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Reprint of Tax Information Release No. 95-4, issued November 21, 1995
RE: Employee Withholding Certificates

This Tax Information Release reiterates the requirements relating
to Form HW-4, Employee’s Withholding Allowance and Status
Certificate.

Section 235-61, Hawaii Revised Statutes (HRS), provides that on
or before the date of the commencement of employment with an
employer, the employee shall furnish to the employer a completed
and signed certificate (Form HW-4) showing the total number of
withholding allowances being claimed. The number of withholding
allowances, based on the personal exemption(s) and the standard
deduction allowance or itemized deductions the employee claims,
shall not exceed the total number to which the employee is entitled to
claim on the basis of the existing facts. An employee may choose to
claim fewer, but not more, withholding allowances than the
employee is entitled to claim.

There is no provision in Hawaii’s Income Tax Law for an
employee to claim an exempt status for State income tax withholding
notwithstanding the employee’s residency status. If an employee
submits a Form HW-4 claiming to be exempt from State income tax
withholding, the employer is to take the following action:

1. Advise the employee that the Income Tax Law does not provide
an exempt status for Hawaii income tax withholding and that a
Form HW-4 claiming exemption from withholding is not valid
and that a copy of the invalid Form HW-4 will be sent to the
Department of Taxation.

2. Advise the employee that State income taxes will be withheld
from the employee’s salary or wages on the basis of a single
filing status with no withholding allowances.

3. Advise the employee that he or she may be subject to the
criminal penalties enacted by Act 92, Session Laws of Hawaii
(SLH) 1995, for the failure to make or supply a valid Form
HW-4 as required or for submitting a false and fraudulent
Form HW-4.

Act 92, SLH 1995, provides that a person shall be guilty of a
misdemeanor and, upon conviction, be fined up to $25,000 or
imprisoned for up to one year, or both, for wilfully failing to
make a report, supply information required by law, or supply
the information at the time required by law.

Act 92, SLH 1995, also provides that a person shall be guilty of
a class C felony and, upon conviction, be subject to a fine of up
to $100,000 or imprisoned for not more than three years, or
both, for willfully making a false and fraudulent statement
under a tax law. Any person who wilfully aids or assists in,
procures, counsels or advises the preparation or presentation of
a false or fraudulent affidavit or other document, regardless or
whether the falsity or fraud is with or without the knowledge or

consent of the person required to present the document, may be
subject to a fine of $100,000 or imprisoned for not more than
three years, or both.

4. A copy of this Tax Information Release may be provided to the
employee.

5. Send a copy of the employee’s invalid Form HW-4 claiming
exemption from income tax withholding to the Tax Assessor in
the Taxation District in which the employer is located.

6. If an employee is claiming on Form HW-4 more than 10
exemptions or the number of exemptions claimed is not
warranted under the circumstances and it appears to be a
means of having no income tax withheld from wages or salary,
the employer is to send a copy of the employee’s HW-4 to the
Tax Assessor in the Taxation District in which the employer is
located.

It also has come to our attention that certain employees are
improperly claiming to be non-employees. Generally, an employee
is an individual under any contract for hire, express or implied, oral or
written, in which the employer has the power or right to control and
direct the employee in the material details of how the work is to be
performed. An employee includes a person working for a salary or
wages, and an officer of a corporation. Under Internal Revenue Code
Section 3401, relating to definitions for Federal income tax
withholding, which Hawaii follows, the term "employee" also
includes an officer, employee, or elected official of the United States,
a state or any political subdivision, or any agency or instrumentality
thereof.

Employers of individuals claiming non-employee status shall
advise the individual whether he or she is classified as an employee
for Hawaii income tax withholding purposes and, if appropriate, the
employer shall follow the procedures outlined above in numbers 2
and 3.

o ) e

RAY K. KAMIKAWA
Director of Taxation

HRS Sections explained: HRS Sections 235-61, 231-34, 231-35.

Hawaii Administrative Rule (HAR) explained: HAR 18-235-61-09.
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FOR FURTHER INFORMATION, SEE THE

HAWAII REVISED STATUTES AND

THE DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION RULES OR
CONSULT YOUR LOCAL DISTRICT TAX OFFICE BELOW

ALL CHAPTERS AND SECTION REFERENCES NOTED

“SECTION __H.R. S.” REFER TO THE HAWAII REVISED STATUTES.

ALL OTHER SECTION REFERENCES ARE TO SECTIONS
CONTAINED IN THIS BOOKLET

Section 1. — DIRECTORY OF PHONE NUMBERS AND ADDRESSES: The following directory contains
mailing addresses for filing Hawaii withholding returns and applications only. The mailing addresses for filing
information returns (federal Forms 1099) can be found in the “Instructions for Form N-196".

Oahu District Office
(Honolulu City & County)

Telephone Number: (808) 587-4242

Office Location:

Mailing Address:

830 Punchbowl Street
Taxpayer Services Branch
Honolulu, Oahu

Oahu District Office
P. O. Box 3827
Honolulu, Hawaii 96812-3827

Hawaii District Office
(Hawaii County)

Telephone Number: (808) 974-6321

Office Location:

Mailing Address:

State Office Building
75 Aupuni Street, #101
Hilo, Hawaii

Hawaii District Office
P. O. Box 937
Hilo, Hawaii 96721-0937

Maui District Office
(Maui & Kalawao Counties)

Telephone Number: (808) 984-8500

Office Location: ~ State Office Building
54 S. High Street, #208
Wailuku, Maui
Mailing Address:  Maui District Office
P. O. Box 923
Wailuku, Hawaii 96793-0923
Kauai District Office
(Kauai County)

Telephone Number: (808) 274-3456

Office Location:

Mailing Address:

State Office Building
3060 Eiwa Street, #105
Lihue, Kauai

Kauai District Office
P. O. Box 1686
Lihue, Hawaii 96766-5686

NEED MORE INFORMATION? If you have a state tax problem, have a question, or need assistance, dial
toll-free 1-800-222-3229.

The Department also has pre-recorded tax updates, just dial (808) 587-1234 and press 7700.

JUST NEED A TAX FORM? Ask for your form and how to obtain the State Tax CD-ROM by mail by dialing
toll-free 1-800-222-7572.

Ask for your form by fax by dialing:

On Oahu:
(808) 678-0522 from your fax machine

Outside Oahu:

587-7572



INTERNET ADDRESS? Tax information and tax forms also are available on the Internet at:
www.state.hi.us/tax

NEED SPECIAL ASSISTANCE? The Department has Telephone for the Hearing Impaired at various locations
throughout the Department.

Administrative Services/Personnel Tax Services and Processing Compliance Division
Regular: (808) 587-1417 Regular: (808) 587-1418 Regular: (808) 587-1419
Toll-Free: 1-800-801-5913 Toll-Free: 1-800-887-8974 Toll-Free: 1-800-961-5369

We want to help, and one phone call saves time, money, and trouble for everyone.

Section 2. — WHEN TO FILE: The following is a list of important dates during the year that you should take
note of. When the due date for any remittance or document required by Hawaii law falls on a Saturday, Sunday,
or legal holiday, the remittance or document is not due until the next succeeding day which is not a Saturday,
Sunday, or legal holiday.

By January 31 or When Employment Ends:

Give each employee a completed Form HW-2 (federal form W-2 may be used). See section 17, “Statement of
Hawaii Income Tax Withheld and Wages Paid”.

By February 28 (or February 29 in a leap year) or when the employer’s obligation to withhold taxes is terminated
other than temporarily:

File Form HW-3 along with Forms HW-2. See section 16, “Employer’s Return and Reconciliation of Hawaii
Income Tax Withheld from Wages”.

By February 28 (or February 29 in a leap year):

Give the recipients the applicable federal Form 1099. Refer to the Instructions for Form N-196, not included
in this booklet.

By February 28 (or February 29 in a leap year):

File the State transmittal Form N-196 along with applicable federal Form 1099. Refer to the Instructions for
Form N-196, not included in this booklet.

By the 10th day of each calendar month:

File Form HW-14 along with remittance for the preceding monthly period if your annual total withholding
liability exceeds $100,000. See section 15, “Filing the Withholding Tax Return”.

By the 15th day of each calendar month (unless you are permitted to file returns on a quarterly basis):

File Form HW-14 along with remittance for the preceding monthly period. See section 15, “Filing the
Withholding Tax Return”.

By the 15th day of April, July, October, and January (if you are permitted to file returns on a quarterly basis):

File Form HW-14 along with remittance for the preceding quarterly period. See section 15, “Filing the
Withholding Tax Return”.

ELECTRONIC FUNDS TRANSFER (EFT) — Section 231-9.9, HRS, authorizes the Department of Taxation to
require those taxpayers whose tax liability for a particular tax exceeded $100,000 during the past year to pay that tax by
EFT instead of by check. The Department reviews the filing records of taxpayers and will mail notices to taxpayers who
meet this criterion. Any taxpayer who does not meet the criterion may still voluntarily pay by EFT. For more information
on paying taxes by EFT, contact your district tax office for a copy of Tax Information Release No. 95-6.



Section 3. WHERE TO FILE: You should file all applications, returns, payments and statements in the taxation
district in which your principal place of business is located. If you are a nonresident or a foreign corporation, and
have no place of business in the State, you should file with the Oahu District Office. Refer to section 1 for the
addresses of the taxation district offices.

If your employee’s services are not performed in your trade or business, you should file in the taxation district
in which the employee services are principally performed. For example, if you are a resident with no trade or
business, and you hire an employee to perform domestic services, you should file in the taxation district in which
the employee services are principally performed.

Section 4. — EMPLOYER’S DUTIES: The following is a general list of employer’s responsibilities regarding
Hawaii withholding taxes. For further information, you should refer to the sections of this booklet as indicated in
the following paragraphs:

(a) New Employers — Refer to section 6.

(b) Identification Number — Apply for a Hawaii Withholding Identification Number if you do not already
have one. See section 5.

(¢) Form HW-4 — Obtain an “Employee’s Withholding Allowance and Status Certificate”, Form HW-4 from
each employee. Instruct each employee to file a new certificate with you depending on certain events. See
section 11 for situations in which the employee must furnish you with a new certificate.

(d) Withholding Tax — Determine whether withholding is required. See section 9. If withholding is required,
compute the amount of withholding. See section 14.

(e) Form HW-14 — File the Withholding Tax Return, Form HW-14 along with remittance, if any. See section 15.

(f) Form HW-3 — File an “Employer’s Return and Reconciliation of Hawaii Income Tax Withheld From
Wages”, Form HW-3 by the last day of February following the close of the calendar year, or when your
obligation to withhold taxes is terminated permanently. See section 16.

(g) Form HW-2 — Give each employee a “Statement of Hawaii Income Tax Withheld and Wages Paid”, Form
HW-2 (federal form W-2 may be used), by January 31 following the close of the calendar year, or when
your employee has terminated employment. See section 17.

(h) Terminating an Employee — Furnish the employee with a Form HW-2. See section 17.

(1) Going Out of Business or Permanently Ceasing to Pay Wages — File a Final Return for Forms HW-14 and
HW-3. See sections 15 and 16. File Form GEW-TA-RV-1, “Notification of Cancellation”. Furnish each
employee with a Form HW-2. See section 17.

(j) Change of Address or Change of Business Name — file Form GEW-TA-RV-2, to change your address or
Form GEW-TA-RV-5 to change the business name. Do not file Form GEW-TA-RV-5 for a change of
ownership. Instead, the former business owner must file Form GEW-TA-RV-1, “Notification of
Cancellation” to cancel the withholding identification number. The new business owner must apply for a
new identification number.

(k) Recordkeeping — Keep full, complete, regular, and accurate accounts pertaining to withholding taxes
available for inspection by the Department. See section 18.

Section 5. — EMPLOYER’S HAWAII WITHHOLDING IDENTIFICATION NUMBER: Each employer
must apply for, and will be assigned, a Hawaii Withholding Identification number. This number must be used on
all returns, statements and applications and in all correspondence with the Department. Do not confuse your Hawaii
Withholding Identification Number with your Federal Employer Identification Number.

You may apply for a Hawaii Withholding Identification number and an Unemployment Insurance Account
Number by completing application Form BB-1 and filing it with the Department. Refer to section 3, “Where to
File”, and section 1, “Directory of Phone Numbers and Addresses”.



You may have only one withholding identification number, unless the Director of Taxation assigns a further
number to a unit of your business or for services not in the course of your trade or business.

If you acquired your business from another person, do not use the number assigned to your predecessor. Instead,
you must apply for a new withholding identification number.

Section 6. — INFORMATION FOR NEW EMPLOYERS: The following is a general list of registration
requirements for new employers. It is intended to be a guide rather than an exclusive list of all registration
requirements.

(a) Obtain a Hawaii Withholding Identification Number (refer to section 5) and an Unemployment Insurance
Account Number. You may use Form BB-1, State of Hawaii Basic Business Application, for this purpose.

(b) Obtain a Federal Employers Identification number.

(c) Contact the Hawaii Department of Labor and Industrial Relations for information regarding unemployment
insurance, workman’s compensation, temporary disability insurance and prepaid health care.

Section 7. — WHO IS AN EMPLOYER: Under Hawaii Law, an employer is defined as, “(A) the person or
government for whom an individual performs or performed any service, of whatever nature, as the employee of
such person or government, and (B) the person having control of the payment of the wages if the employer, as
heretofore defined, does not have control thereof, and (C) any person subject to the jurisdiction of the State and
paying wages on behalf of an employer, as heretofore defined, if the employer is not subject to the jurisdiction of
the State”.

An employer may be an individual, corporation, partnership, trust, estate, joint stock company, national bank,
insurance company, business trust, association, syndicate, group, pool, joint venture, or other unincorporated
organization.

The term employer includes the State of Hawaii, each political subdivision of the State, and agencies of the
State or a political subdivision. The term employer includes not only individuals and organizations engaged in
trade or business, but organizations exempt from income tax, such as religious, educational, charitable, and social
organizations and societies.

The term employer does not include any government that is not subject to the laws of the State except as, and
to the extent that, it consents to the application of the Hawaii withholding law.

Section 8. — WHO IS AN EMPLOYEE: An employee is an individual who performs services and the
relationship with the person for whom the individual performs such services is the legal relationship of employer
and employee. Common law rules apply. Generally, an employee is subject to the will and control of the employer,
both as to what shall be done and how it shall be done. The employer usually has the right to discharge the employee,
furnishes the tools, and the place of work. An employee may be employed on a full or part-time basis. If the
employer-employee relationship exists, it is immaterial that an employee is designated by the parties as a partner,
coadventurer, agent, or independent contractor, or that the compensation is called fees, charges, commissions, etc.
In determining whether the employer-employee relationship exists in a particular case, all the facts and
circumstances must be taken into consideration.

Employees include managers, superintendents, and others exercising supervisory functions, as well as officers
of a corporation, except directors in their capacity as such. Officers and elected officials are considered employees
by express provision of the statute (section 235-61(a)(2), HRS).

Generally, an individual may not be considered an employee if the individual (a) has been and will continue
to be free from control or direction over the performance of the business or services undertaken by such individual,
and (b) the business or services are performed outside of all the places of business of the potential employer, and
(c) the individual is customarily engaged in an independently established trade, occupation, or business of the same
nature undertaken for, with, or at the order of the potential employer.



In general, individuals who are in business for themselves are not employees. These are physicians, lawyers,
contractors, public stenographers and others carrying on an independent trade, business, or profession offering their
services to the public.

