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Reprint of Tax Information Release No. 95-4, issued November 21, 1995
RE: Employee Withholding Certificates

This Tax Information Release reiterates the requirements relating
to Form HW-4, Employee’s Withholding Allowance and Status
Certificate.

Section 235-61, Hawaii Revised Statutes (HRS), provides that on
or before the date of the commencement of employment with an
employer, the employee shall furnish to the employer a completed
and signed certificate (Form HW-4) showing the total number of
withholding allowances being claimed. The number of withholding
allowances, based on the personal exemption(s) and the standard
deduction allowance or itemized deductions the employee claims,
shall not exceed the total number to which the employee is entitled to
claim on the basis of the existing facts. An employee may choose to
claim fewer, but not more, withholding allowances than the
employee is entitled to claim.

There is no provision in Hawaii’s Income Tax Law for an
employee to claim an exempt status for State income tax withholding
notwithstanding the employee’s residency status. If an employee
submits a Form HW-4 claiming to be exempt from State income tax
withholding, the employer is to take the following action:

1. Advise the employee that the Income Tax Law does not
provide an exempt status for Hawaii income tax withholding
and that a Form HW-4 claiming exemption from withholding
is not valid and that a copy of the invalid Form HW-4 will be
sent to the Department of Taxation.

2. Advise the employee that State income taxes will be withheld
from the employee’s salary or wages on the basis of a single
filing status with no withholding allowances.

3. Advise the employee that he or she may be subject to the
criminal penalties enacted by Act 92, Session Laws of Hawaii
(SLH) 1995, for the failure to make or supply a valid Form
HW-4 as required or for submitting a false and fraudulent
Form HW-4.

Act 92, SLH 1995, provides that a person shall be guilty of a
misdemeanor and, upon conviction, be fined up to $25,000 or
imprisoned for up to one year, or both, for wilfully failing to
make a report, supply information required by law, or supply
the information at the time required by law.

Act 92, SLH 1995, also provides that a person shall be guilty
of a class C felony and, upon conviction, be subject to a fine of
up to $100,000 or imprisoned for not more than three years, or
both, for willfully making a false and fraudulent statement
under a tax law. Any person who wilfully aids or assists in,
procures, counsels or advises the preparation or presentation of
a false or fraudulent affidavit or other document, regardless or
whether the falsity or fraud is with or without the knowledge or

consent of the person required to present the document, may
be subject to a fine of $100,000 or imprisoned for not more
than three years, or both.

4. A copy of this Tax Information Release may be provided to
the employee.

5. Send a copy of the employee’s invalid Form HW-4 claiming
exemption from income tax withholding to the Tax Assessor in
the Taxation District in which the employer is located.

6. If an employee is claiming on Form HW-4 more than 10
exemptions or the number of exemptions claimed is not
warranted under the circumstances and it appears to be a
means of having no income tax withheld from wages or salary,
the employer is to send a copy of the employee’s HW-4 to the
Tax Assessor in the Taxation District in which the employer is
located.

It also has come to our attention that certain employees are
improperly claiming to be non-employees. Generally, an employee
is an individual under any contract for hire, express or implied, oral
or written, in which the employer has the power or right to control
and direct the employee in the material details of how the work is to
be performed. An employee includes a person working for a salary
or wages, and an officer of a corporation. Under Internal Revenue
Code Section 3401, relating to definitions for Federal income tax
withholding, which Hawaii follows, the term “employee” also
includes an officer, employee, or elected official of the United States,
a state or any political subdivision, or any agency or instrumentality
thereof.

Employers of individuals claiming non-employee status shall
advise the individual whether he or she is classified as an employee
for Hawaii income tax withholding purposes and, if appropriate, the
employer shall follow the procedures outlined above in numbers 2
and 3.

RAY K. KAMIKAWA
Director of Taxation

HRS Sections explained: HRS Sections 235-61, 231-34, 231-35.

Hawaii Administrative Rule (HAR) explained: HAR 18-235-61-09.
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Reprint of Tax Information Release No. 2004-1, issued December 7, 2004
RE: Act 113, Session Laws of Hawaii 2004, Relating to Income Tax Withholding

On June 10, 2004, the Governor signed H.B. No. 2511, S.D. 1,
C.D. 1, into law as Act 113. Act 113 amended Hawaii’s Income Tax
Law to conform the state withholding tax remittance due date for
employers with an annual state withholding tax liability that exceeds
$40,000, to the semi-weekly remittance due date required under
federal employment tax provisions. Section 231-9.9, Hawaii Revised
Statutes (HRS), was also amended to require the use of electronic
funds transfers (EFT) for semiweekly depositors. The Act became
effective upon approval and applies to payroll periods beginning on
or after December 31, 2004.

Determination of Tax Remittance Frequency

Act 113 does not change the remittance frequency for employers
whose annual state withholding tax liability is:

�Quarterly: less than $5,000 per year, who may continue to
remit and file quarterly; or

�Monthly: $40,000 or less per year, who may continue to
remit and file by the 15th day of the following calendar month.

If an employer’s annual state withholding tax liability exceeds
$40,000, the new semiweekly payment dates shall apply as follows:

�Wednesday: if taxes are withheld from wages paid the
immediately preceding Wednesday, Thursday, or Friday; or

� Friday: if taxes are withheld from wages paid the
immediately preceding Saturday, Sunday, Monday, or
Tuesday.

The Department of Taxation (Department) will require employers
who had withholding tax liabilities in excess of $40,000 in the 2004
tax year to remit taxes on a semiweekly basis for the 2005 tax year.
The Department will not be conforming to the federal four quarter
lookback period under Treas. Reg. § 31.6302-1(b)(4), which
determines the status of an employer as a semiweekly depositor by
aggregating the amounts of taxes reported on the employer’s prior
four quarterly returns.

Administrative Exemption from Required Electronic Filing

With respect to the required payment by EFT, the Department is
committed to ensuring close conformity with the federal tax law and
to limit the burden on taxpayers in complying with Act 113. Thus,
the Department will not require an employer whose withholding
liability exceeds $40,000 (and is, therefore, subject to the new
remittance requirements under Act 113) to pay by EFT if such
employer is not required to also remit their federal employment taxes
electronically via the Electronic Federal Tax Payment System
(EFTPS).

