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July 29, 2005 
 

DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION ANNOUNCEMENT NO. 2005-07 
 

RE: Act 146, Session Laws of Hawaii 2005, Relating to Public Service Company Tax   
 

On June 22, 2005, the Governor signed S.B. No. 1453, S.D.2, H.D. 1, C.D. 1, into law as 
Act 146, Session Laws of Hawaii 2005 (Act 146).   
 
 Act 146 amends § 239-2, Hawaii Revised Statutes, to expressly include income from the 
operation of a private sewer company or private sewer facility within the definition of "gross 
income" that is subject to the public service company ("PSC") tax.  The purpose of the Act is to 
supercede the recent Tax Appeal Court decision, In the Matter of the Tax Appeal of Director of 
Taxation, State of Hawaii v. Laie Treatment Works, Inc., in the Tax Appeal Court of the State of 
Hawaii, Case No. 02-0067, which held that the income from a privately-owned sewage treatment 
plant (a public utility) was not subject to the PSC tax.   
 
 Under the amendments made by this Act, income received from the operation of a 
privately-owned sewer company or privately-owned sewer facility (such as income received 
from sewer and/or wastewater treatment services) would be subject to the PSC tax (rather than 
the general excise tax).  Thus, the county governments would continue to receive a portion of the 
PSC tax revenues.1    
 

The Act takes effect on July 1, 2005. 

                                                 
1 Act 64, Session Laws of Hawaii 2001, codified a settlement agreement between the State and county governments.  
The counties were allowed to receive a portion of the PSC tax revenues as part of their assertion that they lose real 
property tax revenues when public utilities pay the PSC tax in lieu of real property taxes.  Pursuant to Act 64, the 
PSC tax revenue is divided between the State and the counties, whereby the State receives revenues attributable to 
4% (of the 5.885% tax rate) and the counties receive the remaining 1.885% (in excess of the 4% state portion).    



Department of Taxation Announcement No. 2005-07 
July 29, 2005 
Page 2 
 
 

Current forms and other tax information are available at the Department's website at:  
www.state.hi.us/tax. If you know which tax form or publication you need, please call the 
Department's request line at 808-587-7572, or toll-free from the neighbor islands and continental 
U.S. at 1-800-222-7572. This service is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. 
 
 
 
 
        

KURT KAWAFUCHI 
Director of Taxation 

 
HRS Section Explained: HRS section 239-2 
 
 
  
 