Insurance agents and solicitors may or may not be employees, depending upon the facts and circumstances.

Section 9. — WHAT IS SUBJECT TO WITHHOLDING: Note, this section should be read in conjunction
with section 10. An employer making payment of wages to employees must deduct and withhold from such wages,
an amount of tax as provided by the Hawaii withholding law.

Under section 235-61(a)(1), HRS, wages are defined as “wages, commissions, fees, salaries, bonuses, and every
and all other kinds of remuneration for, or compensation attributable to, services performed by an employee for
the employee’s employer, including the cash value of all remuneration paid in any medium other than cash and the
cost-of-living allowances and other payments included in gross income by section 235-7(b), HRS, but excluding
income excluded from gross income by section 235-7, HRS, or other provisions of this chapter”. Wages may
include wages paid to children of a sole proprietor.

The Department, by rules, has set forth the following guidelines for determining what wages are subject to
withholding.

Withholding is required on:

(a) Wages for services performed in the State. However, withholding is not required on such wages if all the
following conditions are met:

— The employee can show in the manner explained in section 12, that he or she is a nonresident,
— The employee is temporarily performing services in the State,

— The employer can reasonably expect the employee to be in the State, in the aggregate, for less than 60
days during the calendar year,

— The employee is paid for his or her services in the State from an office outside the State, and

— The employee does not have his or her regular place of employment for services for the employer in
the State.

If all of the above conditions are met, except for the less-than-60-day requirement, and if the Director of Taxation
finds that the withholding requirement is unduly onerous or impracticable of enforcement, the Director may grant
permission to an employer for exception from the withholding requirement.

Note that employers and employees who are exempt from the withholding provisions, are not necessarily
exempt from the Hawaii Income tax law.

(b) Wages for services performed outside the State if:

— The services are performed by an employee whose regular place of employment for services for the
employer, is in the State, or

— The wages are paid out of an office in the State, or the field office of an employer whose head office is
in the State.

Withholding is not required on the wages in paragraph (b) if the employee can show in the manner
explained in section 12, that he or she is a nonresident.

The Department, by rules, has also prescribed that where an employee distributes products or provides services
and receives compensation consisting of the difference between the selling price to the customers for the products
or services and the price the employee pays the employer, this amount constitutes “wages” and is subject to
withholding. However, the amount identified for expenses, shown by a statement submitted by the employee
(which may include the fair rental value of a truck owned or rented by the employee and used in performing the
services), may be excluded from wages subject to withholding as provided by section 10, paragraph (q) of this
booklet.



Generally, where wages are paid in property rather than money, the employer should make necessary
arrangements to insure that the required amount of withholding tax is paid to the Department. However, certain
noncash remuneration is not subject to withholding. Refer to section 10, paragraphs (p) and (r) of this booklet.

Under the Hawaii Law, withholding is required from certain wages not subject to federal withholding
such as wages for agricultural labor and domestic service. (But see section 10, paragraph (n) of this booklet.)

Vacation allowances and back pay, including retroactive wage increases (but not amounts paid as liquidated
damages), are subject to the withholding and taxed as ordinary wages.

The Department, by rule, has prescribed that withholding is required on wages earned by nonresident employees
of a construction industry contractor performing work in Hawaii. The term "qualifying nonresident employee" does
not include these employees. Although an employee can show in the manner explained in section 12, that he or
she is a nonresident, the employer must withhold income taxes on wages paid to nonresident employees of
construction industry contractors when the work is performed for a construction project located in Hawaii beginning
September 20, 1999 and thereafter.

Voluntary withholding agreements may also be entered into between an employee and an employer or third
party, such as an insurance company, to withhold State income taxes from an employee’s sick pay. The same
procedure prescribed for federal withholding may be followed. See also section 10, paragraph (o) for voluntary
agreements between certain crew members and employers.

The following examples illustrate when withholding is or is not required:

— Employee, a resident of Oregon, is engaged to teach in Hawaii for one summer. Though Employee is
a nonresident, withholding is required on Employee’s wages.

— Employee, a resident of Hawaii, is sent to the mainland for special training. Withholding is required
on Employee’s wages.

— Employee, aresident of Hawaii, is a promotional sales representative for a mainland manufacturer. He
or she has a home in Honolulu and covers all of the islands. From time to time he or she goes to the
mainland to attend sales conferences. Withholding is required on Employee’s wages.

— Employee, a resident of California, is brought to the State by a firm having a contract to make a survey
for a local company. The work commences in February and is not completed until June. During this
time, Employee makes a trip back to the mainland for consultations. Withholding is required on wages
for the period of service in the State, but is not required on the wages for the period Employee is outside
the State, if there is compliance with section 12 of this booklet.

— Employee, a resident of Washington, is hired on the mainland by a company having a construction
contract for work on a Pacific island that is not part of the State of Hawaii. All of Employee’s services
are performed on that island. Withholding is not required on Employee’s wages, if there is compliance
with section 12 of this booklet. On the other hand, withholding is required on the wages of employees
who are Hawaii residents or do not make the required showing of nonresidence.

— Employee, a resident of Nevada, is hired on the mainland by a construction industry contractor to work
in Hawaii on a federal contract. All of Employee’s services are performed in Hawaii during a period
that is less than 60 days in the aggregate for the calendar year. Withholding is required on any employee
of a construction industry contractor engaged in contracting work in Hawaii regardless of the
employee’s state of residency or how long the employee is in Hawaii.

Section 10. — WHAT IS NOT SUBJECT TO WITHHOLDING: Certain remuneration for or compensation
attributable to services is not subject to withholding because the remuneration is income excluded from gross
income by section 235-7, HRS, or other provisions of the Income Tax Law. The Department, by rules, has set
forth the following cash or noncash payments which are not subject to withholding:

(a) Retirement system benefits. Rights, benefits and other income under the State retirement system,
exempted by section 88-91, HRS, and comparable rights, benefits and other income under any other public



(b)

retirement system.

Pensions. Compensation received in the form of a pension for past services.

(c) Social Security and tier 1 railroad retirement benefits.

(d)

Employees’ trusts and annuity plans. Payments to, or on behalf of, an employee or the employee’s
beneficiary, from or to a trust which, are exempt from tax at the time of such payment, unless such payment
is made to an employee of the trust as remuneration for services rendered as an employee and not as a
beneficiary of the trust; or payments to, or on behalf of an employee or beneficiary, under or to an annuity
plan (i.e., one which at the time of such payment is a plan described in section 403(a) of the Internal Revenue
Code and payments to, or on behalf of, an employee or beneficiary, under or to a bond purchase plan, which
at the time of each payment, is a qualified bond purchase plan described in section 405(a) of the Internal
Revenue Code). Such payments must be included in the income tax returns of these individuals, unless
they are excluded by paragraph (b) or other provisions of the law.

(e) Persons affected with leprosy. Compensation paid to a patient affected with Hansen’s Disease employed

by the State in any hospital, settlement, or place for the treatment of Hansen’s Disease.

(f) Meals and lodging furnished for employer’s convenience. The value of any meals or lodging furnished

€y

(h)

by the employer on the business premises or at the place of employment, and for the employer’s
convenience. In the case of lodging, the employee must be required to accept such lodging on the premises
as a condition of the employee’s employment.

Deceased employees. The amounts paid to the estate of a deceased employee, or to beneficiaries of a
deceased employee, for death benefits, or for wages of an employee who dies before the date for payment
of the wages. However, the payments (except the excludable amount of death benefits) must be included
in the income tax return of the estate or beneficiary who acquires the right to receive the amounts by reason
of the employee’s death, unless the payments are wages includable in a taxable period of the deceased.

Blind, deaf or totally disabled persons. Amounts paid to a person who has been certified as blind, deaf
or totally disabled on a form prescribed by the Department. This paragraph applies to the first payroll
period ending, or first payment of wages made without regard to a payroll period, on or after the date when
the certificate is furnished to the employer, and also applies to all periods and payments thereafter unless
re-examination is required by the certificate. If re-examination is required by the certificate, and: (1) the
date of the required re-examination is prior to the calendar year involved, withholding is required; (2) the
date of the required re-examination is within the calendar year involved, after June 30 and on or before
December 31 of that year, or is after that year, withholding is not required for the period up to and including
December 31 of that year; (3) the date of the required re-examination is within the calendar year involved
and on or before June 30 of that year, withholding is not required until the July 1 status determination date,
but is required thereafter. Although withholding is not required from the wages of a blind, deaf or totally
disabled person if the above required conditions are met, the employer must furnish to the employee and
the Department a Form HW-2 showing the total wages and other required information. The wages of a
blind, deaf or totally disabled person also must be included in the “Total Wages” on Forms HW-14 and
HW-3. The employee must include the wages in their income tax return.

(i) Fees of public officials. Fees, paid by persons other than the government or a government agency, to public

officials for the performance of their duties, such as those paid to notaries and sheriffs. However, the
recipients must include these fees in their income tax return.

() Jurors, witnesses, certain public officials. Per diem amounts, mileage or fees paid to jurors and witnesses,

(k)

or to public officials (such as election officials) rendering a temporary and nonrecurring service or who
serve not more than once a year. Such amounts are includable in the income tax return of the recipient.

Newspaper carriers under 18. Remuneration for services performed by an individual under the age of
eighteen in the delivery or distribution of newspapers or shopping news, not including delivery or
distribution to any point for subsequent delivery or distribution. Though not subject to withholding, the
remuneration must be included in the income tax return of the recipient.
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(I) Sale of newspapers and magazines, certain services. Remuneration for services performed by an

individual in, and at the time of, the sale of newspapers or magazines to ultimate consumers, under an
arrangement under which the individual’s compensation is based on the retention of the excess of the fixed
price at which the newspapers are sold over the amount at which the newspapers or magazines are charged
to the individual, whether or not the individual is guaranteed a minimum amount of compensation for such
service, or is entitled to be credited with the unsold newspapers or magazines turned back. Though not
subject to withholding, such remuneration must be included in the income tax return of the recipient.

(m) Tips or gratuities. Tips or gratuities paid directly to an employee by a customer and not accounted for to

(n)

(0)

(p)

@

(r)

the employer. However, the tips or gratuities must be included in the income tax return of the recipient.

Casual services, not in trade or business. Cash remuneration for services notin the course of the employer’s
trade or business, including domestic services, performed in any calendar quarter by an employee for an
employer. Though not subject to withholding, such remuneration must be included in the income tax return
of the recipient.

However, the remuneration is subject to withholding if:
1) the cash remuneration paid for such service is $50 or more per calendar quarter, and

2) the service is performed by an individual who is regularly employed by such employer to perform such
service.

For purposes of this paragraph, an individual shall be deemed to be regularly employed by an employer during
the calendar quarter only if:

1) on each of some twenty-four days during the quarter, such individual performs for such employer, for
some portion of the day, service not in the course of the employer’s trade or business, or

2) the individual was regularly employed (as determined under clause (1) of this paragraph) by the employer
in the performance of services during the preceding calendar quarter.

Certain crew members. Remuneration for services performed as an officer or member of the crew aboard
a vessel engaged in foreign, interstate, intercoastal, coastwide or noncontiguous trade and remuneration
for services performed as an officer or member of the crew of an airplane traveling between points in the
State and points outside the State. However, taxes may be withheld from the wages of a seaman, who is
employed in the coastwide trade between ports in the State, if the withholding is pursuant to a voluntary
agreement between the seaman and his employer. Though not subject to withholding, officers and crew
members who are residents of the State must include their entire wages in their income tax returns.
Nonresidents must include their wages for services performed in the State in their income tax returns.

Noncash remuneration, not in trade or business. Remuneration for services not in the course of the
employer’s trade or business, including domestic services, to the extent paid in any medium other than
cash. Unless covered by paragraph (f), the fair market value of remuneration must be shown on Form
HW-2 as a separate item, or on separate information return, federal Form N-1099-MISC, and such value
must be included in the income tax return of the recipient.

Expense allowances, etc. Amounts paid specifically, either as advances or reimbursements, for traveling
or other bona fide ordinary and necessary expenses incurred or reasonably expected to be incurred in the
business of the employer. The traveling and other reimbursed expenses, in order to be excluded from
withholding, must be identified either by making a separate payment or by specifically indicating the
separate amounts where ordinary wages and expense allowances are combined in a single payment.
However, the employer is required to show the amount of such advances or reimbursements on Form HW-2
as a separate item, unless the employer requires an accounting by the employee showing that the amount
does not exceed the ordinary and necessary expenses incurred in the business of the employer.

Noncash remuneration, retail salesperson. Noncash remuneration for services performed by a retail
salesperson, where the services are ordinarily performed for commissions in cash. However, the employer
is required to show this remuneration on Form HW-2 as a separate item. The recipient must include
commission income on their income tax return.
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(s) Remuneration for services performed as an employee by a duly ordained, commissioned, or licensed
minister of a church in the exercise of the employee’s ministry or by a member of a religious order
in the exercise of duties required by the order. Although not subject to withholding, remuneration
subject to this paragraph shall be reported on the income tax return as income of the recipient. For purposes
of this paragraph, the term religious order is defined in Internal Revenue Service Procedure 91-20, 1991-1
CB 524.

(t) Other provisions. Hawaii Law does not require withholding on:
— Income excluded from gross income by section 235-7, HRS, or other provisions of chapter 235, HRS.
— Income not subject to taxation by the State under the Constitution and laws of the United States.

— Except as otherwise expressly provided, payments made by the United States or this State, under an
Act of Congress or a law of this State, which by express provisions or administrative regulation or
interpretation are exempt from both the normal and surtaxes of the United States, even though not so
exempted by the Internal Revenue Code itself.

— Any income expressly exempted or excluded from the measure of the tax imposed by chapter 235, HRS,
by any other law of the State, it being the intent of chapter 235, HRS, not to repeal or supersede any
such express exemption or exclusion.

— Any person who claims that payments, not excluded from withholding by paragraphs (a) to (s) above,
are excluded by the statutory provisions in paragraph (t) above, should present the facts to the
Department and request a ruling. The request for ruling should be addressed to:

Department of Taxation
Technical Section

Taxpayer Services Branch

P. O. Box 259

Honolulu, Hawaii 96809-0259

Compensation which is not subject to withholding, but includable in gross income, must be reported on Form
HW-2.

Section 11.— EMPLOYEE’S WITHHOLDING ALLOWANCE AND STATUS CERTIFICATE, FORM HW-4:

Employee Must Furnish You With a Form HW-4 —

On or before commencing employment, the employee must furnish you with a completed and signed Form
HW-4, “Employee’s Withholding Allowance and Status Certificate”. The certificate must show the number of
withholding allowances the employee claims, which must not exceed the number to which the employee is entitled
on the basis of the existing facts. An employee may choose to claim fewer, but not more, allowances than the
employee is entitled to claim. Form HW-4 must show whether the employee is married and entitled to file a joint
Hawaii income tax return. An employee is not considered married if the employee is legally separated from their
spouse under a decree of divorce or separate maintenance, or meets the requirements of Internal Revenue Code
section 7703(b) relating to “Certain Married Individuals Living Apart”. If you believe that an employee has claimed
excess allowances for their situation (generally more than 10) or has misstated their marital status, you should send
a copy of the Form HW-4 for that employee to Tax Assessor in the district tax office where you file your withholding
tax returns. See Tax Information Release No. 95-4 on page 2 for more information.

