INSTRUCTIONS
FORM P-64A
FORM P-64B
(REV. 2006)

GENERAL INFORMATION

NOTE: Effective July 1, 2005, depending on the type and value of the
property being conveyed, the conveyance tax will now range from ten
cents ($.10) to thirty-five cents ($.35) on each one hundred dollars
($100) of actual and full consideration. (Act 156, Session Laws of Ha-
waii 2005)

Also, effective July 1, 2005, any document or instrument conveying real
property to any nonprofit or for-profit organization that has been certi-
fied by the housing and community development corporation of Hawaii
for low-income housing development is exempt from the conveyance
tax and a Form P-64B is not required. (Act 196, Session Laws of Hawaii
2005)

What Is the Conveyance Tax

The conveyance tax is imposed on all (1) transfers (2) of ownership or
interest in real property (3) through deeds, leases, subleases, assign-
ments of lease, agreements of sale, assignments of agreements of
sale, instruments, writings, or other documents, unless the transfer is
specifically exempted.

For Conveyance Tax Purposes, What Is a Transfer of
Ownership or Interest in Real Property

Transfers of ownership or interest in real property through deeds,
leases, subleases, assignments of lease, agreements of sale, assign-
ments of agreements of sale, instruments, writings, or other documents
include, but are not limited to, a (a) sale of real property interest, (b) con-
tribution of a real property interest by a shareholder, member, partner,
or grantor to a corporation, limited liability company/limited liability part-
nership, partnership, or trust, (c) distribution of a real property interest
from a corporation, limited liability company/limited liability partnership,
partnership, or trust to its shareholder, member, partner, or benefi-
ciary/trustee/grantor, (d) gift of real property interest, (e) payment for
goods and/or services or payment of debt in the form of a real property
interest, and (f) lease, sublease, or timeshare interest whose full unex-
pired term is for a period of five or more years.

Who Is Subject to the Conveyance Tax

The person subject to the conveyance tax is generally the grantor, les-
sor, sublessor, assignor, transferor, seller, conveyor, or any other person
conveying the real property interest.

How Is the Conveyance Tax Determined

The conveyance tax is payable on the actual and full consideration actu-
ally paid or ultimately required to be paid; it is immaterial for purposes of
the conveyance tax, that the transfer or conveyance resulted in a gain or
loss. The tax is calculated by multiplying the actual and full consider-
ation by the following rates:
(1) Except as provided in paragraph (2):
e Tencents ($.10) per $100 of the actual and full consideration for
properties with a value of less than $600,000
e Twenty cents ($.20) per $100 of the actual and full consideration
for properties with a value of at least $600,000, but less than
$1,000,000
e Thirty cents ($.30) per $100 of the actual and full consideration
for properties with a value of $1,000,000 or greater

AND

(2) For the sale of a condominium or single family residence for which
the purchaser is ineligible for a county homeowner's exemption on
property tax:

e Fifteen cents ($.15) per $100 of the actual and full consideration
for properties with a value of less than $600,000

e Twenty-five cents ($.25) per $100 of the actual and full consider-
ation for properties with a value of at least $600,000, but less
than $1,000,000
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e Thirty-five cents ($.35) per $100 of the actual and full consider-
ation for properties with a value of $1,000,000 or greater

The conveyance tax imposed for each transaction shall be not less than
one dollar ($1.00).

Actual and full consideration is the price or amount (whether cash or
otherwise) actually paid or required to be paid for real property including
the value of any liens or encumbrances thereon at the time of sale,
lease, sublease, assignment of lease, agreement of sale, assignment of
agreement of sale, transfer, or conveyance. Consideration is not limited
to cash and includes any promise, act, forbearance, property, interest,
value, gain, advantage, benefit, or profit offered by one party to another
in return for the other party’s act or promise. Consideration other than
cash consideration includes (a) tangible personal property, e.g., furni-
ture and equipment, (b) an increase in the value of stock or of a partner-
ship, limited liability partnership, or limited liability company interest, (c)
a release from or assumption of indebtedness, e.g., mortgages, loans,
and liens, (d) the fair market value of any properties exchanged, (e) the
value of any increase in lease rent, or (f) any other economic benefit.