Payments that are not made by EFT must be attached to a
completed Form VP-1 Tax Payment Voucher.

To avoid penalties that may apply to the failure to file by EFT,
employers must provide the Department with some evidence to
indicate that they do not pay their federal employment taxes by the
EFTPS (thus showing that they are not required by the Internal
Revenue Service to pay by EFTPS). Evidence that will be accepted
by the Department as sufficient proof of payment by other than
electronic means shall include a copy of a cancelled check for
payment of federal employment taxes within the calendar year for
which the exemption is being asserted.

Please note that under § 231-9.9, HRS, and the accompanying
administrative rules, taxpayers whose liability for any tax type is

more than $100,000 in any one taxable year shall be required to
participate in the EFT program upon notification by the department
that the taxpayer is required to participate. A taxpayer who is
required to participate shall participate for a minimum of one year.
Electronic payment shall be required to any taxpayer meeting the
$100,000 threshold, notwithstanding the administrative exemption
from EFT requirements in Act 113 described in this Tax Information
Release.

Adoption of the Federal Three-Day Banking Rule

To further conform with the federal remittance dates to ease
compliance for taxpayers, the Department will adhere to the
“Three-Day Banking Rule”, which allows semiweekly depositors
three banking days to make the deposit. See Example (2)(ii) of §
31.6302-1(d), Treas. Reg. In general, if a deposit is required to be
made on a day that is not a banking day, the deposit is deemed timely
if it is made by the close of the next banking day. Saturdays and
Sundays along with federal and state bank holidays are treated as
nonbanking days.

As applied specifically to semiweekly depositors, if any of the
three weekdays after the end of a semiweekly period is a banking
holiday, the employer will have one additional banking day to make
the deposit. For example, if a semiweekly depositor accumulates
taxes for payments made on Friday and the following Monday is not
a banking day, the deposit that is normally due on Wednesday may
be made on Thursday (to allow a total of three banking days to make
the deposit).

Filing Requirements

Periodic withholding tax returns (Form HW-14) will continue to
be filed monthly or quarterly, as applicable. All periodic withholding
returns will be due on the 15th day of the month following the close
of the tax period, including returns filed by employers withholding
more than $100,000 in Hawaii income tax per year.

On a quarterly basis, Federal Form 941, Schedule B, reflecting
Hawaii income tax withheld from employees’ wages, must be
completed by semiweekly depositors and attached to the Form
HW-14 submitted for the last month of the quarter. An employer
filing monthly withholding tax returns, for example, will attach a
completed Form 941, Schedule B, to returns filed for months of
March, June, September, and December.

Current forms and other tax information are available at the
Department’s website at: www.state.hi.us/tax. If you know which
tax form or publication you need, please call the Department’s
request line at 808-587-7572, or toll-free from the neighbor islands
and continental U.S. at 1-800-222-7572. This service is available 24
hours a day, 7 days a week.

KURT KAWAFUCHI
Director of Taxation

HRS Sections Explained: HRS sections 231-9.9 and 235-62.
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FOR FURTHER INFORMATION, SEE THE
HAWAII REVISED STATUTES AND

THE RELATED HAWAII ADMINISTRATIVE RULES OR
CONTACT THE DEPARTMENT'S TAXPAYER SERVICES BRANCH

ALL CHAPTERS AND SECTION REFERENCES NOTED
“SECTION ___ HRS.” REFER TO THE HAWAII REVISED STATUTES.

ALL OTHER SECTION REFERENCES ARE TO SECTIONS
CONTAINED IN THIS BOOKLET

Section 1. — DIRECTORY OF PHONE NUMBERS AND ADDRESSES: The following directory contains the mailing
address for filing Hawaii withholding returns and applications only. The mailing addresses for filing information returns
(federal Forms 1099) can be found in the “Instructions for Form N-196”.

Mailing Address:
Hawaii Department of Taxation

P. O. Box 3827
Honolulu, HI 96812-3827

Oahu District Office
(Honolulu City & County)
Office Location: 830 Punchbowl Street

Taxpayer Services Branch
Honolulu, Oahu

Maui District Office
(Maui & Kalawao Counties)
Office Location: State Office Building

54 S. High Street, #208
Wailuku, Maui

Hawaii District Office
(Hawaii County)
Office Location: State Office Building

75 Aupuni Street, #101
Hilo, Hawaii

Kauai District Office
(Kauai County)
Office Location: State Office Building

3060 Eiwa Street, #105
Lihue, Kauai

NEED MORE INFORMATION? If you have a state tax problem, have a question, or need assistance, contact our Taxpayer
Services Branch at (808) 587-4242 or toll-free 1-800-222-3229.

JUST NEED A TAX FORM? Ask for your form and how to obtain the State Tax CD-ROM order form by mail or fax by
dialing (808) 587-7572 or toll-free 1-800-222-7572.

INTERNET ADDRESS? Tax information and tax forms also are available on the Internet at:

www.hawaii.gov/tax
NEED SPECIAL ASSISTANCE? The Department has Telephone for the Hearing Impaired. You may contact our Taxpayer
Services Branch at:

Regular: (808) 587-1418
Toll-Free: 1-800-887-8974

We want to help, and one phone call saves time, money, and trouble for everyone.

Section 2. — WHEN TO FILE RETURNS: The following is a list of important dates during the year that you should take
note of. When the due date for any document required by Hawaii law falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the
remittance or document is not due until the next succeeding day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday.
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By January 31:
— Give each employee copies B and C of Form HW-2, "Statement of Hawaii Income Tax Withheld and Wages

Paid" (federal form W-2 may be used).

By February 28 (or February 29 in a leap year):
— File Copies 1 and 2 of Form HW-3, "Employer's Annual Return and Reconciliation of Hawaii Income Tax

Withheld from Wages", along with Copy A of Forms HW-2.
— Give the recipients the applicable federal Form 1099. Refer to the Instructions for Form N-196, not included in

this booklet.
— File the State transmittal Form N-196 along with applicable federal Form 1099. Refer to the Instructions for

Form N-196, not included in this booklet.

