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November 3, 2005 

 

DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION ANNOUNCEMENT NO. 2005-19 
 
RE:   Adoption of Section 18-235-20.5-01, Hawaii Administrative Rules, Relating to the Imposition of Fees 

for (1) the Issuance of High Tech Comfort Rulings and (2) the Certification of (a) the High Technology 
Business Investment Tax Credit and (b) the Tax Credit for Research Activities. 

 
The Department of Taxation (Department) is pleased to announce the adoption of section 18-235-20.5-

01, Hawaii Administrative Rules (HAR), which becomes effective on November 3, 2005.  The new fees will be 
imposed on any comfort rulings or certification forms such as Forms N-318A and N-319A, postmarked after 
November 4, 2005.  
 
 Act 215, Session Laws of Hawaii 2004, has established a new "Tax Administration Special Fund" and 
has authorized the Department of Taxation (Department) to charge fees for issuing high tech comfort rulings 
(comfort rulings) and certifying credit amounts for the high technology business investment tax credit 
(investment credit) and the tax credit for research activities (research credit). 
 
 Section 18-235-20.5-01, HAR, sets forth the following fee structure:   
 
Comfort Ruling Requests/Certification Submissions Date of Receipt Amount 

Comfort Rulings Requests Anytime $1,000 
Investment Credit Certification Submitted by 
Investor (Form N-318A) 

Before the third Wednesday in January 
following the year in which the investment was 
made1 $100 

Investment Credit Certification Submitted by 
Investor (Form N-318A) 

On or after the third Wednesday in January 
following the year in which the investment was 
made2 $150 

Investment Credit Certification Submitted by Pass-
Through Entities on Behalf of Their Partners, 
Shareholders, etc. (Form N-318A) 

Before the third Wednesday in January 
following the year in which the investment was 
made1 $750 

Investment Credit Certification Submitted by Pass-
Through Entities on Behalf of Their Partners, 
Shareholders, etc. (Form N-318A) 

On or after the third Wednesday in January 
following the year in which the investment was 
made2 $1,000 

Research Credit Certification (Form N-319A) Before the third Wednesday in January 
following the year in which the research 
expenses were incurred1 $400 

                                                 
1 For fiscal year filers, the form must be received before the third Wednesday of the first month following the close of the taxpayer's 
fiscal year in which the investment was made. 
2 For fiscal year filers, the form must be received on or after the third Wednesday of the first month following the close of the 
taxpayer's fiscal year in which the investment was made. 
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Research Credit Certification (Form N-319A) On or after the third Wednesday in January 

following the year in which the research 
expenses were incurred2 $750

 
For purposes of the fee imposition, a comfort ruling is defined as, a ruling concerning the application of 

the following high technology tax incentives: 
 

1. The high technology business investment tax credit under section 235-110.9, HRS; 
2. The income tax exclusion for royalties and other income derived from patents and copyrights received 

by an individual or a qualified high technology business and developed and arising out of a qualified 
high technology business under section 235-7.3, HRS; 

3. The income tax exclusion for stock options, dividends from stock, the receipt of options, the exercise of 
the options, and income from the sale of the options under section 235-9.5, HRS; or 

4. The tax credit for research activities under section 235-110.91, HRS. 
 

Section 18-235-20.5-01, HAR, also provides a fee exemption for any person requesting a certificate of 
either the investment or research credit where the represented claim of the applicable credit is less than $25,000.  
Notwithstanding this fee exemption, such person is still subject to the certification requirements and required to 
submit the applicable certification form. 
 
 Any comfort ruling request, Form N-318A, or Form N-319A postmarked after November 4, 2005 must 
be accompanied by a check for the proper amount made payable to the Director of Finance.  Due to the new fee, 
the Department will no longer accept comfort letter ruling requests submitted by e-mail.  All comfort letter 
ruling requests and forms should be mailed to: 
 
Department of Taxation 
Rules Office 
P.O. Box 259 
Honolulu, HI  96809 
 

If you have any questions concerning this announcement, please call Roni Matsuda at 808-587-1570.  
Current forms and other tax information may be downloaded from the Department’s website at:  
www.hawaii.gov/tax.   If you know which tax form or publication you need, please call the Department’s 
request line at 808-587-7572, or toll-free from the neighbor islands and continental U.S. at 1-800-222-7572.  
This service is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.   
 
 
 
 
 

  KURT KAWAFUCHI 
  Director of Taxation 
 
 
HAR Section Explained:  HAR Sections 18-235-20.5-01 
 
 