General Filing and Payment Requirements

Although the Conveyance Tax Law is administered by the Department
of Taxation, forms and payments are generally submitted to the Bureau
of Conveyances, which is part of the Department of Land and Natural
Resources. A Form P-64A, Conveyance Tax Certificate, must be com-
pleted by the person subject to the tax and filed at the Bureau of Con-
veyances prior to or at the time the transfer document is recorded and
filed with the Bureau of Conveyance, but no later than 90 days after the
date of transaction; otherwise, penalty and interest will be assessed.

Form P-64B, Exemption from Conveyance Tax, must be completed to
request certain exemptions from the conveyance tax. Depending on the
type of transaction, Form P-64B must either be (1) submitted to the De-
partment of Taxation, Technical Section for approval of the exemption,
or (2) filed directly with the Bureau of Conveyances.

Penalty and Interest

Section 231-39, Hawaii Revised Statutes (HRS), provides for the as-
sessment of a late filing penalty of 5% of the tax due for each month or
part of a month that Form P-64A is filed late, i.e., beyond 90 days after
the date of transaction, up to a maximum of 25%. Section 231-39, HRS,
also provides for the assessment of interest on taxes not paid by their
due date. The interest rate for not paying the tax when due is 2/3 of 1%
of the unpaid amount, i.e., the sum of the tax due plus the amount of any
penalty, for each month or part of a month it remains unpaid.

When Is a Conveyance Tax Certificate Not Required

A Form P-64B is not required for documents for the following
transactions; the documents may be recorded or filed directly with the
Bureau of Conveyance:

1) Leases or subleases with full unexpired terms of less than 5
years.

2) Documents executed prior to January 1, 1967.
3) Documents given to secure a debt or obligation.

4) Documents in which the federal, State, or county governments are
the only parties (i.e., both as transferor and transferee).

5) Documents involving eminent domain proceedings.
6) Documents which only convey or grant easements.
7) Documents involving a merger or consolidation.

)

8) Documents involving a dissolving limited partnership to its corpo-
rate general partner that owns at least 90% constructive owner-
ship interest in the partnership.

9) Documents involving the conveyance of real property to any non-
profit or for-profit organization that has been certified by the hous-
ing and community development corporation of Hawaii for
low-income housing development.
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For further information, please refer to the following, which can be ob-
tained from the Department of Taxation's website at
www.state.hi.us/tax or by contacting the Department’s Taxpayer
Services Branch at (808) 587-4242:
e Chapter 247, Hawaii Revised Statues, Conveyance Tax Law
e Chapter 18-247, Hawaii Administrative Rules, Conveyance Tax
Law
e TaxInformation Release No. 89-1, RE: Conveyance Tax on Cer-
tain Time Share Conveyances
e Tax Information Release No. 89-11, RE: The Administration and
Application of the Conveyance Tax Law
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e TaxInformation Release No. 89-12, RE: The Administration and
Application of the Conveyance Tax

e TaxInformation Release No. 90-11, RE: The Administration and
Application of the Conveyance Tax Law

e Tax Information Release No. 92-2, RE: The Administration and
Application of the Conveyance Tax Law

SPECIFIC INSTRUCTIONS

When completing either Form P-64A or Form P-64B, please type or
print. If Form P-64A or Form P-64B is not completed properly, it will not
be accepted/approved.

Form P-64A (To Pay the Conveyance Tax)

Form P-64A is filed for each document conveying any real property in-
terest which is subject to the conveyance tax and is used to declare the
actual and full consideration paid or required to be paid and to pay the
conveyance tax.

Part |

Line 1 - Tax Map Key Information

Tax Map Key - Enter the tax map key (TMK) of the parcel(s) conveyed.
For condominiums, list the condominium property regime (CPR) num-
ber next to the TMK. If there are several TMKs which exceed the space
provided, attach a separate continuation sheet to the Form P-64A to re-
port the additional TMKSs (entering only “See Attached” in the TMK sec-
tion is not acceptable). To obtain the TMK, please call the real property
tax office in the county (City and County of Honolulu, County of Maui,
County of Hawaii, or the County of Kauai) where the property is located
(visit the Department’s website at www.state.hi.us/tax for links to the
counties’ websites). The TMK can also be obtained from your Real
Property Tax Assessment Notice, from your Real Property Tax Bill, and
for timeshare owners, from your timeshare management company.