By the 15th day of the month following the close of your filing period:
— File Form HW-14, "(Monthly or Quarterly) Withholding Tax Return", for the preceding monthly or quarterly

period for which taxes have been withheld.
— For those that pay their withholding tax liability semiweekly, file federal Schedule B (Form 941) (using Hawaii

dates and amounts) and attach the quarterly schedule of payments to the March, June, September, and December
monthly Form HW-14.

When Employment Ends:
— Give each employee copies B and C of Form HW-2 (federal form W-2 may be used). See Section 18, “Statement

of Hawaii Income Tax Withheld and Wages Paid, Form HW-2”.

When the Employer's Obligation to Withhold Taxes Is Terminated Other Than Temporarily:
— File Copies 1 and 2 of Form HW-3 along with Copy A of Forms HW-2 at the same time you file the final Form

HW-14.

Section 3. — DETERMINATION OF TAX REMITTANCE FREQUENCY: Your annual State withholding tax liability
determines when you remit the taxes to the State.

If your annual State withholding tax liability is less than $5,000:
— Remit taxes quarterly, i.e., by the 15th day of the month following the close of the preceding quarterly period.

If your annual State withholding tax liability is $5,000 - $40,000:
— Remit taxes monthly, i.e., by the 15th day of the month following the close of the preceding monthly period.

If your annual State withholding tax liability exceeds $40,000:
— Remit taxes semiweekly as follows:

Wednesday: if taxes are withheld from wages paid the immediately preceding Wednesday, Thursday, or Friday;
or
Friday: if taxes are withheld from wages paid the immediately preceding Saturday, Sunday, Monday, or Tuesday.

— The Department will adhere to the federal "Three-Day Banking Rule", which allows semiweekly depositors three
banking days to make the deposit.

— The Department will not be conforming to the federal four quarter lookback period under Treas. Reg. section
31.6302-1(b)(4), which determines the status of an employer as a semiweekly depositor by aggregating the
amounts of taxes reported on the employer's prior four quarterly returns.

— See Tax Information Release No. 2004-01, RE: Act 113, Session Laws of Hawaii 2004, Relating to Income Tax
Withholding, on page 3 for more information.

Note: If depositing taxes on the same date for different filing periods (i.e., if taxes withheld from wages paid in 2 different
months must be deposited on the same day), you must make 2 separate deposits and properly apply the deposits to the
appropriate filing periods.

Example: Employer pays employees daily. Income tax withheld from wages paid to employees on Wednesday,
Thursday, and Friday must be deposited on the following Wednesday. If the Wednesday and Thursday payroll dates
fall on the last 2 days of June and the Friday payroll date falls on the first day of July, then 2 deposits must be made on
the following Wednesday. One deposit is made for the Wednesday and Thursday payroll dates that fell in June and the
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payment designated to the June filing period. A separate deposit is made for the Friday payroll date that fell in July and
the payment designated to the July filing period.

ELECTRONIC FUNDS TRANSFER (EFT) — Sections 231-9.9 and 235-62(a), HRS, requires those taxpayers whose State
withholding tax liability exceeds $40,000 to pay the tax by EFT on a semiweekly basis.

Note: Administratively, the Department will not require an employer whose withholding liability exceeds $40,000 to pay
by EFT if such employer is not required to also remit their federal employment taxes electronically via the Electronic
Federal Tax Payment System (EFTPS). Semiweekly payments that are not made by EFT must be attached to a completed
Form VP-1, Tax Payment Voucher. To avoid penalties that may apply to the failure to file by EFT, employers must
provide the Department with some evidence to indicate that they do not pay their federal employment taxes by the EFTPS
(thus showing that they are not required by the Internal Revenue Service to pay by EFTPS). See Tax Information Release
No. 2004-01 on page 3 for more information.

Please note that under Section 231-9.9, HRS, and the accompanying administrative rules, taxpayers whose liability for
any tax is more than $100,000 in any one taxable year shall be required to participate in the EFT program upon notification by
the Department that the taxpayer is required to participate. Electronic payment shall be required by any taxpayer meeting the
$100,000 threshold, notwithstanding the administrative exemption from EFT requirements noted above. Any taxpayer who
does not meet the criterion may still voluntarily pay by EFT. For more information on paying taxes by EFT, see Tax
Information Release Nos. 95-6 and 99-1. IMPORTANT! A penalty of 2 percent of the tax due will be assessed if a taxpayer
who is required to make payments by EFT fails to do so. If an EFT payment is dishonored, a $15 service fee will be assessed.

Section 4. WHERE TO FILE: All applications, returns, payments and statements are to be filed with the Hawaii
Department of Taxation, P. O. Box 3827, Honolulu, HI 96812-3827.

Section 5. — EMPLOYER’S DUTIES: The following is a general list of employer’s responsibilities regarding Hawaii
withholding taxes. For further information, you should refer to the sections of this booklet as indicated in the following
paragraphs:

(a)  New Employers — Refer to Section 7.

(b)  Identification Number — Apply for a Hawaii Tax I.D. No. if you do not already have one.  See Section 6.

(c) Form HW-4 — Obtain a Form HW-4, “Employee’s Withholding Allowance and Status Certificate”, from each
employee. Instruct each employee to file a new certificate with you depending on certain events. See section 12 for
situations in which the employee must furnish you with a new certificate.

(d) Withholding Tax — Determine whether withholding is required. See section 10. If withholding is required, compute
the amount of withholding.  See Section 15.

(e) Form HW-14 — File Form HW-14 along with the remittance, if any. See Sections 3, 4, and 16.

(f) Form HW-3 — File Form HW-3 by the last day of February following the close of the calendar year, or when your
obligation to withhold taxes is terminated permanently.  See Sections 3 and 17.

(g) Form HW-2 — Give each employee copies B and C of Form HW-2 (federal form W-2 may be used), by January 31
following the close of the calendar year, or when your employee has terminated employment. See Sections 3 and 18.

(h)  Terminating an Employee — Furnish the employee with copies B and C of Form HW-2.  See Sections 3 and 18.