If an employee does not furnish you with a Form HW-4, you are required to withhold tax as if the employee
was single and had claimed no withholding allowance.

You may use commercially printed forms substantially the same as the Form HW-4. You may not use federal
Form W-4.
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How Many Withholding Allowances May an Employee Claim?

An employee is entitled to the following withholding allowances:
(a) An allowance if no one can claim the employee as a dependent.

(b) An allowance if the employee is single and has only one job or, if married, has only one job and the
employee’s spouse does not work.

(c) An allowance for the employee’s spouse if no one can claim the spouse as a dependent and the spouse is
not claiming a withholding allowance on a Form HW-4.

(d) An allowance for age if the employee is at least 65 years old and no one else can claim the employee as a
dependent. The employee may also claim an additional allowance if the spouse is at least 65 years old, no
one can claim the spouse as a dependent, and the spouse is not claiming an allowance for himself or herself
on a Form HW-4.

(e) An allowance for each dependent for which the taxpayer may claim an exemption on the federal income
tax return.

(f) An additional allowance if the employee has at least $250 of estimated tax credits.

(g) Additional allowances for estimated itemized deductions as determined on the Deductions Worksheet
provided with Form HW-4.

(h) An additional allowance if the employee is filing as head of household for that taxable year.

When Is A New Form HW-4 Recommended or Required?

Instruct each employee that the employee either should or must furnish you with a new certificate (Form HW-4)
showing their present marital status, and number of withholding allowances. The allowances claimed must not
exceed the number of allowances to which the employee is entitled on the basis of the existing facts.

The employee should furnish you with a new certificate at the earliest possible date, if there is a change in the
employee’s marital status and now entitled to file a joint Hawaii Income Tax return or the number of allowances
to which the employee is entitled is greater than the number of allowances claimed by the employee on the certificate
in effect.

The employee must furnish you with a new certificate within 10 days, if there is a change in the employee’s
marital status and the employee is no longer entitled to file a joint Hawaii Income Tax return, or the number of
allowances to which the employee is entitled is less than the number of allowances claimed by the employee on
the certificate in effect. Situations in which the employee must file a new certificate within 10 days include:

(a) When the employee becomes divorced or legally separated.

(b) When the wife or husband, for whom the employee has claimed an allowance, claims an allowance on a
separate certificate.

(c) When the employee no longer expects to furnish more than half the support for the year of a dependent for
whom the employee has claimed an allowance.

(d) When the employee finds that a dependent for whom an allowance was claimed will receive $2,000 (or
the Federal personal exemption amount) or more income, except when the dependent is a student or will
not have attained the age of 19 at the close of the calendar year.

The employee must furnish you with a new certificate on or before December 1 of the year in which the
change occurs when the amount of tax to be withheld is not affected until the next calendar year. If the change
occurs in December, a new certificate must be furnished to you within 10 days of the change. Situations in which
the employee must file a new certificate by December 1 (or within 10 days of a change in December) include:

(a) When the employee’s spouse has died.
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(b) When the employee’s dependent has died.

When Does a Form HW-4 Take Effect?

The certificate furnished by the employee is effective as of the first payroll period ending on or after the date
on which such certificate is furnished. If the wages are paid without regard to a payroll period, the certificate is
effective as of the first payment of wages on or after the date on which it is furnished. The certificate remains in
effect until the employee furnishes you with a new certificate. Refer to section 11, under “When is a New Form
HW-4 Recommended or Required?”.

Note that, by rule, nonresident employees of contractors are excluded from qualifying for an income tax
withholding exemption provided under this section.

When a certificate is furnished to take the place of an existing certificate, it is effective as of the first payment
of wages made on or after the status determination date (January 1 or July 1) which occurs at least 30 days from
the date on which it is furnished. You may elect to make the certificate effective with respect to any payment of
wages made on or after the date on which the certificate is furnished.

For example, if a new certificate is furnished on April 29 or April 30 and the payroll is monthly, payment of
wages being made on the last day of the month, such certificate is effective as of the month of July, but the employer
may, at his election, make it effective as of the month of May or June.

In certain cases a new certificate does not take effect until the next calendar year. Examples are: death of spouse
(unless an additional allowance on account of age has been claimed for the spouse and the age of 65 was not attained
prior to death); death of a dependent.

Section 12. — EMPLOYEE’S STATEMENT CONCERNING NON-RESIDENCE IN THE STATE OF
HAWAIL FORM HW-6: Under Hawaii Law, a nonresident is defined as, “every individual other than a resident”.
A resident is defined as, “(1) every individual domiciled in the State, and (2) every other individual whether
domiciled in the State or not, who resides in the State. To reside in the State means to be in the State for other than
a temporary or transitory purpose. Every individual who is in the State more than two hundred days of the taxable
year in the aggregate shall be presumed to be a resident of the State. This presumption may be overcome by
evidence satisfactory to the Department of Taxation that the individual maintains a permanent place of abode
outside the State and is in the State for a temporary or transitory purpose. No person shall be deemed to have
gained or lost a residence simply because of his or her presence in compliance with military or naval orders of the
United States, or while engaged in aviation or navigation or while a student at any institution of learning.”

In order for an employee to make a showing of nonresidence as required by section 9, the employee must furnish
you with a statement in the form prescribed by the Department (Form HW-6), signed by the employer under the
penalties set forth in section 231-36, HRS. The statement must be furnished to you in triplicate. You must file the
original and duplicate copies in the taxation district in which you file your Form HW-14 return, and give the third
copy to the employee. The Department will return the duplicate copy to you for your records.

If an employee files a Form HW-6 with you, you should treat the form as effective (employee as having shown
that he or she is a nonresident) as of the first payroll period ending (or first payment of wages made without regard
to a payroll period) on or after the date that you file the form with the Department.

You should no longer treat the form as effective if you are notified by the Department that the employee’s
residence status is being investigated. A copy of this notice will be sent by the Department to the employee. Both
you and the employee will be notified of the Department’s decision. If the Department notifies you after the
investigation that the employee is a nonresident, you should thereafter treat the Form HW-6 as effective.

A notice to you from the Department should be effective as of the first payment of wages made on or after the
first day of the calendar month which commences at least 30 days after the notice is given. At your option, notice
may be made effective at an earlier date.
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An employee who, having furnished Form HW-6, thereafter becomes a resident of the State, must notify you
within ten days, that the employee has become a resident of the State. You must inform the Department of the
change, and cease to give effect to the employee’s previous Form HW-6 commencing with the first payment of
wages made on or after the first day of the calendar month which commences at least 30 days after the notice is
given. You may cease to give effect to the HW-6 statement at any earlier time after being notified by the employee.

Section 13. — PAYROLL PERIOD: The following paragraphs discuss payroll periods and how to compute
withholding for these payroll periods.

(a)

A “payroll period” is the period of service for which you ordinarily make a payment of wages to an
employee. A “miscellaneous payroll period” is a payroll period other than a daily, weekly, biweekly (or
other multiple of a week), semimonthly, monthly, quarterly, semiannual, or annual payroll period.

(b) If the employee has a daily payroll period, withholding is based on the daily wage. Use the “Daily Payroll

(©)

Period” table or the “Daily or Miscellaneous Payroll Period” formula method in Part 2 of the Appendix.
In some cases the weekly basis may be used, as discussed in paragraph (d) of this section.

If the employee has a miscellaneous payroll period, or has no payroll period, unless paragraph (d) of this
section applies, you must use the following method to figure withholding:

Determine the number of days (including Sundays and holidays) in the period covered by the wage
payment. If the wages are unrelated to a specific length of time (for example, commissions paid on
completion of a sale), then count the number of days from the date of payment back to the latest of these
three events: (1) the last payment of wages made during the same calendar year, (2) the date employment
commenced if during the same calendar year, or (3) January 1 of the same calendar year. After the number
of days is determined, divide the wages by the number of days to determine the average wage per day.
Compute the withholding on the average wage per day, using the “Daily Payroll Period” table, or the “Daily
or Miscellaneous Payroll Period” formula method in Part 2 the Appendix.

(d) Incases where an employee is paid for a period of less than one week and signs a statement (under penalties

set forth in section 231-36, HRS) that the employee does not work for wages subject to withholding for
any other employer during the same calendar week, then the employer is permitted to compute the
withholding on the basis of a weekly instead of a daily or miscellaneous payroll period. If the employee
later begins work for wages subject to withholding for another employer, the employee must, within ten
days, notify the employer to whom the employee gave the written statement and, thereafter, the employer
must compute the withholding based upon the “Daily or Miscellaneous Payroll Period” table.

(e) If supplemental wages, such as bonuses, commissions, or overtime pay, are paid at the same time as regular

wages, the amount of tax to be withheld shall be determined as if the aggregate of the supplemental and
regular wages were a single wage payment for the regular payroll period. If supplemental wages are paid
at a different time, the employer may determine the amount of tax to be withheld by aggregating the
supplemental wages either with the regular wages for the current payroll period or with the regular wages
for the last preceding payroll period within the same calendar year. If supplemental wages are paid to an
employee during a calendar year for a period which involves two or more consecutive payroll periods for
which other wages also are paid during the same calendar year, at the election of the employer, the amount
of tax to be withheld on the supplemental wages may be computed as follows:

(1) Determine the average wage for each of the payroll periods by dividing the sum of the supplemental
wages and other wages paid for the payroll periods by the number of payroll periods.

(2) Determine the withholding for each payroll period as if the amount of the average wage constituted the
wages paid for such payroll period.

(3) From the sum of the taxes computed on the basis of the average wage per payroll period subtract the
sum of the taxes previously withheld or to be withheld from the wages, other than supplemental wages,
for such payroll periods. The remainder, if any, constitutes the amount of tax to be withheld upon the
supplemental wages by this method.
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Section 14. — FIGURING WITHHOLDING: You should figure withholding on the basis of the Employee’s
Withholding Allowance and Status Certificate in effect (Form HW-4, see section 11), the payroll period (see section
13) and the appropriate withholding tax table or formula method in the Appendix.

The withholding tax tables are contained in part 3 of the Appendix, while the formula method is explained in
parts 1 and 2 of the Appendix. Whether you use the tax tables or the formula method, you should arrive at
substantially the same amount of tax to be withheld. If an employee claims more than 10 allowances, however,
the formula method will provide a more accurate determination of the amount to withhold than the amount obtained
from the tax tables.

If you use the tax tables, be sure to select the correct table according to the employee’s marital status as indicated
on Form HW-4, block 3. Next, determine the amount of tax to be withheld by reading down a column of wage
brackets, and then across to the column headed by the number of withholding allowances claimed by the employee
on their Form HW-4.

If you choose to use the formula method, you may use the annualized method described in part 1 of the Appendix
or the alternative method described in part 2 of the Appendix. The annualized method allows you to determine
the tax to be withheld on the basis of annualized wages. Employers with more than one payroll period may find
the annualized method to be helpful for conserving computer memory capacity, since only the annual rates, wage
brackets, and allowances need to be stored.

The following rules apply whether you use part 1, 2, or 3 of the Appendix to determine the tax to be withheld:
(a) You are not required to withhold tax of less than $.10 from a single wage payment.

(b) You must treat an employee who qualifies as a “Head of Household”, as “Single” for withholding tax
purposes.

(c) If you and the employee agree in writing to withhold an amount more than, but not less than, the amount
required by law, the additional amount of withholding is required by law to be deducted and withheld.

(d) If the payroll period is a multiple of one week other than biweekly, compute the required withholding for
the average wage for one week (or for a biweekly period) and multiply by the number of weeks (or biweekly
periods) in the payroll period. If the payroll period is a quarterly, semiannual or annual period, compute
the required withholding for the average wage for one month and multiply by the number of months in the
payroll period.

Section 15. — FILING THE WITHHOLDING TAX RETURN, Form HW-14:
What to Report —

The “Total Wages Paid” figure should include all wages paid during the period which are subject to withholding,
and wages paid to blind, deaf, or totally disabled persons even though excludable from withholding. Refer to
section 10, paragraph (h). The “Total Taxes Withheld” figure should represent the amount of tax withheld from
the wages paid during the period.

If no wages were paid and no tax withheld, or if you temporarily cease to pay wages, as in the case of a seasonal
business, you must continue to file Form HW-14. Enter the word “None” in the blocks requiring figures for the
“Total Wages Paid”, “Total Taxes Withheld” and the “Total Amount Due”.

If you go out of business, or permanently cease to pay wages, you should write the words “Final Return” on
the face of Form HW-14. Refer to section 4, paragraph (i) for other instructions. Complete Form GEW-TA-RV-1
to cancel the withholding account.

When To File —

Unless you are permitted to file quarterly, you must file Form HW-14 and pay over the taxes withheld to the
Department by the fifteenth day of the calendar month following the month for which the taxes have been withheld.
For example, file and pay by February 15th the taxes withheld in the month of January.
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Any employer with an annual total withholding liability exceeding $100,000 is required to file a return and pay
the tax by electronic funds transfer on or before the tenth day of the calendar month following the month for which
the taxes were withheld. For example, file and pay by February 10th the taxes withheld in the month of January.

If your liability to pay over the taxes withheld does not exceed $1,000 per year, you may file Form HW-14 and
pay over the withheld taxes to the Department by the fifteenth day of the calendar month after the close of each
calendar quarter. For example, file and pay by April 15th the taxes withheld in the first calendar quarter.

If you have been permitted to file returns and make payments on a quarterly basis, and become delinquent in
either filing returns or making payments, the Department may at anytime revoke the permission to file on a quarterly
basis. Instead, you may be required to file returns and make payments by the fifteenth day of the calendar month
after the close of the month in which the liability arose and for which the taxes have been withheld and for each
month thereafter.

If you have been permitted to file returns and make payments on a quarterly basis, but by a change of
circumstances the liability to pay over the taxes withheld exceeds $1,000 per year, you must file returns and make
payments on a monthly basis.

Whenever you make a change from quarterly filing to monthly filing, or vice versa, you must notify the
Department of your intention in writing.

Upon application by an employer, the Director may, if good cause is shown, extend the time for making payment
and filing Form HW-14. The extension may not be more than two months. Application for the extension must be
filed at least ten days before the regular due date. The extension may be requested by submitting a letter stating
the reason for the request.

Where To File —

Y ou must file Form HW-14 and pay over the taxes withheld in the taxation district where you have your principal
place of business (or place where employee services are principally performed if not in your trade or business), or
with the Director of Taxation in the Oahu District Office if you are a nonresident and have no place of business in
the state. Refer to sections 1 and 3 for more information.

How To File —

You should have received a Hawaii Withholding Tax Return booklet containing a set of Form HW-14 monthly
or quarterly withholding tax returns. You must compare your name and Hawaii withholding identification number
assigned to you against all the preprinted forms in the tax return booklet for printing errors. If there are any
irregularities in your printed name or identification number, you must notify the Department (contact your district
office) immediately so that they may be corrected. If you have been regularly filing your withholding tax returns,
your name should be preprinted on the forms in the booklet. However, if you recently applied for a withholding
identification number, or were issued a replacement booklet, your name will not be preprinted on the forms in the
booklet. You should then write your name and Hawaii withholding identification number on all the forms.

If you are filing on a monthly basis, use the booklet Form HW-14 for the month in which the withholding tax
liability accrued. If you are filing on a quarterly basis, use the booklet Form HW-14 for the quarter in which the
withholding tax liability accrued; for example, “Quarter of Jan/Feb/Mar”. Do not combine the reported information
for more than one month if filing monthly, or for more than one quarter if filing quarterly.