Island - Enter the island where the real property interest is located.
Apartment Number - Enter the apartment number, if applicable.

Line 2 - Names of Parties to the Document

List the names of all parties to the document. If the names of the sell-
ers/transferors/grantors and purchasers/transferees/grantees exceed
the space provided, attach a separate continuation list to the Form
P-64A to report the additional names (entering only “See Attached” in
the names sections is not acceptable).

Part Il
Tax Computation and Balance Due

Line 1 - Date of Transaction

Enter the appropriate date. The Date of Transaction is the later of (1) the
date the document is executed or (2) the date of the last acknowledg-
ment.

“Document” means deeds, leases, subleases, assignments of lease,
agreements of sale, assignments of agreements of sale, instruments,
writings, and the like.

“Executed” means, with regard to a document, completed (i.e., all blank
spaces are filled in) and signed by the parties to the document.

“Date of last acknowledgment” means the date that the last formal decla-
ration is noted on a document. The acknowledgment or formal declara-
tion is made by a party to an executed document stating that signing the
document is the party’s free act and deed. The signing is usually made
before and certified by a notary.

Line 5 - Check the box if the transaction is EITHER:
¢ Not a sale of a condominium or a single family residence OR
e The purchaser is ELIGIBLE for a county homeowner's exemp-
tion on property tax with respect to the property conveyed.

Line 6 - Enter the conveyance tax rate applicable to the type and value
of the property being conveyed. See How Is the Conveyance Tax Deter-
mined in the General Information section of these instructions for de-
tails.

Line 7 - The tax is calculated by multiplying the actual and full consider-
ation entered on Part Il, line 4 by the rate entered on Part Il line 6. The
conveyance tax must be rounded to the nearest ten cents ($.10); the
minimum conveyance tax is one dollar ($1.00).

Line 8 - Add the amount of penalty on line 8a and the amount of interest
on line 8b and enter the total on line 8.

Line 8a - Section 231-39, HRS, provides for the assessment of a late fil-
ing penalty of 5% of the tax due for each month or part of a month that
Form P-64A is filed late, i.e., beyond 90 days after the date of transac-
tion, up to a maximum of 25%. For assistance in calculating the penalty
due, contact the Department of Taxation, Taxpayer Services Branch at
(808) 587-4242 or toll-free at 1-800-222-3229.

Line 8b - Section 231-39, HRS, provides for the assessment of interest
on taxes not paid by their due date. The interest rate for not paying the
tax when due is 2/3 of 1% of the unpaid amount, i.e., the sum of the tax
due plus the amount of any penalty, for each month or part of a month it
remains unpaid. For assistance in calculating the interest due, contact
the Department of Taxation, Taxpayer Services Branch at (808)
587-4242 or toll-free at 1-800-222-3229.

Line 9 - Make your check for the total balance due payable to the “Bu-
reau of Conveyances.”

Part Il

Lines 1 through 6 - Amounts Paid or Required to be Paid

Enter all amounts (consideration) paid or required to be paid for the real
property interest conveyed. See How Is the Conveyance Tax Deter-
mined in the General Information section of these instructions for a dis-
cussion of what is consideration.

Part IV

Sale, Agreement of Sale (A/S), Assignment of A/S, or
Other Transfer/Conveyance

Line 1 - State the total amount of actual and full consideration paid or re-
quired to be paid for the real property interest. If the conveyance in-
volves a timeshare interest with a term of five years or more, state the
actual and full consideration for the timeshare interest.

Exchange of Properties

When parties exchange real property interests, both conveyances are
subject to the conveyance tax. The consideration shall be the fair mar-
ket value of all property interests exchanged plus any other consider-
ation.