(i) Going Out of Business or Permanently Ceasing to Pay Wages — File a Final Return for Forms HW-14 and HW-3. See
Sections 3, 4, 16, and 17. File Form GEW-TA-RV-1, “Notification of Cancellation”. Furnish each employee with
copies B and C of Form HW-2.  See Section 18.

(j) Change of Address or Change of Business Name — File Form ITPS-COA, to change your address or Form
GEW-TA-RV-5 to change the business name. Do not file Form GEW-TA-RV-5 for a change of ownership. Instead,
the former business owner must file Form GEW-TA-RV-1, “Notification of Cancellation” to cancel the Hawaii Tax
I.D. No. The new business owner must apply for a new Hawaii Tax I.D. No.

(k) Recordkeeping — Keep full, complete, regular, and accurate accounts pertaining to withholding taxes available for
inspection by the Department.  See Section 19.

Section 6. — EMPLOYER'S HAWAII TAX IDENTIFICATION NUMBER: Each employer must apply for, and will be
assigned, a Hawaii Tax I.D. No. This number must be used on all returns, statements, and applications and in all
correspondence with the Department. Do not confuse your Hawaii Tax I.D. No. with your Federal Employer Identification
Number.

You may apply for a Hawaii Tax I.D. No. and an Unemployment Insurance Account Number by completing application
Form BB-1 and filing it with the Department.  See Section 4.
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You may have only one Hawaii Tax I.D. No., unless the Director of Taxation assigns a further number to a unit of your
business or for services not in the course of your trade or business.

If you acquired your business from another person, do not use the number assigned to your predecessor. Instead, you must
apply for a new Hawaii Tax I.D. No.

Section 7. — INFORMATION FOR NEW EMPLOYERS: The following is a general list of registration requirements for
new employers.  It is intended to be a guide rather than an exclusive list of all registration requirements.

(a) Obtain a Hawaii Tax I.D. No. (refer to Section 6) and an Unemployment Insurance Account Number. You may use
Form BB-1, State of Hawaii Basic Business Application, for this purpose.

(b) Obtain a Federal Employer Identification Number.

(c) Contact the Hawaii Department of Labor and Industrial Relations for information regarding unemployment
insurance, workman’s compensation, temporary disability insurance and prepaid health care.

Section 8. — WHO IS AN EMPLOYER: Under Hawaii Law, an employer is defined as, “(A) the person or government for
whom an individual performs or performed any service, of whatever nature, as the employee of such person or government,
and (B) the person having control of the payment of the wages if the employer, as heretofore defined, does not have control
thereof, and (C) any person subject to the jurisdiction of the State and paying wages on behalf of an employer, as heretofore
defined, if the employer is not subject to the jurisdiction of the State”.

An employer may be an individual, corporation, partnership, trust, estate, joint stock company, national bank, insurance
company, business trust, association, syndicate, group, pool, joint venture, or other unincorporated organization.

The term employer includes the State of Hawaii, each political subdivision of the State, and agencies of the State or a
political subdivision. The term employer includes not only individuals and organizations engaged in trade or business, but
organizations exempt from income tax, such as religious, educational, charitable, and social organizations and societies.

The term employer does not include any government that is not subject to the laws of the State except as, and to the extent
that, it consents to the application of the Hawaii withholding law.

Section 9. — WHO IS AN EMPLOYEE: An employee is an individual who performs services and the relationship with the
person for whom the individual performs such services is the legal relationship of employer and employee. Common law rules
apply. Generally, an employee is subject to the will and control of the employer, both as to what shall be done and how it shall
be done. The employer usually has the right to discharge the employee, furnishes the tools, and the place of work. An
employee may be employed on a full or part-time basis. If the employer-employee relationship exists, it is immaterial that an
employee is designated by the parties as a partner, coadventurer, agent, or independent contractor, or that the compensation is
called fees, charges, commissions, etc. In determining whether the employer-employee relationship exists in a particular case,
all the facts and circumstances must be taken into consideration.

Employees include managers, superintendents, and others exercising supervisory functions, as well as officers of a
corporation, except directors in their capacity as such. Officers and elected officials are considered employees by express
provision of the statute (section 235-61(a)(2), HRS).

Generally, an individual may not be considered an employee if the individual (a) has been and will continue to be free from
control or direction over the performance of the business or services undertaken by such individual, and (b) the business or
services are performed outside of all the places of business of the potential employer, and (c) the individual is customarily
engaged in an independently established trade, occupation, or business of the same nature undertaken for, with, or at the order
of the potential employer.

In general, individuals who are in business for themselves are not employees. These are physicians, lawyers, contractors,
public stenographers and others carrying on an independent trade, business, or profession offering their services to the public.

Insurance agents and solicitors may or may not be employees, depending upon the facts and circumstances.

Section 10. — WHAT IS SUBJECT TO WITHHOLDING: Note, this section should be read in conjunction with
Section 11. An employer making payment of wages to employees must deduct and withhold from such wages, an amount of
tax as provided by the Hawaii withholding law.

Under section 235-61(a)(1), HRS, wages are defined as “wages, commissions, fees, salaries, bonuses, and every and all
other kinds of remuneration for, or compensation attributable to, services performed by an employee for the employee’s
employer, including the cash value of all remuneration paid in any medium other than cash and the cost-of-living allowances
and other payments included in gross income by section 235-7(b), HRS, but excluding income excluded from gross income by
section 235-7, HRS, or other provisions of this chapter”.  Wages may include wages paid to children of a sole proprietor.
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The following guidelines are applicable for determining what wages are subject to withholding.

Withholding is required on:

(a) Wages for services performed in the State. However, withholding is not required on such wages if all the following
conditions are met:
— The employee establishes that the employee is a nonresident in the manner explained in Section 13,
— The employee is performing services in the State for an aggregate of not more than 60 days during the calendar

year,
— The employee is paid for the employee's services in the State from an office outside the State,
— The employee's regular place of employment (where the employee regularly performs services for the employer)

is outside the State, and
— The employer does not reasonably expect the employee to perform services in the State an aggregate of more than

60 days during the calendar year.