Check your return to make sure it is correct. Sign and date your return. Attach your check or money order for
full payment of the taxes withheld. The check or money order must be payable in U. S. dollars and made payable
to the “Hawaii State Tax Collector”. Write your Hawaii withholding identification number on your check or money
order. DO NOT SEND CASH.
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Electronic Media Filing — Use of Computer Printouts, Magnetic Tapes and Other Approved Media —

The requirements for filing Form HW-14 will be satisfied when the information required by the form is
submitted on computer printouts, magnetic tapes, or on other media approved by the Director of Taxation. If you
wish to file under such alternative method, you must first request and receive consent of the Director of Taxation.
Use application Form HW-25, “Request for Agency Withholding and/or Submission of Electronic Media for the
Reporting of Periodic Withholding Taxes”. Since you will be subject to a list of strict and lengthy requirements,
you should consider filing under such method only if your payroll or the payroll of the employers for whom you
are filing as an agent, is voluminous enough to make your effort worthwhile.

To request Form HW-25 and instructions for agent’s filing of Form HW-14 via electronic means, write to:

Department of Taxation

Information Technology Services Office
P. O. Box 259

Honolulu, Hawaii 96809-0259

The Department presently does not allow Electronic media filing of other payroll documents such as Forms
HW-2, “Statement of Hawaii Income Tax Withheld and Wages Paid”. The filing of the periodic withholding tax
returns via electronic means will be forthcoming in calendar year 2001. Please visit our website at
www.state.hi.us/tax/ for updated information on the status of this alternate means of filing your periodic
withholding tax return.

Section 16. — EMPLOYER’S RETURN AND RECONCILIATION OF HAWAII INCOME TAX
WITHHELD FROM WAGES, FORM HW-3:

Note: Wherever Form HW-2 is referred to in this booklet, commercially printed forms or the federal Form W-2
may be substituted, provided all the required information is shown on such substitute form. Refer to section 17
under “What to Report”.

What to Report —

The “Total Wages” figure reported on Form HW-3, line 2, should include COLA (Cost of Living Allowance),
sick pay, and wages paid to a blind, deaf, or totally disabled person. The “Total Wages” figure on Form HW-3
should equal the sum of the “Total Wages” reported on the attached copies of Form HW-2, “Statement of Hawaii
Income Tax Withheld and Wages Paid”. It will not necessarily equal the sum of the “Total Wages Paid” per the
Form HW-14 monthly or quarterly withholding tax returns filed for the same calendar year.

In the spaces provided below line 4 on Form HW-3, you should indicate the amount of Hawaii withholding
taxes which you remitted for each monthly or quarterly return filed. If you have been filing Form HW-14 and
remitting the Hawaii withholding taxes on a quarterly basis, you do not need to fill in the spaces for the months of
January to December. Instead, indicate in the spaces for the “Ist Qtr” through “4th Qtr”, the amount of Hawaii
withholding taxes which you remitted for each quarterly return filed.

When to File —

You must file by the last day of February following the close of the calendar year, Copies 1 and 2 of Form
HW-3, “Employer’s Return and Reconciliation of Hawaii Income tax Withheld from Wages”, along with Copy A
of Forms HW-2, “Statement of Hawaii Income Tax Withheld and Wages Paid”, issued for the preceding calendar
year.

If you go out of business or permanently cease to pay wages, you must file Form HW-3 with accompanying
Forms HW-2 at the same time you file the final Form HW-14, “(Monthly or Quarterly) Withholding Tax Return”.
Complete Form GEW-TA-RV-1 to cancel the withholding account.
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Upon application by an employer, the Director may grant an extension of time (not more than two months) for
the filing of Form HW-3 with accompanying Forms HW-2. Except in a case of termination of business or the like,
application for the extension must be filed on or before the last day of February. File Form HW-26 to request an
extension.

Where to File —

You must file Tax Office Copies 1 and 2 of Form HW-3, along with Copy A of Forms HW-2, and any remittance
in the taxation district where you have your principal place of business (or place where employee services are
principally performed, if not in your trade or business) or with the Director of Taxation in the Oahu District Office,
if you are a nonresident and have no place of business in the State. Refer to sections 1 and 3 for more information.

How to File —

Check your return to make sure your name, identification number and all figures are correct. Sign and date
both Tax Office Copies 1 and 2 of Form HW-3. Attach Copy A of Forms HW-2 issued for the calendar year. If
remittance is required, attach your check or money order payable in U. S. dollars. Make your check or money
order payable to the “Hawaii State Tax Collector”. Write your Hawaii withholding identification number on your
check or money order. DO NOT SEND CASH.

If an employer’s total payroll covers a number of separate units or establishments, the Forms HW-2 may be
assembled accordingly.

Where the number of Forms HW-2 is large, they may be forwarded in packages of convenient size. The
packages should be identified with the employer’s name and Hawaii withholding identification number. The
packages should be consecutively numbered and Form HW-3 placed in package No. 1.

Electronic Media Filing —

The Department presently does not allow electronic media filing of payroll documents other than the Form
HW-14. Refer to section 15 under “Electronic Media Filing”. The filing of the periodic withholding tax returns
via electronic means will be forthcoming in calendar year 2001. Please visit our website at www.state.hi.us/tax/
for updated information on the status of this alternate means of filing your periodic withholding tax return.

Amending the Employer’s Return and Reconciliation of Hawaii Income Tax Withheld from Wages —

If you file Form HW-3, “Employer’s Return and Reconciliation of Hawaii Income Tax Withheld From Wages”
and later discover that you made an error, you should file Form HW-23, “Amended Employer’s Return and
Reconciliation of Hawaii Income Tax Withheld from Wages” to correct that error. File Form HW-23 within 3
years after the date Form HW-3 was due or 3 years after the date it was filed, whichever is later.

If you are using Form HW-23 to transmit corrected Forms HW-2 or to submit additional Forms HW-2 after
you have filed Form HW-3, you must file two copies of Form HW-23 along with Copy A of the corrected Forms
HW-2. Refer to section 17 under “Correcting or Reissuing a Form HW-2".

If you are not required to transmit any Forms HW-2 along with Form HW-23, then file one copy of Form
HW-23 to correct an error made on a previously filed Form HW-3.

Section 17. — STATEMENT OF HAWAII INCOME TAX WITHHELD AND WAGES PAID, FORM
HW-2:

Note: Wherever Form HW-2 is referred to in this booklet, commercially printed forms or the federal Form W-2
may be substituted, provided all the required information is shown on such substitute form. Refer to this section
under “What to Report”.
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Who You Must Furnish a Form HW-2 To —

You must furnish copies B and C of Form HW-2 to every employee (a) upon whose wages deduction and
withholding is required, (b) whose wages are not subject to withholding because of his or her blindness, deafness
or total disability, and (c) to whom wages subject to withholding (or payments under wage continuation plans)
have been paid in any period during the calendar year (or time of employment).

What to Report —

Each Form HW-2 must show the employee’s name, address, and social security number, if any, the employer’s
name, address and Hawaii withholding identification number, the period covered by the statement, the total amount
of wages paid to the employee during the period, the amount of income tax deducted and withheld, if any, and such
other information as the Director may require. Compensation includable in gross income, but not subject to
withholding, must be reported on Form HW-2.

You may use commercially printed forms or the federal Form W-2, provided that all the required information
outlined in the immediately preceding paragraph is included on the form. No Form W-2 will be acceptable to the
Department of Taxation unless the employer’s Hawaii identification number is clearly shown.

The “Total Wages” figure should include COLA (Cost of Living Allowance), wages paid to a blind, deaf, or
totally disabled person, and employer payments of sick pay. If a third-party payor of sick pay has notified you of
the amount of sick pay the employee must include in income, report this amount in the “Total Wages” figure. You
must either include this amount in income along with the employee’s wages, tips and other compensation, or you
may furnish the employee with a separate Form HW-2 for this amount. If you decide to issue a separate Form
HW-2, you must indicate on the form that the amount is for third-party sick pay. If the third-party payor notifies
you of these payments after you have filed your HW-3, an amendment to Form HW-3 must be prepared and filed
on Form HW-23. If the employer and the third-party payor of sick pay have entered into a valid agency agreement,
the third-party payor may issue the HW-2’s (and file the HW-3) in the payor’s name. The same procedures
prescribed for federal reporting may be followed.

If you are required to furnish an employee with a Form HW-2 for any reason stated in (a), (b), or (c) above
under “Who You Must Furnish a Form HW-2 To” and if the employee received noncash remuneration or advances
or reimbursements for expenses, the amount must be separately stated on Form HW-2. Refer to section 10,

paragraphs (p), (q), and (r).

Correcting or Reissuing a Form HW-2 —

If it becomes necessary to correct a Form HW-2 after it has been given to an employee, a corrected statement
must be issued to the employee. Corrected statements should be clearly marked “Corrected by Employer”. In case
a withholding statement is lost or destroyed, a substitute copy clearly marked “Reissued by Employer” should be
furnished to the employee. If you are only correcting the employee’s names or social security numbers, you do
not have to issue a corrected statement. Advise the employee to make the correction on the original HW-2. Note,
however, that if the employee was given a new social security card because of an adjustment to their alien residence
status, and that card shows a different name or social security number than those you showed on a Form HW-2,
file a corrected statement to correct the name and/or social security number.

If you make corrections to a Form HW-2 before you file Form HW-3, “Employer’s Return and Reconciliation
of Hawaii Income Tax Withheld From Wages”, you should submit the Corrected Form HW-2 with Form HW-3.
If you make corrections to a Form HW-2 after you file Form HW-3, you should submit the Corrected Form HW-2
with Form HW-23, “Amended Employer’s Return and Reconciliation of Hawaii Income Tax Withheld from
Wages”. Refer to section 16.
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When to Furnish and File a Form HW-2 —

You must furnish copies B and C of Form HW-2 and any corrected statements to employees by January 31 of
the following calendar year. However, if an employee stops working for you before the end of a calendar year and
is not expected to return to work within such calendar year, the statement must be furnished to the employee within
thirty days after the date you receive a written request from the employee if such thirty-day period ends before
January 31.

Upon application by an employer, the Director may grant an extension of time (not more than two months) for
the furnishing of the withholding statements. Except in a case of termination of employment, application for the
extension must be filed on or before the last day of February.

You must file by the last day of February following the close of the calendar year, Copies 1 and 2 of Form
HW-3 along with Copy A of Forms HW-2 issued for the preceding calendar year. See section 16 under “When to
File”.

Section 18. — RECORDKEEPING REQUIREMENTS: Every employer, who becomes subject to the Hawaii
withholding provisions, is required to keep full, complete, regular and accurate records pertaining to withholding
taxes available for inspection by the Department. The records should include but not be limited to:

(a) Each employee’s name, current address and social security number.
(b) The Form HW-4 and Form HW-6 filed by the employee.
(c) The agreement, if any, between the employer and the employee for withholding additional amounts of tax.

(d) For each payment of remuneration: the date; the amount (including any sum withheld for any reason); the
period of services covered by such payment; the amount of the remuneration which constitute wages subject
to withholding; the amount of tax collected with respect to the remuneration, and if collected at a time other
than the time such payment was made, the date the tax was collected.

(e) The fair market value and date of each payment of non-cash remuneration made to an employee for services
performed as a retail commission salesperson, in which no income tax is withheld.

(f) Copies of any statements furnished by the employee, where tips are received by an employee in the course
of the employee’s occupation, unless the information disclosed by such statements is recorded on another
document retained by the employer.

(g) Records of all remuneration paid to, including tips reported by, employees.
(h) Copies of withholding tax returns filed.

You should keep all documents and evidence having relevancy to the determination of wages or your liability
in respect of wages until the statute of limitations runs out for each tax return. Usually this is three years from the
date the tax return was due or was filed, or two years from the date the tax was paid, whichever is later.

Section 19. — EMPLOYERS ARE LIABLE FOR WITHHELD TAXES: All taxes withheld by an employer
under the withholding law must be held in trust by the employer for the State and for payment to the Department
in the manner and at the time required by law. If an employer fails, neglects, or refuses to deduct and withhold
from the wages paid to an employee or to pay over the amount of tax required, the employer will be liable to pay
the amount of tax to the State. An employer may recover from an employee any amount which the employer should
have withheld but did not withhold from the employee’s wages, if the employer has been required to pay and paid
the amount to the Department out of the employer’s own funds.

In addition to the liability described above, if any employer which is a corporation fails, neglects, or refuses to
deduct and withhold from the wages paid to any employee or to pay over the amount of tax required, any person
or corporate officer, excluding those who have only ministerial duties, who is under a duty to the corporation to
deduct and withhold or pay over the amount of tax required and who willfully fails to perform such duty, will be
liable to the State for the amount of tax. The voluntary or involuntary dissolution of the corporation or the
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withdrawal and surrender of its right to engage in business within the State will not discharge the liability imposed.

Section 20. — EMPLOYERS ARE SUBJECT TO CIVIL PENALTIES (ADDITIONS TO TAXES) FOR
NONCOMPLIANCE WITH THE LAW: There will be added to the amount of the tax required to be paid to
the State:

(a) For failure to file a tax return on time, unless you have been granted an extension of time for filing, and
unless you show that the failure to file is due to reasonable cause and not due to neglect, 5% of the tax for
the first month, with an additional 5% for each additional month or part of a month, not exceeding 25% in
the aggregate.

(b) For failure to pay the tax, if any part of any underpayment is due to negligence or intentional disregard of
rules but without intent to defraud, up to 25% of the underpayment as determined by the Director.

(c) For failure to pay the tax, if any part of any underpayment is due to fraud, up to 50% of the underpayment
as determined by the Director.

(d) For failure to pay the tax after filing a tax return on time, if the tax is not completely paid within 60 days
of the due date, up to 20% of the underpayment as determined by the Director.

On both the tax and the additions to tax described above, you must pay interest at the rate of 2/3 of 1% for each
month or part of a month beginning with the first calendar day following the due date for filing the return, or paying
the tax, until paid.

Section 21. — EMPLOYERS ARE SUBJECT TO CRIMINAL PENALTIES: Employers are liable for
criminal penalties in the following cases:

(a) Any person required to collect, account for, and pay over any withholding tax, who willfully fails to collect
or truthfully account for and pay over such tax, shall, in addition to other penalties provided by law, be
guilty of a class C felony, punishable by a fine of not more than $100,000, imprisonment for not more than
three years, probation, or any combination; provided that a corporation shall not be fined more than
$500,000.

(b) Any person required to furnish a statement to an employee, who willfully furnishes a false or fraudulent
statement or who willfully fails to furnish a statement in the manner, at the time, and showing the
information required, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor, punishable by a fine of not more than $25,000,
imprisonment for not more than one year, probation, or any combination; provided that a corporation shall
be fined not more than $100,000.

(c) Any person required to keep full, complete, regular, and accurate books of account, who willfully fails to
keep such records, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor, punishable by a fine of not more than $25,000,
imprisonment for not more than one year, probation, or any combination; provided that a corporation shall
be fined not more than $100,000.

(d) Any person, who makes a false or fraudulent return or false statement in a return, with intent to defraud
the State or to evade the payment of any tax or any part thereof or who, in any manner, intentionally deceives
or attempts to deceive the Director or the Director’s authorized agent in relation to any tax, shall be guilty
of a class C felony, punishable by a fine of not more than $100,000, imprisonment for not more than three
years, probation, or any combination; provided that a corporation shall not be fined more than $500,000.