Line 2a- State the fair market value of all property interests exchanged.
Line 2b - State the total amount of other actual and full consideration
paid or required to be paid for the real property interest(s) exchanged.
Assignment of Lease

When a lease is entered into, a conveyance tax is paid based on the rent
to be paid over the life of the lease. When a lease is assigned, additional
conveyance tax is due if any consideration is paid to have the lease as-
signed and/or if the rent to be paid or the term of the lease is increased.

Line 3a - State the total amount of actual and full consideration paid or
required to be paid for the assignment of the lease.
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Line 3b - State the value of any increase in lease rental related to the
assignment of lease, discounted to present value and capitalized at the
rate of 6%.

Lease or Sublease

Only leases or subleases with terms of five years or more are subject to
the conveyance tax. The basis for the conveyance tax for these leases
and subleases is the annual rent to be paid over the life of the lease or
sublease discounted to present value and capitalized at the rate of 6%
plus any other actual and full consideration paid for the lease or
sublease, including improvements.

Line 4a - State the term of the lease, i.e., how many years the lease is to
run, and the date the lease is to start. If the annual lease rent to be paid
is fixed throughout the life of the lease, state the number of years of the
lease and the annual rent to be paid in the “1st period”line. If the annual
rent to be paid changes during the life of the lease, e.g., a graduated or
step-up lease, complete the appropriate number of “period” lines, stat-
ing the number of years of the lease a particular annual rent will be paid.
To determine the total rent discounted to present value and capitalized
at the rate of 6%, multiply the annual lease rent by the proper Inwood
Factor (see the Inwood Factors Table on page 2 of the Form P-64A) or
the equivalent present day valuation table at the rate of 6%.

Example 1: 10 year lease with rent fixed at $12,000 per year.
Multiply annual fixed rent by the proper Inwood Factor that corresponds
to the entire term of the lease.

$12,000 x 7.360 (10 yrs. factor from the Inwood Factors Table) =
$88,320

Example 2: 20 year lease with rent fixed at $12,000 per year for 15
years.

Multiply annual fixed rent by the proper Inwood Factor that corresponds
to the entire term of the lease.

$12,000 x 11.469 (20 yrs. factor from the Inwood Factors Table) =
$137,628

Example 3: 5 year percentage lease with minimum rent at $12,000 per
year.

Multiply annual minimum rent by the proper Inwood Factor that corre-
sponds to the entire term of the lease.

$12,000 x 4.212 (5 yrs. factor from the Inwood Factors Table) = $50,544

Example 4: 15 year percentage lease with no minimum rent per year.
Multiply the estimated average annual rent expected during the first
10-year period by the proper Inwood Factor that corresponds to the en-
tire term of the lease.

Estimated average annual rent x 9.712 (15 yrs. factor for the Inwood
Factors Table)

Example 5: 15 yearlease with rent fixed at $12,000 for years 1 through
5,%$12,600 for years 6 through 10, and $13,230 for years 11 through 15.
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Multiply the annual fixed rent by the proper Inwood Factor that corre-
sponds to the terms of the lease.

$12,000 x 4.212 (5 yrs. factor for the Inwood Factors Table) =
$50,544.00

$12,600 x (7.360 - 4.212) (10 yrs. factor less 5 yrs. factor from the
Inwood Factors Table) = $12,600 x 3.148 = $39,664.80

$13,230 x (9.712 - 7.360) (15 yrs. factor less 10 yrs. factor from the
Inwood Factors Table) = $13,230 x 2.352 = $31,116.96

Capitalized Value of Graduated Lease Rental = $50,544.00 +
$39,664.80 + $31,116.96 = $121,325.76

Line 4b - State the total amount of actual and full consideration paid or
required to be paid for the leasehold, including improvements.

Signatures

In all transfers, the purchaser(s)/transferee(s)/grantee(s) MUST sign
the Form P-64A.

It is preferred the following both sign the Form P-64A:
e the seller(s)/transferor(s)/grantor(s), and
e the purchaser(s)/transferee(s)/grantee(s)

A duly authorized representative of any party to the transfer signing the
Form P-64A must retain a power of attorney (e.g., Form N-848). When
signing the Form P-64A, the duly authorized representative must print
or type his/her name below his/her signature.