If all of the above conditions are met, except for the 60-day requirement, and if the Director of Taxation finds that the
withholding requirement is unduly onerous or impracticable of enforcement, the Director may grant permission to an
employer for exception from the withholding requirement.

Note that employers and employees who are exempt from the withholding provisions, may not be exempt from the
Hawaii Income Tax Law.

(b)  Wages for services performed outside the State if:
— The services are performed by an employee whose regular place of employment for services for the employer, is

in the State, or
— The wages are paid out of an office in the State, or the field office of an employer whose head office is in the State.

Withholding is not required on the wages in paragraph (b) if the employee can show in the manner explained in
Section 13, that he or she is a nonresident.

Where an employee distributes products or provides services and receives compensation consisting of the difference
between the selling price to the customers for the products or services and the price the employee pays the employer, this
amount constitutes “wages” and is subject to withholding. However, the amount identified for expenses, shown by a
statement submitted by the employee (which may include the fair rental value of a truck owned or rented by the employee and
used in performing the services), may be excluded from wages subject to withholding as provided by Section 11, paragraph (q)
of this booklet.

Generally, where wages are paid in property rather than money, the employer should make necessary arrangements to
insure that the required amount of withholding tax is paid to the Department. However, certain noncash remuneration is not
subject to withholding.  Refer to Section 11, paragraphs (p) and (r) of this booklet.

Withholding is required from certain wages not subject to federal withholding such as wages for agricultural labor
and domestic service. (But see Section 11, paragraph (n) of this booklet.)

Vacation allowances and back pay, including retroactive wage increases (but not amounts paid as liquidated damages),
are subject to the withholding and taxed as ordinary wages.

Withholding is required on wages earned by nonresident employees of a construction industry contractor performing
work in Hawaii. The term “qualifying nonresident employee” does not include these employees. Although an employee can
show in the manner explained in Section 13, that he or she is a nonresident, the employer must withhold income taxes on wages
paid to nonresident employees of construction industry contractors when the work is performed for a construction project
located in Hawaii beginning September 20, 1999 and thereafter.

Voluntary withholding agreements may also be entered into between an employee and an employer or third party, such as
an insurance company, to withhold State income taxes from an employee’s sick pay. The same procedure prescribed for
federal withholding may be followed. See also Section 11, paragraph (o) for voluntary agreements between certain crew
members and employers.

The following examples illustrate when withholding is or is not required:
— Employee, a resident of Oregon, is engaged to teach in Hawaii for one summer. Though Employee is a

nonresident, withholding is required on Employee’s wages.
— Employee, a resident of Hawaii, is sent to the mainland for special training. Withholding is required on

Employee’s wages.
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— Employee, a resident of Hawaii, is a promotional sales representative for a mainland manufacturer. He or she has
a home in Honolulu and covers all of the islands. From time to time he or she goes to the mainland to attend sales
conferences.  Withholding is required on Employee’s wages.

— Employee, a resident of California, is brought to the State by a firm having a contract to make a survey for a local
company. The work commences in February and is not completed until June. During this time, Employee makes
a trip back to the mainland for consultations. Withholding is required on wages for the period of service in the
State, but is not required on the wages for the period Employee is outside the State, if there is compliance with
Section 13 of this booklet.

— Employee, a resident of Washington, is hired on the mainland by a company having a construction contract for
work on a Pacific island that is not part of the State of Hawaii. All of Employee’s services are performed on that
island. Withholding is not required on Employee’s wages, if there is compliance with Section 13 of this booklet.
On the other hand, withholding is required on the wages of employees who are Hawaii residents or do not make
the required showing of nonresidence.

— Employee, a resident of Nevada, is hired on the mainland by a construction industry contractor to work in Hawaii
on a federal contract. All of Employee’s services are performed in Hawaii during a period that is less than 60 days
in the aggregate for the calendar year. Withholding is required on any employee of a construction industry
contractor engaged in contracting work in Hawaii regardless of the employee’s state of residency or how long the
employee is in Hawaii.

Section 11. — WHAT IS NOT SUBJECT TO WITHHOLDING: Certain remuneration for or compensation attributable
to services is not subject to withholding because the remuneration is income excluded from gross income by section 235-7,
HRS, or other provisions of the Income Tax Law. The Department has set forth the following cash or noncash payments which
are not subject to withholding:

(a) Retirement system benefits. Rights, benefits and other income under the State retirement system, exempted by
section 88-91, HRS, and comparable rights, benefits and other income under any other public retirement system.

(b) Pensions. Compensation received in the form of a pension for past services.

(c) Social Security and tier 1 railroad retirement benefits.

(d) Employees’ trusts and annuity plans. Payments to, or on behalf of, an employee or the employee’s beneficiary,
from or to a trust which, are exempt from tax at the time of such payment, unless such payment is made to an employee
of the trust as remuneration for services rendered as an employee and not as a beneficiary of the trust; or payments to,
or on behalf of an employee or beneficiary, under or to an annuity plan (i.e., one which at the time of such payment is a
plan described in section 403(a) of the Internal Revenue Code and payments to, or on behalf of, an employee or
beneficiary, under or to a bond purchase plan, which at the time of each payment, is a qualified bond purchase plan
described in section 405(a) of the Internal Revenue Code). Such payments must be included in the income tax returns
of these individuals, unless they are excluded by paragraph (b) or other provisions of the law.

(e) Persons affected with leprosy. Compensation paid to a patient affected with Hansen’s Disease employed by the
State in any hospital, settlement, or place for the treatment of Hansen’s Disease.

(f) Meals and lodging furnished for employer’s convenience. The value of any meals or lodging furnished by the
employer on the business premises or at the place of employment, and for the employer’s convenience. In the case of
lodging, the employee must be required to accept such lodging on the premises as a condition of the employee’s
employment.

(g) Deceased employees. The amounts paid to the estate of a deceased employee, or to beneficiaries of a deceased
employee, for death benefits, or for wages of an employee who dies before the date for payment of the wages.
However, the payments (except the excludable amount of death benefits) must be included in the income tax return of
the estate or beneficiary who acquires the right to receive the amounts by reason of the employee’s death, unless the
payments are wages includable in a taxable period of the deceased.