Section 22. — EMPLOYEES ARE SUBJECT TO CRIMINAL PENALTIES: You should inform your
employees of the criminal penalty to which an employee is liable if he or she willfully furnishes a false withholding
allowance and status certificate (Form HW-4), or willfully fails to furnish a new certificate when the filing of a
new certificate is required. See section 11, for instructions as to when a new certificate must be filed. Such an
employee will be guilty of a class C felony, punishable by a fine of not more than $100,000, imprisonment for not
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more than three years, probation or any combination.

An employee who furnishes a statement concerning nonresidence (Form HW-6) is subject to a fine of not more
than $100,000, imprisonment for not more than three years, probation, or any combination if by this statement he
or she intentionally deceives or attempts to deceive the Director or the Director’s authorized agent.

Any individual required to supply information to the individual’s employer under the Hawaii withholding tax
law, who willfully supplies false or fraudulent information or who willfully fails to supply information which would
require an increase in the tax to be withheld, will be fined not more than $25,000, imprisoned for not more than
one year, probation, or any combination.

Section 23. — LIST OF TAX FORMS: The forms which are designed and are to be used in carrying out the
provisions of the withholding law, with the exception of the State Basic Business Application, bear the prefix
“GEW-TA-RV” or “HW” as follows:

BB-1
GEW-TA-RV-1
GEW-TA-RV-2
HW-2

HW-3

HW-4
HW-6
HW-14
HW-20
HW-23

HW-25
HW-26

State of Hawaii Basic Business Application

Notification of Cancellation

Change of Address Form

Statement of Hawaii Income Tax Withheld and Wages Paid (See section 17.)

Employer’s Return and Reconciliation of Hawaii Income Tax Withheld from Wages (See
section 16.)

Employee’s Withholding Allowance and Status Certificate (See section 11.)

Employee’s Statement Concerning Non-Residence in the State of Hawaii (See section 12.)
(Monthly or Quarterly) Withholding Tax Return (See section 15.)

Amended (Monthly or Quarterly) Withholding Tax Return

Amended Employer’s Return and Reconciliation of Hawaii Income Tax Withheld From Wages
(See section 16.)

Request for Agency Withholding and/or Submission of Computer Printouts (See section 15.)

Application for Extension of Time to File the Employer’s Return and Reconciliation of Hawaii
Income Tax Withheld from Wages (Form HW-3)(See section 16.)
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STATE OF HAWAII
DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION

APPENDIX I

HAWAII INCOME TAX WITHHOLDING RATES
Effective January 1, 2001
through December 31, 2001

PART 1
ANNUALIZED INCOME TAX WITHHOLDING

PART 2
ALTERNATIVE METHOD OF COMPUTING TAX TO BE WITHHELD
UNLESS THE ANNUALIZED METHOD OR WITHHOLDING TABLES
ARE USED

PART 3
TAX TABLES FOR INCOME TAX WITHHOLDING

Employers using the Tax Tables in
Part 3 of this appendix may disregard the
formula methods shown in Part 1 and Part 2.
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PART 1
ANNUALIZED INCOME TAX WITHHOLDING

Annualized Income Tax Withholding: You may determine the tax to be withheld on the basis of annualized wages (using the tax
computation method for annual payroll periods), then prorate the tax on the basis of the payroll period actually used. Employers
with more than one payroll period (for instance, part-timers paid weekly; full-timers paid semi-monthly) may find this method
helpful for conserving computer memory capacity. Only the annual rates below, wage brackets and allowance values need to be
stored.

Example: An employee who is single and has only one job, is paid $375 a week. He claims three withholding allowances (one
personal exemption, an allowance since he is single and has only one job, and an allowance for his estimated itemized deductions)
on the Employee’s Withholding Allowance and Status Certificate (Form HW-4) on file with you.

1. Multiply weekly wage of $375 x 52 weeks to determine annual wage . . . . . ... ... ... ... $ 19,500.00
2 Subtract withholding allowances ($1,040 X 3) . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. 3,120.00
3. Amount subject to withholding (line I minusline2) . . .. ... ... ... ... . ......... $ 16,380.00
4.  Compute withholding tax on $16,380 using the WITHHOLDING TAX RATES below
for a single person, annual payroll period:
Tax on first $16,000 . . . . . . . $ 928.00
Tax on remaining $380 at 7.6% . . . . . . . . ... 28.88
Annual withholding tax . . . . . . . . . . . . $§ 956.88
5. Compute Weekly withholding tax ($956.88 /52 weeks) . . . . . . .. .. .. .. ... ... ..... $ 18.40
ANNUAL PAYROLL PERIOD

A. SINGLE PERSONS — INCLUDING
UNMARRIED HEADS OF HOUSEHOLD

If the amount of wages

(after subtracting withholding allowances) is: The amount of income tax to be withheld shall be:
Over But not over
$ 0 $ 2,000 e 1.50% of excess over $ 0
$ 2,000 $ 4,000 $  30.00 plus 3.70% of excess over ) 2,000
$ 4,000 $ 8,000 $ 104.00 plus 6.40% of excess over $ 4,000
$ 8,000 $ 12,000 $ 360.00 plus 6.90% of excess over $ 8,000
$ 12,000 $ 16,000 $ 636.00 plus 7.30% of excess over $ 12,000
$ 16,000 .o $ 928.00 plus 7.60% of excess over $ 16,000

B. MARRIED PERSONS

If the amount of wages

(after subtracting withholding allowances) is: The amount of income tax to be withheld shall be:
Over But not over
$ 0 $ 4,000 e 1.50% of excess over $ 0
$ 4,000 $ 8,000 .« .« . . . . $ 60.00plus 3.70% of excess over $ 4,000
$ 8,000 $ 16,000 .« . . . . . $ 208.00plus 6.40% of excess over $ 8,000
$ 16,000 $ 24,000 .« . . . . . $ 1720.00 plus 6.90% of excess over $ 16,000
$ 24,000 $ 32,000 .« . .« . . . $1,272.00 plus 7.30% of excess over $ 24,000
$ 32,000 .. $ 1,856.00 plus 7.60% of excess over $ 32,000
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PART 2

ALTERNATIVE METHOD OF COMPUTING TAX TO BE WITHHELD, UNLESS
THE ANNUALIZED METHOD OR WITHHOLDING TABLES ARE USED.

WEEKLY PAYROLL PERIOD
If the period is weekly, proceed as follows:
Step 1.  Deduct from the total wage for the period an amount for the withholding allowance equal to the number of allowances
claimed times $20.00.

a.  If employee claims no allowance (zero), no deduction is made. The total wage is used in computing the amount
of tax to be withheld.

b.  If employee claims one allowance, deduct $20.00; if two, deduct $40.00; if three, deduct $60.00; and so forth.
(If balance is negative, employee’s wage is fully exempt).

Step 2.  Use the amount of wages arrived at in Step 1 to apply the rates shown in A & B below. If employee is single —
unmarried head of household, A applies; if employee is married, B applies.

A. SINGLE PERSONS — INCLUDING UNMARRIED HEADS OF HOUSEHOLD

If the amount of wages

(after subtracting withholding allowances) is: The amount of income tax to be withheld shall be:
Over But not over
$ 0 $ 38 . . . Lo 1.50% of excess over $ 0
$ 38 $ 77 . $ .57 plus 3.70% of excess over $ 38
$ 77 $ 154 . $ 2.01 plus 6.40% of excess over $ 77
$ 154 $ 231 . $ 6.94 plus 6.90% of excess over $ 154
$ 231 $ 308 . $  12.25 plus 7.30% of excess over $ 231
$ 308 $  17.87 plus 7.60% of excess over $ 308

B. MARRIED PERSONS

If the amount of wages

(after subtracting withholding allowances) is: The amount of income tax to be withheld shall be:
Over But not over
$ 0 $ 77 .. . ... 1.50% of excess over $ 0
$ 77 $ 154 . $ 1.16 plus 3.70% of excess over $ 77
$ 154 $ 308 . $ 4.01 plus 6.40% of excess over $ 154
$ 308 $ 462 . $  13.87 plus 6.90% of excess over $ 308
$ 462 $ 615 . $  24.50 plus 7.30% of excess over $ 462
$ 615 $  35.67 plus 7.60% of excess over $ 615
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BIWEEKLY PAYROLL PERIOD

If the period is biweekly, proceed as follows:

Step 1.  Deduct from the total wage for the period an amount for the withholding allowance equal to the number of allowances
claimed times $40.00.

a.  If employee claims no allowance (zero), no deduction is made. The total wage is used in computing the amount
of tax to be withheld.

b.  If employee claims one allowance, deduct $40.00; if two, deduct $80.00; if three, deduct $120.00; and so forth.
(If balance is negative, employee’s wage is fully exempt).

Step 2.  Use the amount of wages arrived at in Step 1 to apply the rates shown in A & B below. If employee is single —
unmarried head of household, A applies; if employee is married, B applies.

A. SINGLE PERSONS — INCLUDING UNMARRIED HEADS OF HOUSEHOLD

If the amount of wages

(after subtracting withholding allowances) is: The amount of income tax to be withheld shall be:
Over But not over
$ 0 $ 77 . . .. 1.50% of excess over $ 0
$ 77 $ 154 $ 1.16 plus 3.70% of excess over $ 77
$ 154 $ 308 $ 4.01 plus 6.40% of excess over $ 154
$ 308 $ 462 $  13.87 plus 6.90% of excess over $ 308
$ 462 $ 615 $  24.50 plus 7.30% of excess over $ 462
$ 615 . $  35.67 plus 7.60% of excess over $ 615

B. MARRIED PERSONS

If the amount of wages

(after subtracting withholding allowances) is: The amount of income tax to be withheld shall be:
Over But not over
$ 0 $ 154 . .. 0. 1.50% of excess over $ 0
$ 154 $ 308 $ 2.31 plus 3.70% of excess over $ 154
$ 308 $ 615 $ 8.01 plus 6.40% of excess over $ 308
$ 615 $ 923 $  27.66 plus 6.90% of excess over $ 615
$ 923 $ 1,231 $  48.91 plus 7.30% of excess over $ 923
$ 1,231 . . $  71.39 plus 7.60% of excess over $ 1,231
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SEMIMONTHLY PAYROLL PERIOD

If the period is semimonthly, proceed as follows:

Step 1.  Deduct from the total wage for the period an amount for the withholding allowance equal to the number of allowances
claimed times $43.35.

a. If employee claims no allowance (zero), no deduction is made. The total wage is used in computing the amount
of tax to be withheld.

b.  If employee claims one allowance, deduct $43.35; if two, deduct $86.70; if three, deduct $130.05; and so forth.
(If balance is negative, employee’s wage is fully exempt).

Step 2.  Use the amount of wages arrived at in Step 1 to apply the rates shown in A & B below. If employee is single —
unmarried head of household, A applies; if employee is married, B applies.

A. SINGLE PERSONS — INCLUDING UNMARRIED HEADS OF HOUSEHOLD

If the amount of wages

(after subtracting withholding allowances) is: The amount of income tax to be withheld shall be:
Over But not over
$ 0 $ 8 . . . . . .. 1.50% of excess over $ 0
$ 83 $ 167 . $ 1.25 plus 3.70% of excess over $ 83
$ 167 $ 333 . $ 4.36 plus 6.40% of excess over $ 167
$ 333 $ 500 . $  14.98 plus 6.90% of excess over $ 333
$ 500 $ 667 . $  26.50 plus 7.30% of excess over $ 500
$ 667 . $  38.69 plus 7.60% of excess over $ 667

B. MARRIED PERSONS

If the amount of wages

(after subtracting withholding allowances) is: The amount of income tax to be withheld shall be:
Over But not over
$ 0 $ 67 . . . . . . .. 1.50% of excess over $ 0
$ 167 $ 333 . $ 2.51 plus 3.70% of excess over $ 167
$ 333 $ 667 . $ 8.65 plus 6.40% of excess over $ 333
$ 667 $ 1,000 . $  30.03 plus 6.90% of excess over $ 667
$ 1,000 $ 1,333 . $  53.01 plus 7.30% of excess over $ 1,000
$ 1,333 . .. $  77.32 plus 7.60% of excess over $ 1,333
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MONTHLY PAYROLL PERIOD

If the period is monthly, proceed as follows:

Step 1.  Deduct from the total wage for the period an amount for the withholding allowance equal to the number of allowances
claimed times $86.65.

a.  If employee claims no allowance (zero), no deduction is made. The total wage is used in computing the amount
of tax to be withheld.

b.  If employee claims one allowance, deduct $86.65; if two, deduct $173.30; if three, deduct $259.95; and so forth.
(If balance is negative, employee’s wage is fully exempt).

Step 2.  Use the amount of wages arrived at in Step 1 to apply the rates shown in A & B below. If employee is single —
unmarried head of household, A applies; if employee is married, B applies.

A. SINGLE PERSONS — INCLUDING UNMARRIED HEADS OF HOUSEHOLD

If the amount of wages

(after subtracting withholding allowances) is: The amount of income tax to be withheld shall be:
Over But not over
$ 0 $ 67 . . . . . .. 1.50% of excess over $ 0
$ 167 $ 333 $ 2.51 plus 3.70% of excess over $ 167
$ 333 $ 667 $ 8.65 plus 6.40% of excess over $ 333
$ 667 ) 1,000 $  30.03 plus 6.90% of excess over $ 667
$ 1,000 $ 1,333 $  53.01 plus 7.30% of excess over ) 1,000
$ 1,333 . .o $  77.32 plus 7.60% of excess over $ 1,333

B. MARRIED PERSONS

If the amount of wages

(after subtracting withholding allowances) is: The amount of income tax to be withheld shall be:
Over But not over
$ 0 $ 333 . . . . oL 1.50% of excess over $ 0
$ 333 $ 667 $ 5.00 plus 3.70% of excess over $ 333
$ 667 $ 1,333 $ 17.36 plus 6.40% of excess over $ 667
$ 1,333 $ 2,000 $  59.98 plus 6.90% of excess over $ 1,333
$ 2,000 $ 2,667 $ 106.00 plus 7.30% of excess over $ 2,000
$ 2,667 .o $ 154.69 plus 7.60% of excess over $ 2,667
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DAILY OR MISCELLANEOUS PAYROLL PERIOD

If the period is daily or miscellaneous, or if there is no payroll period (refer to section 13) using the daily wage, or the average wage
per day, as instructed, proceed as follows:

Step 1.  Deduct from the total wage for the period an amount for the withholding allowance equal to the number of allowances
claimed times $2.85.

a.  If employee claims no allowance (zero), no deduction is made. The total wage is used in computing the amount
of tax to be withheld.

b. If employee claims one allowance, deduct $2.85; if two, deduct $5.70; if three, deduct $8.55; and so forth. (If
balance is negative, employee’s wage is fully exempt).

Step 2.  Use the amount of wages arrived at in Step 1 to apply the rates shown in A & B below. If employee is single —
unmarried head of household, A applies; if employee is married, B applies.