If the real property interest is transferred by the federal, State, or county
governments, the purchaser(s)/transferee(s)/grantee(s) must declare
the actual and full consideration, pay the conveyance tax, and sign the
Form P-64A.

The penalty for false declaration upon conviction of a class C felony is a
fine not more than $100,000 or imprisonment not more than 3 years or
both; corporations shall not be fined more than $500,000.

Where to File

If the document will be recorded, submit the completed Form P-64A,
along with payment, to the Bureau of Conveyances at 1151 Punchbowl
Street, Honolulu, HI 96813 or P. O. Box 2867, Honolulu, HI 96803-2867,
prior to or at the time of the recordation or filing, but no later than 90 days
after the date of transaction. If the Form P-64A is being submitted more
than 90 days after the date of transaction, please contact the Depart-
ment of Taxation, Taxpayer Services Branch at (808) 587-4242, for the
calculation of penalty and interest. No document for which the Form
P-64A is required will be accepted for recordation by the Bureau of Con-
veyances.

If the document will not be recorded, submit the completed Form P-64A,
along with payment, to the Bureau of Conveyances at 1151 Punchbowl
Street, Honolulu, HI 96813 or P.O.Box 2867, Honolulu, HI 96803-2867.

Form P-64B (To Request an Exemption From the Conveyance Tax)

Form P-64B is used to request an exemption from the conveyance tax.
Depending on the type of transaction, Form P-64B must either be (1)
submitted to the Department of Taxation, Technical Section for approval
of the exemption, or (2) filed directly with the Bureau of Conveyances.

Use Form P-64B to exempt the following documents from the convey-
ance tax:

1) Documents that confirm or correct a document previously re-
corded or filed.

2) Documents between a husband and wife, reciprocal beneficiaries,
or parent and child, in which only a nominal consideration is paid.

3) Documents in which a nominal consideration of $100 or less is
paid or to be paid.

4) Documents in fulfillment of an agreement of sale and, where appli-
cable, an assignment of agreement of sale, if the conveyance tax
on the agreement of sale was previously paid when the agree-
ment of sale was recorded.

5) Documents involving a tax sale for delinquent taxes or assess-
ments.

6) Documents involving partition deeds among co-owners, provided
each exemption claimed declares each owner’s undivided interest
in the real property and the value of that interest before partition,

and each owner’s proportionate interest and the value of that in-
terest after partition.

7) Documents between marital partners or reciprocal beneficiaries
who are parties to a divorce action or termination of reciprocal
beneficiary relationship which are executed pursuant to an order
of the court in the divorce action or termination of reciprocal bene-
ficiary relationship.

8) Documents involving conveyance from a testamentary trust to a
trust beneficiary.

9) Documents involving conveyance from the grantor to a grantor's
revocable living trust or from a grantor’s revocable living trust to
the grantor.

Part |

Line 1 - Tax Map Key Information

Tax Map Key - Enter the tax map key (TMK) of the parcel(s) conveyed.
For condominiums, list the condominium property regime (CPR) num-
ber next to the TMK. If there are several TMKs which exceed the space
provided, attach a separate continuation sheet to the Form P-64B to re-
port the additional TMKSs (entering only “See Attached” in the TMK sec-
tion is not acceptable). To obtain the TMK, please call the real property
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tax office in the county (City and County of Honolulu, County of Maui,
County of Hawaii, or the County of Kauai) that the property being trans-
ferred is located in (visit the Department's website at
www.state.hi.us/tax for links to the counties’ websites). The TMK can
also be obtained from your Real Property Tax Assessment Notice, from
your Real Property Tax Bill, and for timeshare owners, from your
timeshare management company.

Island - Enter the island where the real property interest is located.
Apartment Number - Enter the apartment number, if applicable.

Line 2 - Date of Transaction

Enter the appropriate date. The Date of Transaction is the later of (1) the
date the document is executed or (2) the date of the last acknowledg-
ment.

“Document” means deeds, leases, subleases, assignments of lease,
agreements of sale, assignments of agreements of sale, instruments,
writings, and the like.

“Executed” means, with regard to a document, completed (i.e., all blank
spaces are filled in) and signed by the parties to the document.