(h) Blind, deaf or totally disabled persons. Amounts paid to a person who has been certified as blind, deaf or totally
disabled on a form prescribed by the Department. This paragraph applies to the first payroll period ending, or first
payment of wages made without regard to a payroll period, on or after the date when the certificate is furnished to the
employer, and also applies to all periods and payments thereafter unless re-examination is required by the certificate.
If re-examination is required by the certificate, and: (1) the date of the required re-examination is prior to the calendar
year involved, withholding is required; (2) the date of the required re-examination is within the calendar year
involved, after June 30 and on or before December 31 of that year, or is after that year, withholding is not required for
the period up to and including December 31 of that year; (3) the date of the required re-examination is within the
calendar year involved and on or before June 30 of that year, withholding is not required until the July 1 status
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determination date, but is required thereafter. Although withholding is not required from the wages of a blind, deaf or
totally disabled person if the above required conditions are met, the employer must furnish to the employee and the
Department a Form HW-2 showing the total wages and other required information. The wages of a blind, deaf or
totally disabled person also must be included in the “Total Wages” on Forms HW-14 and HW-3. The employee must
include the wages in their income tax return.

(i) Fees of public officials. Fees, paid by persons other than the government or a government agency, to public officials
for the performance of their duties, such as those paid to notaries and sheriffs. However, the recipients must include
these fees in their income tax return.

(j) Jurors, witnesses, certain public officials. Per diem amounts, mileage or fees paid to jurors and witnesses, or to
public officials (such as election officials) rendering a temporary and nonrecurring service or who serve not more
than once a year. Such amounts are includable in the income tax return of the recipient.

(k) Newspaper carriers under 18. Remuneration for services performed by an individual under the age of eighteen in
the delivery or distribution of newspapers or shopping news, not including delivery or distribution to any point for
subsequent delivery or distribution. Though not subject to withholding, the remuneration must be included in the
income tax return of the recipient.

(l) Sale of newspapers and magazines, certain services. Remuneration for services performed by an individual in, and
at the time of, the sale of newspapers or magazines to ultimate consumers, under an arrangement under which the
individual’s compensation is based on the retention of the excess of the fixed price at which the newspapers are sold
over the amount at which the newspapers or magazines are charged to the individual, whether or not the individual is
guaranteed a minimum amount of compensation for such service, or is entitled to be credited with the unsold
newspapers or magazines turned back. Though not subject to withholding, such remuneration must be included in
the income tax return of the recipient.

(m) Tips or gratuities. Tips or gratuities paid directly to an employee by a customer and not accounted for to the
employer.  However, the tips or gratuities must be included in the income tax return of the recipient.

(n) Casual services, not in trade or business. Cash remuneration for services not in the course of the employer’s trade or
business, including domestic services, performed in any calendar quarter by an employee for an employer. Though
not subject to withholding, such remuneration must be included in the income tax return of the recipient.
However, the remuneration is subject to withholding if:
1)  the cash remuneration paid for such service is $50 or more per calendar quarter, and
2) the service is performed by an individual who is regularly employed by such employer to perform such service.
For purposes of this paragraph, an individual shall be deemed to be regularly employed by an employer during the calendar
quarter only if:
1) on each of some twenty-four days during the quarter, such individual performs for such employer, for some portion

of the day, service not in the course of the employer’s trade or business, or
2) the individual was regularly employed (as determined under clause (1) of this paragraph) by the employer in the

performance of services during the preceding calendar quarter.

(o) Certain crew members. Remuneration for services performed as an officer or member of the crew aboard a vessel
engaged in foreign, interstate, intercoastal, coastwide or noncontiguous trade and remuneration for services
performed as an officer or member of the crew of an airplane traveling between points in the State and points outside
the State. However, taxes may be withheld from the wages of a seaman, who is employed in the coastwide trade
between ports in the State, if the withholding is pursuant to a voluntary agreement between the seaman and his
employer. Though not subject to withholding, officers and crew members who are residents of the State must include
their entire wages in their income tax returns. Nonresidents must include their wages for services performed in the
State in their income tax returns.

(p) Noncash remuneration, not in trade or business. Remuneration for services not in the course of the employer’s
trade or business, including domestic services, to the extent paid in any medium other than cash. Unless covered by
paragraph (f), the fair market value of remuneration must be shown on Form HW-2 as a separate item, or on separate
information return, federal Form 1099-MISC, and such value must be included in the income tax return of the
recipient.

(q) Expense allowances, etc. Amounts paid specifically, either as advances or reimbursements, for traveling or other
bona fide ordinary and necessary expenses incurred or reasonably expected to be incurred in the business of the
employer. The traveling and other reimbursed expenses, in order to be excluded from withholding, must be identified
either by making a separate payment or by specifically indicating the separate amounts where ordinary wages and

11



expense allowances are combined in a single payment. However, the employer is required to show the amount of
such advances or reimbursements on Form HW-2 as a separate item, unless the employer requires an accounting by
the employee showing that the amount does not exceed the ordinary and necessary expenses incurred in the business
of the employer.

(r) Noncash remuneration, retail salesperson. Noncash remuneration for services performed by a retail salesperson,
where the services are ordinarily performed for commissions in cash. However, the employer is required to show this
remuneration on Form HW-2 as a separate item. The recipient must include commission income on their income tax
return.

(s) Remuneration for services performed as an employee by a duly ordained, commissioned, or licensed minister
of a church in the exercise of the employee’s ministry or by a member of a religious order in the exercise of
duties required by the order. Although not subject to withholding, remuneration subject to this paragraph shall be
reported on the income tax return as income of the recipient. For purposes of this paragraph, the term religious order
is defined in federal Revenue Procedure 91-20, 1991-1 CB 524.

(t) Other provisions. Hawaii  Law does not require withholding on:
— Income excluded from gross income by section 235-7, HRS, or other provisions of chapter 235, HRS.
— Income not subject to taxation by the State under the Constitution and laws of the United States.
— Except as otherwise expressly provided, payments made by the United States or this State, under an Act of

Congress or a law of this State, which by express provisions or administrative regulation or interpretation are
exempt from both the normal and surtaxes of the United States, even though not so exempted by the Internal
Revenue Code itself.

