an un-
foreseen circumstance if your primary reason for
the sale is the occurrence of an event that you
could not reasonably have anticipated before buy-
ing and occupying your main home. You are not
considered to have an unforeseen circumstance if
you sold your home after August 12, 2004, and the
primary reason you sold it was that you preferred
to get a different home or your finances improved.
Specific event safe harbors. Unforeseen cir-
cumstances are considered to be the reason you
sold your home if any of the following events oc-
curred while you owned and used the property as
your main home.
1. An involuntary conversion of your home.
2. Natural or man-made disasters or acts of war or

terrorism resulting in a casualty to your home,

whether or not your loss is deductible.
3. In the case of qualified individuals (listed earlier

under Change in place of employment):
a. Death,
b. Unemployment (if the individual is eligible for

unemployment compensation),
c. A change in employment or self-employment

status that results in your inability to pay rea-
sonable basic living expenses (listed later
under Reasonable basic living expenses),

d. Divorce or legal separation, or
e) Multiple births resulting from the same preg-

nancy.
4. An event the Commissioner of IRS determined

to be an unforeseen circumstance in published
guidance of general applicability. For example,
the Commissioner determined the September
11, 2001, terrorist attacks to be an unforeseen
circumstance.

Reasonable basic living expenses. Reasonable
basic living expenses for your household include
the following expenses.
• Amounts spent for food.
• Amounts spent for clothing.
• Housing and related expenses.
• Medical expenses.
• Transportation expenses.
• Tax payments.
• Court-ordered payments.
• Expenses reasonably necessary to produce in-

come.
Amounts spent on these items to maintain an

affluent or luxurious standard of living are not rea-
sonable basic living expenses.

More Than One Home Sold During
2-Year Period

You cannot exclude gain on the sale of your
home if, during the 2-year period ending on the
date of the sale, you sold another home at a gain
and excluded all or part of that gain. If you cannot
exclude the gain, you must include it in your in-
come.
Exception. You can still claim an exclusion, but
the maximum amount of gain you can exclude will
be reduced, if the reason you sold the home was:
1. A change in place of employment,
2. Health, or
3. Unforeseen circumstances (as defined earlier).

For details about this exception, see Reduced
Maximum Exclusion, earlier.

Special Situations
The situations that follow may affect your exclu-
sion.
Home acquired in like-kind exchange. You can-
not claim the exclusion if:
1. You acquired your home in a like-kind exchange

(also known as a section 1031 exchange), and
2. You sold the home:

a. After October 22, 2004, and
b. During the 5-year period beginning with the

date you acquired the home.
To defer gain from a like-kind exchange, you must
have exchanged business or investment property
for business or investment property of a like kind.
For more information about like-kind exchanges,
see federal Publication 544.
Home destroyed or condemned. If your home
was destroyed or condemned, any gain (for exam-
ple, because of insurance proceeds you received)
qualifies for the exclusion.

Any part of the gain that cannot be excluded
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(because it is more than the limit) may be post-
poned under the rules explained in:
• Federal Publication 547, in the case of a home

that was destroyed, or
• Chapter 1 of federal Publication 544, in the case

of a home that was condemned.
Sale of remainder interest. Subject to the other
rules in federal Publication 523, you can choose to
exclude gain from the sale of a remainder interest
in your home. If you make this choice, you cannot
choose to exclude gain from your sale of any other
interest in the home that you sell separately.

Exception for sales to related persons. You
cannot exclude gain from the sale of a remainder
interest in your home to a related person. Related
persons include your brothers and sisters,
half-brothers and half-sisters, spouse, ancestors
(parents, grandparents, etc.), and lineal descen-
dants (children, grandchildren, etc.). Related per-
sons also include certain corporations, partner-
ships, trusts, and exempt organizations.

Line-by-Line Instructions
Line 1—Enter the date of sale. If you received a
federal Form 1099-S, Proceeds From Real Estate
Transactions, the date should be shown in box 1. If
you did not receive a federal Form 1099-S, the
date of sale is the earlier of (a) the date the title
transferred, or (b) the date the economic burdens
and benefits of ownership shifted to the buyer.
Line 2—If part of your main home was rented out
or used for business and in the year of sale you
were not entitled to deduct expenses for the part
that was rented or used for business, report the
entire sale on Form N-103.

If you were entitled to deduct expenses in the
year of sale for the part that was rented or used for
business, treat the sale as two separate sales. Re-
port on Hawaii Schedule D-1 the part of the sale
that applies to the rental or business use. Report
on Form N-103 only the part of the sale that repre-
sents your main home. You must allocate be-
tween Form N-103 and Hawaii Schedule D-1 the
sales price, expenses of sale, and the adjusted ba-
sis of the property sold. Attach a statement show-
ing the total selling price of the property and the
method used to allocate the amounts between the
two forms.
Line 5—Section 235-5.5(f), HRS, requires that the
amount received as a distribution from an IHA
which was used to purchase a residential property
in Hawaii be included in the gross income of the in-
dividual.