“Date of last acknowledgment” means the date that the last formal dec-
laration is noted on a document. The acknowledgment or formal decla-
ration is made by a party to an executed document stating that signing
the document is the party’s free act and deed. The signing is usually
made before and certified by a notary.

Line 3 - Names of Parties to the Document

List the names of all parties to the document. If the names of the sell-
ers/transferors/grantors and purchasers/transferees/grantees exceed
the space provided, attach a separate continuation list to the Form
P-64B to report the additional names (entering only “See Attached” in
the names sections is not acceptable).

Part Il

This part must be completed.

Lines 1 through 7 - Amounts Paid or Required to be Paid

Enter all amounts (consideration) paid or required to be paid for the real
property interest conveyed. Enter zero (-0-) for those items that are not
applicable. See How Is the Conveyance Tax Determinedin the General
Information section of these instructions for a discussion of what is con-
sideration.

Line 8 - Total Amount of Actual and Full Consideration
Add lines 1 through 7, and enter the total on line 8.

If the total is more than $100, the exemption for a conveyance that in-
volves an actual and full consideration of $100 or less is not applicable.
If the transfer does not qualify for another exemption from the convey-
ance tax, you will need to file Form P-64A, instead of Form P-64B, and
pay the conveyance tax.
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Part lll and Part IV

Complete Part Ill or Part IV, but not both, that best describes the exemp-
tion claimed (if both Part Il and Part IV are completed, Form P-64B will
not be accepted/approved).

If Part lll is used, checkmark only one best applicable box and complete
the “Describe Transfer” section. When completing the “Describe Trans-
fer” section, enter a concise explanation; if more space is needed, con-
tinue the explanation on a separate sheet of paper and attach it to the
Form P-64B (entering only “See Attached” in the “Describe Transfer”
section is not acceptable).

Signatures

One of the following must sign the Form P-64B:
e the seller(s)/transferor(s)/grantor(s),
e the purchaser(s)/transferee(s)/grantee(s), or

e aduly authorized representative of any party to the transfer (rep-
resentative must print his/her name below his/her signature)

A duly authorized representative of any party to the transfer signing the
Form P-64B must retain a power of attorney (e.g., Form N-848).

If the real property interest is transferred by the federal, State, or county
governments, the purchaser(s)/transferee(s)/grantee(s) must sign the
Form P-64B.

The penalty for false declaration upon conviction of a class C felony is a
fine not more than $100,000 or imprisonment not more than 3 years or
both; corporations shall not be fined more than $500,000.

Where to File

If the exemption claimed falls under Part Ill, submit Form P-64B, and the
document to be recorded (a copy of the document is acceptable) to the
Department of Taxation, Technical Section, at P.O. Box 259, Honolulu,
HI 96809-0259, or at 830 Punchbowl! Street, Room 124, in Honolulu,
(808) 587-1577, for review and approval before filing with the Bureau of
Conveyances. Upon receipt of the Form P-64B by the Technical Sec-
tion, the Form P-64B will be reviewed within three (3) to ten (10) busi-
ness days. In general, after the Form P-64B has been approved or
disapproved, the Form P-64B will be returned to the party who submit-
ted the Form P-64B for review by either (1) telephone natification to
pick-up the Form P-64B at the Department of Taxation, 830 Punchbowl
Street, Room 124 or (2) by mail. Instead of returning the Form P-64B,
the Technical Section will forward an approved Form P-64B to the Bu-
reau of Conveyances for recording if we have all of the following: (1) writ-
ten instructions to do so by the party who submitted the Form P-64B for
review, (2) the original of the document to be recorded, and (3) all the
necessary recording fees (if any item is missing, the Form P-64B will be
returned to the party who submitted the Form P-64B for review).

If the exemption appears in Part 1V, file the Form P-64B directly with the
Bureau of Conveyances at 1151 Punchbowl Street, Honolulu, HI 96813
or P.O.Box 2867, Honolulu, HI 96803-2867. For the Bureau of Convey-
ances filing fee information, visit the Bureau’s website at www.ha-
waii.gov/dinr/bc or call (808) 587-0134 (regular system) or (808)
587-0138 (land court).