A. SINGLE PERSONS — INCLUDING UNMARRIED HEADS OF HOUSEHOLD

If the amount of wages

(after subtracting withholding allowances) is: The amount of income tax to be withheld shall be:
Over But not over
$ 0 $ S 1.50% of excess over $ 0
$ 5 $ 11 . $ .08 plus 3.70% of excess over $ 5
$ 11 $ 22 . $ .30 plus 6.40% of excess over $ 11
$ 22 $ 33 . $ 1.00 plus 6.90% of excess over $ 22
$ 33 $ 44 . $ 1.76 plus 7.30% of excess over $ 33
$ 44 $ 2.56 plus 7.60% of excess over $ 44

B. MARRIED PERSONS

If the amount of wages

(after subtracting withholding allowances) is: The amount of income tax to be withheld shall be:
Over But not over
$ 0 $ 8 1.50% of excess over $ 0
$ 11 $ 22 . $ .17 plus 3.70% of excess over $ 11
$ 22 $ 44 $ .58 plus 6.40% of excess over $ 22
$ 44 $ 66 . $ 1.99 plus 6.90% of excess over $ 44
$ 66 $ 88 . $ 3.51 plus 7.30% of excess over $ 66
$ 88 $ 5.12 plus 7.60% of excess over $ 88
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PART 3
TAX TABLES
FOR
INCOME TAX
WITHHOLDING
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Weekly PAYROLL PERIOD
For Calendar Year 2001
Single PERSONS — UNMARRIED Heads of Household

WAGES ARE NUMBER OF WITHHOLDING ALLOWANCES CLAIMED
10
AT LBE%TS 3 4 5 6 ’ or more
LEAST | THAN AMOUNT OF INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD
0 40 0

40 60 1

60 80 2 1

80 100 3 2 1
100 120 4 3 2 1
120 140 5 4 3 2 1
140 160 7 5 4 3 2 1
160 180 8 7 5 4 3 2 1
180 | 200 9 8 7 5 4 3 2 1
200 | 220 11 9 8 7 5 4 3 2 1
220 | 240 12 11 9 8 7 5 4 3 2 1
240 | 260 14 12 11 9 8 7 5 4 3 2 1
260 | 280 15 14 12 11 9 8 7 5 4 3 2
280 | 300 17 15 14 12 11 9 8 7 5 4 3
300 | 320 18 17 15 14 12 11 9 8 7 5 4
320 | 340 20 18 17 15 14 12 11 9 8 7 5
340 | 360 21 20 18 17 15 14 12 11 9 8 7
360 | 380 23 21 20 18 17 15 14 12 11 9 8
380 | 400 24 23 21 20 18 17 15 14 12 11 9
400 | 420 26 24 23 21 20 18 17 15 14 12 11
420 | 440 27 26 24 23 21 20 18 17 15 14 12
440 | 460 29 27 26 24 23 21 20 18 17 15 14
460 | 480 30 29 27 26 24 23 21 20 18 17 15
480 | 500 32 30 29 27 26 24 23 21 20 18 17

7.60% OF EXCESS OVER §$500 PLUS

500 & over 33 32 30 29 27 | 26 | 24 23 21 20 18
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Weekly PAYROLL PERIOD
For Calendar Year 2001
Married PERSONS

WAGES ARE NUMBER OF WITHHOLDING ALLOWANCES CLAIMED
10
ar Bt 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ot e
LEAST | THAN AMOUNT OF INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD
0 40 0

40 60 1

60 80 1 1

80 | 100 2 1 1
100 | 120 2 2 1 1
120 | 140 3 2 2 1 1
140 | 160 4 3 2 2 1 1
160 | 180 5 4 3 2 2 1 1
180 | 200 6 5 4 3 2 2 1 1
200 | 220 8 6 5 4 3 2 2 1 1
220 | 240 9 8 6 5 4 3 2 2 1 1
240 | 260 10 9 8 6 5 4 3 2 2 1 1
260 | 280 11 10 9 8 6 5 4 3 2 2 1
280 | 300 13 11 10 9 8 6 5 4 3 2 2
300 | 320 14 13 11 10 9 8 6 5 4 3 2
320 | 340 15 14 13 11 10 9 8 6 5 4 3
340 | 360 17 15 14 13 11 10 9 8 6 5 4
360 | 380 18 17 15 14 13 11 10 9 8 6 5
380 | 400 20 18 17 15 14 13 11 10 9 8 6
400 | 420 21 20 18 17 15 14 13 11 10 9 8
420 | 440 22 21 20 18 17 15 14 13 11 10 9
440 | 460 24 22 21 20 18 17 15 14 13 11 10
460 | 480 25 24 22 21 20 18 17 15 14 13 11
480 | 500 27 25 24 22 21 20 18 17 15 14 13
500 | 520 28 27 25 24 22 21 20 18 17 15 14
520 | 540 29 28 27 25 24 22 21 20 18 17 15
540 | 560 31 29 28 27 25 24 22 21 20 18 17
560 | 580 32 31 29 28 27 25 24 22 21 20 18
580 | 600 34 32 31 29 28 27 25 24 22 21 20
600 | 620 35 34 32 31 29 28 27 25 24 22 21
620 | 640 37 35 34 32 31 29 28 27 25 24 22
640 | 660 38 37 35 34 32 31 29 28 27 25 24
660 | 680 40 38 37 35 34 32 31 29 28 27 25
680 | 700 41 40 38 37 35 34 32 31 29 28 27
700 | 720 43 41 40 38 37 35 34 32 31 29 28
720 | 740 44 43 41 40 38 37 35 34 32 31 29
740 | 760 46 44 43 41 40 38 37 35 34 32 31
760 | 780 47 46 44 43 41 40 38 37 35 34 32
780 | 800 49 47 46 44 43 41 40 38 37 35 34
800 | 820 50 49 47 46 44 43 41 40 38 37 35
820 | 840 52 50 49 47 46 44 43 41 40 38 37
840 | 860 54 52 50 49 47 46 44 43 41 40 38
860 | 880 55 54 52 50 49 47 46 44 43 41 40
880 | 900 57 55 54 52 50 49 47 46 44 43 41

7.60% OF EXCESS OVER $900 PLUS

900 & over 58 57 55 54 52 | 50 | 49 47 46 44 43
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Biweekly PAYROLL PERIOD

For Calendar Year 2001
Single PERSONS — UNMARRIED Heads of Household

WAGES ARE NUMBER OF WITHHOLDING ALLOWANCES CLAIMED
10
AT LBEUSTS 2 3 4 5 6 7 or more
LEAST | THAN AMOUNT OF INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD
0 40 0
40 60 1
60 80 1
80 | 100 2 1
100 | 120 2 1
120 | 140 3 2 1
140 | 160 4 2 1
160 | 180 5 3 2 1
180 | 200 6 4 2 1
200 | 220 8 5 3 2 1
220 | 240 9 6 4 2 1
240 | 260 10 8 5 3 2 1
260 | 280 11 9 6 4 2 1
280 | 300 13 10 8 5 3 2 1
300 | 320 14 11 9 6 4 2 1
320 | 340 15 13 10 8 5 3 2 1
340 | 360 17 14 11 9 6 4 2 1
360 | 380 18 15 13 10 8 5 3 2 1
380 | 400 20 17 14 11 9 6 4 2 1
400 | 420 21 18 15 13 10 8 5 3 2 1
420 | 440 22 20 17 14 11 9 6 4 2 1
440 | 460 24 21 18 15 13 10 8 5 3 2 1
460 | 480 25 22 20 17 14 11 9 6 4 2 1
480 | 500 27 24 21 18 15 13 10 8 5 3 2
500 | 520 28 25 22 20 17 14 11 9 6 4 2
520 | 540 29 27 24 21 18 15 13 10 8 5 3
540 | 560 31 28 25 22 20 17 14 11 9 6 4
560 | 580 32 29 27 24 21 18 15 13 10 8 5
580 | 600 34 31 28 25 22 20 17 14 11 9 6
600 | 620 35 32 29 27 24 21 18 15 13 10 8
620 | 640 37 34 31 28 25 22 20 17 14 11 9
640 | 660 38 35 32 29 27 24 21 18 15 13 10
660 | 680 40 37 34 31 28 25 22 20 17 14 11
680 | 700 41 38 35 32 29 27 24 21 18 15 13
700 | 720 43 40 37 34 31 28 25 22 20 17 14
720 | 740 44 41 38 35 32 29 27 24 21 18 15
740 | 760 46 43 40 37 34 31 28 25 22 20 17
760 | 780 47 44 41 38 35 32 29 27 24 21 18
780 | 800 49 46 43 40 37 34 31 28 25 22 20
800 | 820 50 47 44 41 38 35 32 29 27 24 21
820 | 840 52 49 46 43 40 37 34 31 28 25 22
840 | 860 54 50 47 44 41 38 35 32 29 27 24
860 | 880 55 52 49 46 43 40 37 34 31 28 25
880 | 900 57 54 50 47 44 41 38 35 32 29 27
900 | 920 58 55 52 49 46 43 40 37 34 31 28
920 | 940 60 57 54 50 47 44 41 38 35 32 29
940 | 960 61 58 55 52 49 46 43 40 37 34 31
960 | 980 63 60 57 54 50 47 44 41 38 35 32
980 | 1,000 64 61 58 55 52 49 46 43 40 37 34
1,000 | 1,020 66 63 60 57 54 50 47 44 41 38 35
7.60% OF EXCESS OVER $1,020 PLUS
1,020 & over 67 64 61 58 55 52 | 49 46 43 40 a7
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Biweekly PAYROLL PERIOD

For Calendar Year 2001

Married PERSONS

WAGES ARE NUMBER OF WITHHOLDING ALLOWANCES CLAIMED
10
AT L?EUSTS 2 3 4 5 6 ’ or more
LEAST THAN AMOUNT OF INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD
0 40 0
40 60 1
60 80 1
80 100 1 1
100 120 2 1
120 140 2 1 1
140 160 2 2 1
160 180 3 2 1 1
180 200 4 2 2 1
200 220 4 3 2 1 1
220 240 5 4 2 2 1
240 260 6 4 3 2 1 1
260 280 7 5 4 2 2 1
280 300 7 6 4 3 2 1 1
300 320 8 7 5 4 2 2 1
320 340 9 7 6 4 3 2 1 1
340 360 11 8 7 5 4 2 2 1
360 380 12 9 7 6 4 3 2 1 1
380 400 13 11 8 7 5 4 2 2 1
400 420 15 12 9 7 6 4 3 2 1 1
420 440 16 13 11 8 7 5 4 2 2 1
440 460 17 15 12 9 7 6 4 3 2 1 1
460 480 18 16 13 11 8 7 5 4 2 2 1
480 500 20 17 15 12 9 7 6 4 3 2 1
500 520 21 18 16 13 11 8 7 5 4 2 2
520 540 22 20 17 15 12 9 7 6 4 3 2
540 560 23 21 18 16 13 11 8 7 5 4 2
560 580 25 22 20 17 15 12 9 7 6 4 3
580 600 26 23 21 18 16 13 11 8 7 5 4
600 620 27 25 22 20 17 15 12 9 7 6 4
620 640 29 26 23 21 18 16 13 11 8 7 5
640 660 30 27 25 22 20 17 15 12 9 7 6
660 680 31 29 26 23 21 18 16 13 11 8 7
680 700 33 30 27 25 22 20 17 15 12 9 7
700 720 34 31 29 26 23 21 18 16 13 11 8
720 740 36 33 30 27 25 22 20 17 15 12 9
740 760 37 34 31 29 26 23 21 18 16 13 11
760 780 38 36 33 30 27 25 22 20 17 15 12
780 800 40 37 34 31 29 26 23 21 18 16 13
800 820 41 38 36 33 30 27 25 22 20 17 15
820 840 42 40 37 34 31 29 26 23 21 18 16
840 860 44 41 38 36 33 30 27 25 22 20 17
860 880 45 42 40 37 34 31 29 26 23 21 18
880 900 47 44 41 38 36 33 30 27 25 22 20
900 920 48 45 42 40 37 34 31 29 26 23 21
920 940 49 47 44 41 38 36 33 30 27 25 22
940 960 51 48 45 42 40 37 34 31 29 26 23
960 980 52 49 47 44 41 38 36 33 30 27 25
980 1,000 54 51 48 45 42 40 37 34 31 29 26
1,000 1,020 55 52 49 47 44 41 38 36 33 30 27
1,020 1,040 57 54 51 48 45 42 40 37 34 31 29
1,040 1,060 58 55 52 49 47 44 41 38 36 33 30
1,060 1,080 60 57 54 51 48 45 42 40 37 34 31
1,080 1,100 61 58 55 52 49 47 44 41 38 36 33
1,100 1,120 63 60 57 54 51 48 45 42 40 37 34
1,120 1,140 64 61 58 55 52 49 47 44 41 38 36
1,140 1,160 65 63 60 57 54 51 48 45 42 40 37
1,160 1,180 67 64 61 58 55 52 49 47 44 41 38
1,180 1,200 68 65 63 60 57 54 51 48 45 42 40
1,200 1,220 70 67 64 61 58 55 52 49 47 44 41
1,220 1,240 71 68 65 63 60 57 54 51 48 45 42
1,240 1,260 73 70 67 64 61 58 55 52 49 47 44
1,260 1,280 74 71 68 65 63 60 57 54 51 48 45




Biweekly PAYROLL PERIOD

For Calendar Year 2001

Married PERSONS

WAGES ARE NUMBER OF WITHHOLDING ALLOWANCES CLAIMED
10
AT I_BEUSTS 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 orme e
LEAST | THAN AMOUNT OF INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD
1,280 | 1,300 76 73 70 67 64 61 58 55 52 49 47
1,300 | 1,320 77 74 71 68 65 63 60 57 54 51 48
1,320 | 1,340 79 76 73 70 67 64 61 58 55 52 49
1,340 | 1,360 80 77 74 71 68 65 63 60 57 54 51
1,360 | 1,380 82 79 76 73 70 67 64 61 58 55 52
1,380 | 1,400 83 80 77 74 71 68 65 63 60 57 54
1,400 | 1,420 85 82 79 76 73 70 67 64 61 58 55
1,420 | 1,440 87 83 80 77 74 71 68 65 63 60 57
1,440 | 1,460 88 85 82 79 76 73 70 67 64 61 58
1,460 | 1,480 90 87 83 80 77 74 71 68 65 63 60
1,480 | 1,500 91 88 85 82 79 76 73 70 67 64 61
1,500 | 1,520 93 90 87 83 80 77 74 71 68 65 63
1,520 | 1,540 94 91 88 85 82 79 76 73 70 67 64
1,540 | 1,560 96 93 90 87 83 80 77 74 71 68 65
1,560 | 1,580 97 94 91 88 85 82 79 76 73 70 67
1,580 | 1,600 99 96 93 90 87 83 80 77 74 71 68
1,600 | 1,620 100 97 94 91 88 85 82 79 76 73 70
1,620 | 1,640 102 99 96 93 90 87 83 80 77 74 71
1,640 | 1,660 103 100 97 94 91 88 85 82 79 76 73
1,660 | 1,680 105 102 99 96 93 90 87 83 80 77 74
1,680 | 1,700 106 103 100 97 94 91 88 85 82 79 76
7.60% OF EXCESS OVER $1,700 PLUS
1,700 & over 108 105 102 99 96 \ 93 \ 90 87 83 80 77
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Semimonthly PAYROLL PERIOD