Individuals who purchased residential property
before January 1, 1990, with a distribution from

an IHA must include in gross income in the year
the property is sold, conveyed, or transferred an
amount equal to the amount of the distribution, un-
less an election was made to include one-tenth of
the distribution in gross income each year for ten
years.

Individuals who purchase residential property
after December 31, 1989 shall include in gross in-
come one-tenth of the distribution each year for
ten years. If such individual sells the property pur-
chased with an IHA distribution before the end of
the ten-year period, the remaining amount of the
distribution not previously reported shall be in-
cluded in gross income in the year of sale.

Individuals who purchase residential property
after December 31, 1996, with a distribution from
an IHA established prior to January 1, 1990, and
who have made the election to do so, shall include
in gross income in the year the property is sold,
conveyed, or transferred an amount equal to the
amount of the distribution.

Enter on line 5 the total amount of the IHA distri-
bution.
Line 6—Enter on this line the amount of the IHA
distribution not previously reported. Also include
this amount on Form N-11, line 10, Form N-12, line
18, or Form N-15, line 19. Identify this amount as
“IHA distribution reported on sale of property.”
Line 7—Section 235-5.5(f), HRS, also requires
that 10% (.10) of the IHA distribution used to pur-
chase residential property be added to the individ-
ual’s gross income or tax liability upon the sale,
conveyance, or transfer of the property if the total
IHA distribution was not previously reported. On
line 7, enter 10% (.10) of line 5.

The following individuals shall add 10% of the
IHA distribution to their gross income:
1. Individuals who purchased residential property

before January 1, 1990, and who have not
made the election to report the distribution as
gross income over a ten-year period, and

2. Individuals who purchased residential property
after December 31, 1996, with a distribution
from an IHA established prior to January 1,
1990, and who made the election to report the
distribution as gross income at the time the
property is sold.
Include this amount on Form N-11, line 10,

Form N-12, line 18, or Form N-15, line 19. Identify
this amount as “10% penalty on IHA distribution.”

The following individuals shall add 10% of the
IHA distribution to their tax liability:
1. Individuals who purchased residential property

after December 31, 1989, except for individuals
who purchased residential property after De-
cember 31, 1996, with a distribution from an IHA
established prior to January 1, 1990, and who

made the election to report the distribution as
gross income at the time the property is sold.
Include this amount on Form N-11, line 26,

Form N-12, line 42, or Form N-15, line 44 and
check the box indicating that you are including the
separate tax from Form N-103.
Line 8—Selling Price of Home.—Enter the sell-
ing price of your home. Generally, this includes the
amount of money you received, plus all notes,
mortgages, or other debts that are part of the sale.
If you received a federal Form 1099-S, the total of
these items should be shown in box 2. The selling
price also includes the fair market value of any
other property or services you received as part of
the sale. If you received any other property or ser-
vices as part of the sale, the value of these items is
not shown on federal Form 1099-S. However, box
4 of that form should be checked.

Do not include amounts you received for per-
sonal property sold with your home. Personal
property is property that is not a permanent part of
the home. Examples are furniture, draperies, and
lawn equipment.
Line 9—Selling Expenses.—Enter the total ex-
penses you paid to sell your home. These ex-
penses include commissions, advertising, attor-
ney and legal fees, appraisal fees, title insurance,
transfer and stamp taxes, and recording fees.
Loan charges, such as points charged to the
seller, are also selling expenses. Do not include
fixing-up expenses on this line.
Line 11—Adjusted Basis of Home Sold.—See
federal Publication 523 to figure the adjusted basis
of the home you sold.

If you were a nonresident of Hawaii when you
purchased your old Hawaii home, do not reduce
the basis of the old home by any gain on the sale of
a prior home which was located outside of Hawaii.
Line 15—Maximum Exclusion.—Enter $250,000
($500,000 if married filing a joint return) if during the
5-year period ending on the date of the sale, you
have met the ownership and use tests.

If you qualify to claim a reduced exclusion, use
the Reduced Maximum Exclusion Worksheet in
federal Publication 523 to figure the amount to en-
ter on line 15.
Line 17—Taxable gain.—If you are reporting the
sale on the installment method, see federal Publi-
cation 523. All others, enter this amount on the
Capital Gain/Loss Worksheet in the Instructions
for Form N-12 or Form N-15. Form N-11 filers
should include the gain on Form N-11, line 10 (if
not already included on Form N-11, line 7).
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