— Any income expressly exempted or excluded from the measure of the tax imposed by chapter 235, HRS, by any
other law of the State, it being the intent of chapter 235, HRS, not to repeal or supersede any such express
exemption or exclusion.

— Any person who claims that payments, not excluded from withholding by paragraphs (a) to (s) above, are
excluded by the statutory provisions in paragraph (t) above, should present the facts to the Department and
request a ruling.  The request for ruling should be addressed to:

Department of Taxation
Technical Section
P. O. Box 259
Honolulu, Hawaii 96809-0259

Compensation which is not subject to withholding, but includable in gross income, must be reported on Form HW-2.

Section 12. — EMPLOYEE’S WITHHOLDING ALLOWANCE AND STATUS CERTIFICATE, FORM HW-4:

Employee Must Furnish You With a Form HW-4 —

On or before commencing employment, the employee must furnish you with a completed and signed Form HW-4. The
certificate must show the number of withholding allowances the employee claims, which must not exceed the number to
which the employee is entitled on the basis of the existing facts. An employee may choose to claim fewer, but not more,
allowances than the employee is entitled to claim. Form HW-4 must show whether the employee is married and entitled to file
a joint Hawaii income tax return. An employee is not considered married if the employee is legally separated from their spouse
under a decree of divorce or separate maintenance, or meets the requirements of Internal Revenue Code section 7703(b)
relating to “Certain Married Individuals Living Apart”. If you believe that an employee has claimed excess allowances for
their situation (generally more than 10) or has misstated their marital status, you should send a copy of the Form HW-4 for that
employee to Tax Assessor in the district tax office where you file your withholding tax returns. See Tax Information Release
No. 95-4 on page 2 for more information.

If an employee does not furnish you with a Form HW-4, you are required to withhold tax as if the employee was single and
had claimed no withholding allowance.

You may use commercially printed forms substantially the same as the Form HW-4. You may not use federal Form W-4.

How Many Withholding Allowances May an Employee Claim?

An employee is entitled to the following withholding allowances:

(a) An allowance if no one can claim the employee as a dependent.
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(b) An allowance if the employee is single and has only one job or, if married, has only one job and the employee’s spouse
does not work.

(c) An allowance for the employee’s spouse if no one can claim the spouse as a dependent and the spouse is not claiming a
withholding allowance on a Form HW-4.

(d) An allowance for age if the employee is at least 65 years old and no one else can claim the employee as a dependent.
The employee may also claim an additional allowance if the spouse is at least 65 years old, no one can claim the
spouse as a dependent, and the spouse is not claiming an allowance for himself or herself on a Form HW-4.

(e) An allowance for each dependent for which the taxpayer may claim an exemption on the federal income tax return.

(f) An additional allowance if the employee has at least $250 of estimated tax credits.

(g) Additional allowances for estimated itemized deductions as determined on the Deductions Worksheet provided with
Form HW-4.

(h) An additional allowance if the employee is filing as head of household for that taxable year.

When Is A New Form HW-4 Recommended or Required?

Instruct each employee that the employee either should or must furnish you with a new certificate (Form HW-4) showing
their present marital status, and number of withholding allowances. The allowances claimed must not exceed the number of
allowances to which the employee is entitled on the basis of the existing facts.

The employee should furnish you with a new certificate at the earliest possible date, if there is a change in the employee’s
marital status and now entitled to file a joint Hawaii income tax return or the number of allowances to which the employee is
entitled is greater than the number of allowances claimed by the employee on the certificate in effect.

The employee must furnish you with a new certificate within 10 days, if there is a change in the employee’s marital status
and the employee is no longer entitled to file a joint Hawaii income tax return, or the number of allowances to which the
employee is entitled is less than the number of allowances claimed by the employee on the certificate in effect. Situations in
which the employee must file a new certificate within 10 days include:

(a)  When the employee becomes divorced or legally separated.

(b) When the wife or husband, for whom the employee has claimed an allowance, claims an allowance on a separate
certificate.

(c) When the employee finds that a dependent for whom an allowance was claimed no longer qualifies as a dependent.

The employee must furnish you with a new certificate on or before December 1 of the year in which the change occurs
when the amount of tax to be withheld is not affected until the next calendar year. If the change occurs in December, a new
certificate must be furnished to you within 10 days of the change. Situations in which the employee must file a new certificate
by December 1 (or within 10 days of a change in December) include:

(a)  When the employee’s spouse has died.

(b)  When the employee’s dependent has died.

When Does a Form HW-4 Take Effect?

The certificate furnished by the employee is effective as of the first payroll period ending on or after the date on which such
certificate is furnished. If the wages are paid without regard to a payroll period, the certificate is effective as of the first
payment of wages on or after the date on which it is furnished. The certificate remains in effect until the employee furnishes
you with a new certificate.  Refer to Section 12, under “When is a New Form HW-4 Recommended or Required?”.

Note that, by rule, nonresident employees of contractors are excluded from qualifying for an income tax
withholding exemption provided under this section.

When a certificate is furnished to take the place of an existing certificate, it is effective as of the first payment of wages
made on or after the status determination date (January 1 or July 1) which occurs at least 30 days from the date on which it is
furnished. You may elect to make the certificate effective with respect to any payment of wages made on or after the date on
which the certificate is furnished.

For example, if a new certificate is furnished on April 29 or April 30 and the payroll is monthly, payment of wages being
made on the last day of the month, such certificate is effective as of the month of July, but the employer may, at his election,
make it effective as of the month of May or June.
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In certain cases a new certificate does not take effect until the next calendar year. Examples are: death of spouse (unless an
additional allowance on account of age has been claimed for the spouse and the age of 65 was not attained prior to death); death
of a dependent.

Section 13. — EMPLOYEE’S STATEMENT TO EMPLOYER CONCERNING NONRESIDENCE IN THE STATE
OF HAWAII, FORM HW-6: Under Hawaii Law, a nonresident is defined as, “every individual other than a resident”. A
resident is defined as, “(1) every individual domiciled in the State, and (2) every other individual whether domiciled in the
State or not, who resides in the State. To reside in the State means to be in the State for other than a temporary or transitory
purpose. Every individual who is in the State more than two hundred days of the taxable year in the aggregate shall be
presumed to be a resident of the State. This presumption may be overcome by evidence satisfactory to the Department that the
individual maintains a permanent place of abode outside the State and is in the State for a temporary or transitory purpose. No
person shall be deemed to have gained or lost a residence simply because of his or her presence in compliance with military or
naval orders of the United States, or while engaged in aviation or navigation or while a student at any institution of learning.”