For Calendar Year 2001
Single PERSONS — UNMARRIED Heads of Household

WAGES ARE NUMBER OF WITHHOLDING ALLOWANCES CLAIMED
10
AT LEI’EUSTS 2 3 4 5 6 ’ or more
LEAST THAN AMOUNT OF INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD
0 40 0
40 60 1
60 80 1
80 100 2 1
100 120 2 1
120 140 3 1 1
140 160 4 2 1
160 180 5 3 1 1
180 200 6 4 2 1
200 220 7 4 3 1 1
220 240 8 6 3 2 1
240 260 10 7 4 3 1
260 280 11 8 5 3 2 1
280 300 12 9 7 4 2 1
300 320 14 11 8 5 3 2 1
320 340 15 12 9 6 4 2 1
340 360 16 13 11 8 5 3 2 1
360 380 18 15 12 9 6 4 2 1
380 400 19 16 13 10 8 5 3 1 1
400 420 20 17 14 12 9 6 4 2 1
420 440 22 19 16 13 10 7 5 3 1 1
440 460 23 20 17 14 11 9 6 4 2 1
460 480 24 21 18 15 13 10 7 4 3 1 1
480 500 26 23 20 17 14 11 8 6 3 2 1
500 520 27 24 21 18 15 12 10 7 4 3 1
520 540 29 26 23 20 17 14 11 8 5 3 2
540 560 30 27 24 21 18 15 12 9 7 4 2
560 580 32 28 25 22 19 16 14 11 8 5 3
580 600 33 30 27 24 21 18 15 12 9 6 4
600 620 35 31 28 25 22 19 16 13 11 8 5
620 640 36 33 30 26 24 21 18 15 12 9 6
640 660 37 34 31 28 25 22 19 16 13 10 8
660 680 39 36 33 29 26 23 20 17 14 12 9
680 700 40 37 34 31 28 25 22 19 16 13 10
700 720 42 39 36 32 29 26 23 20 17 14 11
720 740 43 40 37 34 31 27 24 21 18 15 13
740 760 45 42 38 35 32 29 26 23 20 17 14
760 780 47 43 40 37 34 30 27 24 21 18 15
780 800 48 45 41 38 35 32 29 26 23 20 17
800 820 50 46 43 40 36 33 30 27 24 21 18
820 840 51 48 44 41 38 35 32 28 25 22 19
840 860 53 49 46 43 39 36 33 30 27 24 21
860 880 54 51 48 44 41 38 35 31 28 25 22
880 900 56 52 49 46 42 39 36 33 30 26 24
900 920 57 54 51 47 44 41 37 34 31 28 25
920 940 59 55 52 49 45 42 39 36 33 29 26
940 960 60 57 54 50 47 44 40 37 34 31 28
960 980 62 58 55 52 49 45 42 39 35 32 29
980 1,000 63 60 57 53 50 47 43 40 37 34 31
1,000 1,020 65 61 58 55 52 48 45 42 38 35 32
1,020 1,040 66 63 60 56 53 50 47 43 40 37 34
1,040 1,060 68 65 61 58 55 51 48 45 41 38 35
1,060 1,080 69 66 63 59 56 53 50 46 43 40 36
1,080 1,100 71 68 64 61 58 54 51 48 44 41 38
7.60% OF EXCESS OVER $1,100 PLUS
1,100 & over 72 69 66 62 59 56 ‘ 53 49 46 43 39
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Semimonthly PAYROLL PERIOD

For Calendar Year 2001

Married PERSONS

WAGES ARE NUMBER OF WITHHOLDING ALLOWANCES CLAIMED
10
AT LI?EUSTS 2 3 4 5 6 ’ or more
LEAST THAN AMOUNT OF INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD
0 40 0
40 60 1
60 80 1
80 100 1 1
100 120 2 1
120 140 2 1 1
140 160 2 2 1
160 180 3 2 1 1
180 200 3 2 2 1
200 220 4 2 2 1 1
220 240 5 3 2 1 1
240 260 6 4 2 2 1
260 280 6 5 3 2 1 1
280 300 7 5 4 2 2 1
300 320 8 6 5 3 2 1 1
320 340 9 7 5 4 2 2 1
340 360 10 8 6 4 3 2 1 1
360 380 11 8 7 5 4 2 2 1
380 400 12 10 8 6 4 3 2 1 1
400 420 14 11 8 7 5 3 2 2 1
420 440 15 12 9 7 6 4 3 2 1 1
440 460 16 13 11 8 7 5 3 2 2 1
460 480 17 15 12 9 7 6 4 2 2 1 1
480 500 19 16 13 10 8 6 5 3 2 1 1
500 520 20 17 14 12 9 7 6 4 2 2 1
520 540 21 18 16 13 10 8 6 5 3 2 1
540 560 23 20 17 14 11 9 7 5 4 2 2
560 580 24 21 18 15 13 10 8 6 5 3 2
580 600 25 22 20 17 14 11 9 7 5 4 2
600 620 26 24 21 18 15 13 10 8 6 4 3
620 640 28 25 22 19 17 14 11 8 7 5 4
640 660 29 26 23 21 18 15 12 10 8 6 4
660 680 30 27 25 22 19 16 14 11 8 7 5
680 700 32 29 26 23 20 18 15 12 9 7 6
700 720 33 30 27 24 22 19 16 13 11 8 7
720 740 34 31 29 26 23 20 17 15 12 9 7
740 760 36 33 30 27 24 21 19 16 13 10 8
760 780 37 34 31 28 26 23 20 17 14 12 9
780 800 39 36 33 30 27 24 21 18 16 13 10
800 820 40 37 34 31 28 25 23 20 17 14 11
820 840 41 38 35 32 29 27 24 21 18 15 13
840 860 43 40 37 34 31 28 25 22 20 17 14
860 880 44 41 38 35 32 29 26 24 21 18 15
880 900 45 42 39 36 33 30 28 25 22 19 17
900 920 47 44 41 38 35 32 29 26 23 21 18
920 940 48 45 42 39 36 33 30 27 25 22 19
940 960 50 47 44 41 38 35 32 29 26 23 20
960 980 51 48 45 42 39 36 33 30 27 24 22
980 1,000 52 49 46 43 40 37 34 31 29 26 23
1,000 1,020 54 51 48 45 42 39 36 33 30 27 24
1,020 1,040 55 52 49 46 43 40 37 34 31 28 26
1,040 1,060 57 53 50 47 44 42 39 36 33 30 27
1,060 1,080 58 55 52 49 46 43 40 37 34 31 28
1,080 1,100 60 56 53 50 47 44 41 38 35 32 29
1,100 1,120 61 58 55 52 49 46 43 40 37 34 31
1,120 1,140 63 59 56 53 50 47 44 41 38 35 32
1,140 1,160 64 61 58 54 51 48 45 42 39 36 33
1,160 1,180 65 62 59 56 53 50 47 44 41 38 35
1,180 1,200 67 64 61 57 54 51 48 45 42 39 36
1,200 1,220 68 65 62 59 56 53 50 47 44 41 38
1,220 1,240 70 67 63 60 57 54 51 48 45 42 39
1,240 1,260 71 68 65 62 59 55 52 49 46 43 40
1,260 1,280 73 70 66 63 60 57 54 51 48 45 42




Semimonthly PAYROLL PERIOD

For Calendar Year 2001

Married PERSONS

WAGES ARE NUMBER OF WITHHOLDING ALLOWANCES CLAIMED
10
AT |_E|’EUSTS 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 of more
LEAST | THAN AMOUNT OF INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD
1,280 1,300 74 71 68 65 62 58 55 52 49 46 43
1,300 1,320 76 72 69 66 63 60 57 53 50 47 44
1,320 1,340 77 74 71 68 64 61 58 55 52 49 46
1,340 1,360 79 75 72 69 66 63 60 56 53 50 47
1,360 1,380 80 77 74 71 67 64 61 58 55 52 49
1,380 1,400 82 78 75 72 69 66 62 59 56 53 50
1,400 1,420 83 80 77 73 70 67 64 61 58 54 51
1,420 1,440 85 81 78 75 72 69 65 62 59 56 53
1,440 1,460 86 83 80 76 73 70 67 64 61 57 54
1,460 1,480 88 84 81 78 75 71 68 65 62 59 56
1,480 1,500 89 86 83 79 76 73 70 67 63 60 57
1,500 1,520 91 87 84 81 78 74 71 68 65 62 59
1,520 1,540 92 89 86 82 79 76 73 70 66 63 60
1,540 1,560 94 91 87 84 81 77 74 71 68 65 62
1,560 1,580 95 92 89 85 82 79 76 72 69 66 63
1,580 1,600 97 94 90 87 84 80 77 74 71 68 64
1,600 1,620 98 95 92 88 85 82 79 75 72 69 66
1,620 1,640 100 97 93 90 87 83 80 77 74 71 67
1,640 1,660 101 98 95 92 88 85 82 78 75 72 69
1,660 1,680 103 100 96 93 90 86 83 80 77 73 70
1,680 1,700 104 101 98 95 o1 88 85 81 78 75 72
1,700 1,720 106 103 99 96 93 89 86 83 80 76 73
1,720 1,740 107 104 101 98 94 91 88 84 81 78 75
1,740 1,760 109 106 102 99 96 93 89 86 83 79 76
1,760 1,780 111 107 104 101 97 94 91 87 84 81 78
1,780 1,800 112 109 105 102 99 96 92 89 86 82 79
7.60% OF EXCESS OVER $1,800 PLUS
1,800 & over 114 110 107 104 100 97 ‘ 94 91 87 84 81
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Monthly PAYROLL PERIOD
For Calendar Year 2001
Single PERSONS — UNMARRIED Heads of Household

WAGES ARE NUMBER OF WITHHOLDING ALLOWANCES CLAIMED
10
AT LI?EUSTS 3 4 5 6 ’ or more
LEAST THAN AMOUNT OF INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD
0 40
40 60 1
60 80 1
80 100 1
100 120 2
120 140 2 1
140 160 2 1
160 180 3 1
180 200 3 2
200 220 4 2 1
220 240 5 2 1
240 260 6 2 1
260 280 6 3 1
280 300 7 4 2
300 320 8 5 2 1
320 340 9 5 2 1
340 360 10 6 3 1
360 380 11 7 4 2
380 400 12 8 4 2 1
400 420 14 8 5 2 1
420 440 15 9 6 3 1
440 460 16 11 7 3 2
460 480 17 12 7 4 2 1
480 500 19 13 8 5 2 1
500 520 20 14 9 6 2 1
520 540 21 16 10 6 3 1
540 560 23 17 11 7 4 2
560 580 24 18 13 8 5 2 1
580 600 25 20 14 9 5 2 1
600 620 26 21 15 10 6 3 1
620 640 28 22 17 11 7 4 2
640 660 29 23 18 12 8 4 2 1
660 680 30 25 19 14 8 5 2 1
680 700 32 26 20 15 9 6 3 1
700 720 33 27 22 16 11 7 3 2
720 740 34 29 23 17 12 7 4 2 1
740 760 36 30 24 19 13 8 5 2 1
760 780 37 31 26 20 14 9 6 2 1
780 800 39 33 27 21 16 10 6 3 1
800 820 40 34 28 23 17 11 7 4 2
820 840 41 35 29 24 18 13 8 5 2 1
840 860 43 37 31 25 20 14 9 5 2 1
860 880 44 38 32 26 21 15 10 6 3 1
880 900 45 39 33 28 22 17 11 7 4 2
900 920 47 41 35 29 23 18 12 8 4 2 1
920 940 48 42 36 30 25 19 14 8 5 2 1
940 960 50 44 38 32 26 20 15 9 6 3 1
960 980 51 45 39 33 27 22 16 11 7 3 2
980 1,000 52 46 40 34 29 23 17 12 7 4 2
1,000 1,020 54 48 42 36 30 24 19 13 8 5 2
1,020 1,040 55 49 43 37 31 26 20 14 9 6 2
1,040 1,060 57 50 44 39 33 27 21 16 10 6 3
1,060 1,080 58 52 46 40 34 28 23 17 11 7 4
1,080 1,100 60 53 47 41 35 29 24 18 13 8 5
1,100 1,120 61 55 49 43 37 31 25 20 14 9 5
1,120 1,140 63 56 50 44 38 32 26 21 15 10 6
1,140 1,160 64 58 51 45 39 33 28 22 17 11 7
1,160 1,180 65 59 53 47 41 35 29 23 18 12 8
1,180 1,200 67 61 54 48 42 36 30 25 19 14 8
1,200 1,220 68 62 56 50 44 38 32 26 20 15 9
1,220 1,240 70 63 57 51 45 39 33 27 22 16 11
1,240 1,260 71 65 59 52 46 40 34 29 23 17 12
1,260 1,280 73 66 60 54 48 42 36 30 24 19 13




Monthly PAYROLL PERIOD
For Calendar Year 2001
Single PERSONS — UNMARRIED Heads of Household

WAGES ARE NUMBER OF WITHHOLDING ALLOWANCES CLAIMED
10
AT LI?E%TS 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 of more
LEAST THAN AMOUNT OF INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD
1,280 1,300 74 68 62 55 49 43 37 31 26 20 14
1,300 1,320 76 69 63 57 50 45 39 33 27 21 16
1,320 1,340 77 71 64 58 52 46 40 34 28 23 17
1,340 1,360 79 72 66 60 53 47 41 35 29 24 18
1,360 1,380 80 74 67 61 55 49 43 37 31 25 20
1,380 1,400 82 75 69 63 56 50 44 38 32 26 21
1,400 1,420 83 77 70 64 58 51 45 39 33 28 22
1,420 1,440 85 78 72 65 59 53 47 41 35 29 23
1,440 1,460 86 80 73 67 61 54 48 42 36 30 25
1,460 1,480 88 81 75 68 62 56 50 44 38 32 26
1,480 1,500 89 83 76 70 63 57 51 45 39 33 27
1,500 1,520 91 84 78 71 65 59 52 46 40 34 29
1,520 1,540 92 86 79 73 66 60 54 48 42 36 30
1,540 1,560 94 87 81 74 68 62 55 49 43 37 31
1,560 1,580 95 89 82 76 69 63 57 50 45 39 33
1,580 1,600 97 90 84 77 71 64 58 52 46 40 34
1,600 1,620 98 92 85 79 72 66 60 53 47 41 35
1,620 1,640 100 93 87 80 74 67 61 55 49 43 37
1,640 1,660 101 95 88 82 75 69 63 56 50 44 38
1,660 1,680 103 96 90 83 77 70 64 58 51 45 39
1,680 1,700 104 98 91 85 78 72 65 59 53 47 41
1,700 1,720 106 99 93 86 80 73 67 61 54 48 42
1,720 1,740 107 101 94 88 81 75 68 62 56 50 44
1,740 1,760 109 102 96 89 83 76 70 63 57 51 45
1,760 1,780 111 104 97 91 84 78 71 65 59 52 46
1,780 1,800 112 105 99 92 86 79 73 66 60 54 48
1,800 1,820 114 107 100 94 87 81 74 68 62 55 49
1,820 1,840 115 109 102 95 89 82 76 69 63 57 50
1,840 1,860 117 110 103 97 90 84 77 71 64 58 52
1,860 1,880 118 112 105 98 92 85 79 72 66 60 53
1,880 1,900 120 113 106 100 93 87 80 74 67 61 55
1,900 1,920 121 115 108 101 95 88 82 75 69 63 56
1,920 1,940 123 116 110 103 96 90 83 77 70 64 58
1,940 1,960 124 118 111 104 98 91 85 78 72 65 59
1,960 1,980 126 119 113 106 99 93 86 80 73 67 61
1,980 2,000 127 121 114 107 101 94 88 81 75 68 62
2,000 2,020 129 122 116 109 102 96 89 83 76 70 63
2,020 2,040 130 124 117 111 104 97 91 84 78 71 65
2,040 2,060 132 125 119 112 105 99 92 86 79 73 66
2,060 2,080 133 127 120 114 107 100 94 87 81 74 68
2,080 2,100 135 128 122 115 109 102 95 89 82 76 69
2,100 2,120 136 130 123 117 110 103 97 90 84 77 71
2,120 2,140 138 131 125 118 112 105 98 92 85 79 72
2,140 2,160 139 133 126 120 113 106 100 93 87 80 74
2,160 2,180 141 134 128 121 115 108 101 95 88 82 75
2,180 2,200 142 136 129 123 116 110 103 96 90 83 77
7.60% OF EXCESS OVER $2,200 PLUS
2,200 & over 144 137 131 124 118 111 ‘ 104 98 91 85 78
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Monthly PAYROLL PERIOD

For Calendar Year 2001
Married PERSONS

WAGES ARE NUMBER OF WITHHOLDING ALLOWANCES CLAIMED
10
AT L?EUSTS 3 4 5 6 ’ ° or more
LEAST THAN AMOUNT OF INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD
0 40 0
40 60 1
60 80 1
80 100 1
100 120 2
120 140 2 1
140 160 2 1
160 180 3 1
180 200 3 2
200 220 3 2 1
220 240 3 2 1
240 260 4 2 1
260 280 4 3 1
280 300 4 3 2
300 320 5 3 2 1
320 340 5 4 2 1
340 360 6 4 3 1
360 380 6 4 3 2
380 400 7 5 3 2 1
400 420 8 5 4 2 1
420 440 9 5 4 3 1
440 460 9 6 4 3 2
460 480 10 7 4 3 2 1
480 500 11 8 5 3 2 1
500 520 12 8 5 4 2 1
520 540 12 9 6 4 3 1
540 560 13 10 7 4 3 2
560 580 14 11 7 5 3 2 1
580 600 15 11 8 5 4 2 1
600 620 15 12 9 6 4 3 1
620 640 16 13 10 6 4 3 2
640 660 17 14 10 7 5 3 2 1
660 680 18 14 11 8 5 4 2 1
680 700 19 15 12 9 5 4 3 1
700 720 20 16 13 9 6 4 3 2
720 740 21 16 13 10 7 4 3 2 1
740 760 23 17 14 11 8 5 3 2 1
760 780 24 18 15 12 8 5 4 2 1
780 800 25 20 15 12 9 6 4 3 1
800 820 27 21 16 13 10 7 4 3 2
820 840 28 22 17 14 11 7 5 3 2 1
840 860 29 24 18 15 11 8 5 4 2 1
860 880 30 25 19 15 12 9 6 4 3 1
880 900 32 26 21 16 13 10 6 4 3 2
900 920 33 27 22 17 14 10 7 5 3 2 1
920 940 34 29 23 18 14 11 8 5 4 2 1
940 960 35 30 24 19 15 12 9 5 4 3 1
960 980 37 31 26 20 16 13 9 6 4 3 2
980 1,000 38 32 27 21 16 13 10 7 4 3 2
1,000 1,020 39 34 28 23 17 14 11 8 5 3 2
1,020 1,040 41 35 30 24 18 15 12 8 5 4 2
1,040 1,060 42 36 31 25 20 15 12 9 6 4 3
1,060 1,080 43 38 32 27 21 16 13 10 7 4 3
1,080 1,100 44 39 33 28 22 17 14 11 7 5 3
1,100 1,120 46 40 35 29 24 18 15 11 8 5 4
1,120 1,140 47 41 36 30 25 19 15 12 9 6 4
1,140 1,160 48 43 37 32 26 21 16 13 10 6 4
1,160 1,180 50 44 38 33 27 22 17 14 10 7 5
1,180 1,200 51 45 40 34 29 23 18 14 11 8 5
1,200 1,220 52 47 41 35 30 24 19 15 12 9 5
1,220 1,240 53 48 42 37 31 26 20 16 13 9 6
1,240 1,260 55 49 44 38 32 27 21 16 13 10 7
1,260 1,280 56 50 45 39 34 28 23 17 14 11 8




Monthly PAYROLL PERIOD
For Calendar Year 2001
Married PERSONS

WAGES ARE NUMBER OF WITHHOLDING ALLOWANCES CLAIMED
10
AT LI?E%TS 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 of more
LEAST THAN AMOUNT OF INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD

1,280 1,300 57 52 46 41 35 30 24 18 15 12 8
1,300 1,320 59 53 47 42 36 31 25 20 16 12 9
1,320 1,340 60 54 49 43 38 32 27 21 16 13 10
1,340 1,360 61 56 50 44 39 33 28 22 17 14 11
1,360 1,380 63 57 51 46 40 35 29 24 18 15 11
1,380 1,400 64 58 53 47 41 36 30 25 19 15 12
1,400 1,420 65 59 54 48 43 37 32 26 21 16 13
1,420 1,440 67 61 55 50 44 38 33 27 22 17 14
1,440 1,460 68 62 56 51 45 40 34 29 23 18 14
1,460 1,480 69 63 58 52 47 41 35 30 24 19 15
1,480 1,500 71 65 59 53 48 42 37 31 26 20 16
1,500 1,520 72 66 60 55 49 44 38 32 27 21 16
1,520 1,540 74 68 62 56 50 45 39 34 28 23 17
1,540 1,560 75 69 63 57 52 46 41 35 30 24 18
1,560 1,580 76 70 64 59 53 47 42 36 31 25 20
1,580 1,600 78 72 66 60 54 49 43 38 32 27 21
1,600 1,620 79 73 67 61 56 50 44 39 33 28 22
1,620 1,640 80 74 69 63 57 51 46 40 35 29 24
1,640 1,660 82 76 70 64 58 53 47 41 36 30 25
1,660 1,680 83 77 71 65 59 54 48 43 37 32 26
1,680 1,700 85 79 73 67 61 55 50 44 38 33 27
1,700 1,720 86 80 74 68 62 56 51 45 40 34 29
1,720 1,740 87 81 75 69 63 58 52 47 41 35 30
1,740 1,760 89 83 77 71 65 59 53 48 42 37 31
1,760 1,780 90 84 78 72 66 60 55 49 44 38 32
1,780 1,800 92 86 80 74 68 62 56 50 45 39 34
1,800 1,820 93 87 81 75 69 63 57 52 46 41 35
1,820 1,840 94 88 82 76 70 64 59 53 47 42 36
1,840 1,860 96 90 84 78 72 66 60 54 49 43 38
1,860 1,880 97 91 85 79 73 67 61 56 50 44 39
1,880 1,900 98 92 86 80 74 69 63 57 51 46 40
1,900 1,920 100 94 88 82 76 70 64 58 53 47 41
1,920 1,940 101 95 89 83 77 71 65 59 54 48 43
1,940 1,960 103 97 91 85 79 73 67 61 55 50 44
1,960 1,980 104 98 92 86 80 74 68 62 56 51 45
1,980 2,000 105 99 93 87 81 75 69 63 58 52 47
2,000 2,020 107 101 95 89 83 77 71 65 59 53 48
2,020 2,040 108 102 96 90 84 78 72 66 60 55 49
2,040 2,060 110 103 97 92 86 80 74 68 62 56 50
2,060 2,080 111 105 99 93 87 81 75 69 63 57 52
2,080 2,100 113 106 100 94 88 82 76 70 64 59 53
2,100 2,120 114 108 102 96 90 84 78 72 66 60 54
2,120 2,140 115 109 103 97 o1 85 79 73 67 61 56
2,140 2,160 117 111 104 98 92 86 80 75 69 63 57
2,160 2,180 118 112 106 100 94 88 82 76 70 64 58
2,180 2,200 120 114 107 101 95 89 83 77 71 65 59
2,200 2,220 121 115 109 103 97 91 85 79 73 67 61
2,220 2,240 123 116 110 104 98 92 86 80 74 68 62
2,240 2,260 124 118 112 105 99 93 87 81 75 69 63
2,260 2,280 126 119 113 107 101 95 89 83 77 71 65
2,280 2,300 127 121 115 108 102 96 90 84 78 72 66
2,300 2,320 129 122 116 110 103 97 92 86 80 74 68
2,320 2,340 130 124 117 111 105 99 93 87 81 75 69
2,340 2,360 132 125 119 113 106 100 94 88 82 76 70
2,360 2,380 133 127 120 114 108 102 96 90 84 78 72
2,380 2,400 134 128 122 115 109 103 97 91 85 79 73
2,400 2,420 136 130 123 117 111 104 98 92 86 80 75
2,420 2,440 137 131 125 118 112 106 100 94 88 82 76
2,440 2,460 139 133 126 120 114 107 101 95 89 83 77
2,460 2,480 140 134 128 121 115 109 103 97 91 85 79
2,480 2,500 142 135 129 123 116 110 104 98 92 86 80
2,500 2,520 143 137 131 124 118 112 105 99 93 87 81
2,520 2,540 145 138 132 126 119 113 107 101 95 89 83




Monthly PAYROLL PERIOD
For Calendar Year 2001
Married PERSONS

WAGES ARE NUMBER OF WITHHOLDING ALLOWANCES CLAIMED
10
. I_BEUSTS 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 orho
LEAST | THAN AMOUNT OF INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD
2,540 | 2,560 146 140 133 127 121 115 108 102 96 90 84
2,560 | 2,580 148 141 135 129 122 116 110 103 98 92 86
2,580 | 2,600 149 143 136 130 124 117 111 105 99 93 87
2,600 | 2,620 151 144 138 132 125 119 113 106 100 94 88
2,620 | 2,640 152 146 139 133 127 120 114 108 102 96 90
2,640 | 2,660 153 147 141 134 128 122 115 109 103 97 91
2.660 | 2.680 155 149 142 136 130 123 117 111 104 98 92
2,680 | 2,700 156 150 144 137 131 125 118 112 106 100 94
2,700 | 2,720 158 152 145 139 133 126 120 114 107 101 95
2,720 | 2,740 159 153 147 140 134 128 121 115 109 103 97
2740 | 2,760 161 154 148 142 135 129 123 116 110 104 98
2,760 | 2,780 163 156 150 143 137 131 124 118 112 105 99
2,780 | 2,800 164 157 151 145 138 132 126 119 113 107 101
2,800 | 2,820 166 159 152 146 140 134 127 121 115 108 102
2.820 | 2.840 167 160 154 148 141 135 129 122 116 110 103
2,840 | 2,860 169 162 155 149 143 136 130 124 17 111 105
2,860 | 2,880 170 164 157 151 144 138 132 125 119 113 106
2,880 | 2,900 172 165 158 152 146 139 133 127 120 114 108
2,900 | 2,920 173 167 160 153 147 141 134 128 122 116 109
2,920 | 2,940 175 168 162 155 149 142 136 130 123 117 111
2,940 | 2,960 176 170 163 156 150 144 137 131 125 118 112
2,960 | 2,980 178 171 165 158 152 145 139 133 126 120 114
2.980 | 3.000 179 173 166 159 153 147 140 134 128 121 115
3,000 | 3,020 181 174 168 161 154 148 142 135 129 123 116
3,020 | 3,040 182 176 169 163 156 150 143 137 131 124 118
3,040 | 3,060 184 177 171 164 157 151 145 138 132 126 119
3,060 | 3,080 185 179 172 166 159 152 146 140 134 127 121
3,080 | 3,100 187 180 174 167 160 154 148 141 135 129 122
3,100 | 3,120 188 182 175 169 162 155 149 143 136 130 124
3120 | 3,140 190 183 177 170 164 157 151 144 138 132 125
3.140 | 3.160 191 185 178 172 165 158 152 146 139 133 127
3,160 | 3,180 193 186 180 173 167 160 153 147 141 134 128
3,180 | 3,200 194 188 181 175 168 162 155 149 142 136 130
3,200 | 3,220 196 189 183 176 170 163 156 150 144 137 131
3,220 | 3,240 197 191 184 178 171 165 158 152 145 139 133
3,240 | 3,260 199 192 186 179 173 166 159 153 147 140 134
3,260 | 3,280 201 194 187 181 174 168 161 154 148 142 135
3,280 | 3,300 202 195 189 182 176 169 163 156 150 143 137
3.300 | 3.320 204 197 190 184 177 171 164 157 151 145 138
3,320 | 3,340 205 198 192 185 179 172 166 159 152 146 140
3,340 | 3,360 207 200 193 187 180 174 167 161 154 148 141
3,360 | 3,380 208 202 195 188 182 175 169 162 155 149 143
3,380 | 3,400 210 203 196 190 183 177 170 164 157 151 144
3,400 | 3,420 211 205 198 191 185 178 172 165 158 152 146
3420 | 3,440 213 206 200 193 186 180 173 167 160 153 147
3,440 | 3,460 214 208 201 194 188 181 175 168 162 155 149
3.460 | 3.480 216 209 203 196 189 183 176 170 163 156 150
3,480 | 3,500 217 211 204 197 191 184 178 171 165 158 152
3,500 | 3,520 219 212 206 199 192 186 179 173 166 159 153
3,520 | 3,540 220 214 207 201 194 187 181 174 168 161 154
3,540 | 3,560 222 215 209 202 195 189 182 176 169 163 156
3,560 | 3,580 223 217 210 204 197 190 184 177 171 164 157
3,580 | 3,600 225 218 212 205 198 192 185 179 172 166 159
7.60% OF EXCESS OVER $3,600 PLUS
3,600 & over 226 220 213 207 200 | 193 | 187 180 174 167 161
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Daily PAYROLL PERIOD
For Calendar Year 2001

Single PERSONS — UNMARRIED Heads of Household

WAGES ARE NUMBER OF WITHHOLDING ALLOWANCES CLAIMED
BUT 3 4 5 6 7 10
AT LESS or more
LEAST | THAN AMOUNT OF INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD
0 10 0
10 20 1
20 30 1 1 1 1
30 40 2 2 2 1 1 1 1 1
40 50 3 2 2 2 2 2 1 1 1 1 1
50 60 3 3 3 3 3 2 2 2 2 2 1
60 70 4 4 4 4 3 3 3 3 2 2 2
70 80 5 5 4 4 4 4 4 3 3 3 3
7.60% OF EXCESS OVER $80 PLUS
80 & over 6 5 5 5 5 | 5 | 4 4 4 4 4
Daily PAYROLL PERIOD
For Calendar Year 2001
Married PERSONS
WAGES ARE NUMBER OF WITHHOLDING ALLOWANCES CLAIMED
BUT 3 4 5 6 7 8 10
AT LESS or more
LEAST | THAN AMOUNT OF INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD
0 10 0
10 20 0
20 30 1 1
30 40 1 1 1 1 1 1
40 50 2 2 2 2 1 1 1 1 1
50 60 3 3 2 2 2 2 2 1 1 1 1
60 70 3 3 3 3 3 2 2 2 2 2 2
70 80 4 4 4 4 3 3 3 3 3 2 2
80 90 5 5 4 4 4 4 4 3 3 3 3
90 100 6 5 5 5 5 5 4 4 4 4 4
100 110 6 6 6 6 6 5 5 5 5 4 4
110 120 7 7 7 7 6 6 6 6 5 5 5
120 130 8 8 7 7 7 7 7 6 6 6 6
130 140 9 8 8 8 8 8 7 7 7 7 7
7.60% OF EXCESS OVER $140 PLUS
140 & over 9 9 9 9 9 8 8 8 8 8 7
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