In order for an employee to make a showing of nonresidence as required by Section 10, the employee must furnish you
with a statement in the form prescribed by the Department (Form HW-6), signed by the employee under the penalties set forth
in section 231-36, HRS. If the withholding is not required on an employee's wages under item (a) of Section 10, you must file
Form HW-7, "Exemption From Withholding on Nonresident Employee's Wages", along with the original Form HW-6 with
the Department. Keep a copy of your employee's Form HW-6 for your records. If withholding is not required on an
employee's wages under item (b) of Section 10, you do not have to file Form HW-7 with the Department. Withholding is not
required on your employee's wages.  Keep your employee's Form HW-6 for your records.

If an employee files a Form HW-6 with you, you should treat the form as effective (employee as having shown that he or
she is a nonresident) as of the first payroll period ending (or first payment of wages made without regard to a payroll period) on
or after the date that you file Form HW-7 and Form HW-6 with the Department if withholding is not required on an employee's
wages under item (a) of Section 10, or on or after the date that an employee files a Form HW-6 with you if withholding is not
required on an employee's wages under item (b) of Section 10.

You should no longer treat Form HW-6 as effective if you are notified by the Department that the employee’s residence
status is being investigated. A copy of this notice will be sent by the Department to the employee. Both you and the employee
will be notified of the Department’s decision. If the Department notifies you after the investigation that the employee is a
nonresident, you should thereafter treat the Form HW-6 as effective.

A notice to you from the Department should be effective as of the first payment of wages made on or after the first day of
the calendar month which commences at least 30 days after the notice is given. At your option, notice may be made effective at
an earlier date.

An employee who, having furnished Form HW-6, thereafter becomes a resident of the State, must notify you within ten
days, that the employee has become a resident of the State. You must inform the Department of the change, and cease to give
effect to the employee’s previous Form HW-6 commencing with the first payment of wages made on or after the first day of the
calendar month which commences at least 30 days after the notice is given. You may cease to give effect to the HW-6
statement at any earlier time after being notified by the employee.

Section 14. — PAYROLL PERIOD: The following paragraphs discuss payroll periods and how to compute withholding for
these payroll periods.

(a) A “payroll period” is the period of service for which you ordinarily make a payment of wages to an employee. A
“miscellaneous payroll period” is a payroll period other than a daily, weekly, biweekly (or other multiple of a week),
semimonthly, monthly, quarterly, semiannual, or annual payroll period.

(b) If the employee has a daily payroll period, withholding is based on the daily wage. Use the “Daily Payroll Period”
table or the “Daily or Miscellaneous Payroll Period” formula method in Part 2 of the Appendix. In some cases the
weekly basis may be used, as discussed in paragraph (d) of this section.

(c) If the employee has a miscellaneous payroll period, or has no payroll period, unless paragraph (d) of this section
applies, you must use the following method to figure withholding:

Determine the number of days (including Sundays and holidays) in the period covered by the wage payment. If the
wages are unrelated to a specific length of time (for example, commissions paid on completion of a sale), then count
the number of days from the date of payment back to the latest of these three events: (1) the last payment of wages
made during the same calendar year, (2) the date employment commenced if during the same calendar year, or (3)
January 1 of the same calendar year. After the number of days is determined, divide the wages by the number of days
to determine the average wage per day. Compute the withholding on the average wage per day, using the “Daily
Payroll Period” table, or the “Daily or Miscellaneous Payroll Period” formula method in Part 2 the Appendix.
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(d) In cases where an employee is paid for a period of less than one week and signs a statement (under penalties set forth in
section 231-36, HRS) that the employee does not work for wages subject to withholding for any other employer
during the same calendar week, then the employer is permitted to compute the withholding on the basis of a weekly
instead of a daily or miscellaneous payroll period. If the employee later begins work for wages subject to withholding
for another employer, the employee must, within ten days, notify the employer to whom the employee gave the
written statement and, thereafter, the employer must compute the withholding based upon the “Daily or
Miscellaneous Payroll Period” table.

(e) If supplemental wages, such as bonuses, commissions, or overtime pay, are paid at the same time as regular wages, the
amount of tax to be withheld shall be determined as if the aggregate of the supplemental and regular wages were a
single wage payment for the regular payroll period. If supplemental wages are paid at a different time, the employer
may determine the amount of tax to be withheld by aggregating the supplemental wages either with the regular wages
for the current payroll period or with the regular wages for the last preceding payroll period within the same calendar
year. If supplemental wages are paid to an employee during a calendar year for a period which involves two or more
consecutive payroll periods for which other wages also are paid during the same calendar year, at the election of the
employer, the amount of tax to be withheld on the supplemental wages may be computed as follows:
(1) Determine the average wage for each of the payroll periods by dividing the sum of the supplemental wages and

other wages paid for the payroll periods by the number of payroll periods.
(2) Determine the withholding for each payroll period as if the amount of the average wage constituted the wages paid

for such payroll period.
(3) From the sum of the taxes computed on the basis of the average wage per payroll period subtract the sum of the

taxes previously withheld or to be withheld from the wages, other than supplemental wages, for such payroll
periods. The remainder, if any, constitutes the amount of tax to be withheld upon the supplemental wages by this
method.

Section 15. — FIGURING WITHHOLDING: You should figure withholding on the basis of the employee’s Form HW-4
in effect ( see Section 12), the payroll period (see Section 14) and the appropriate withholding tax table or formula method in
the Appendix.

The withholding tax tables are contained in part 3 of the Appendix, while the formula method is explained in Parts 1 and 2
of the Appendix. Whether you use the tax tables or the formula method, you should arrive at substantially the same amount of
tax to be withheld. If an employee claims more than 10 allowances, however, the formula method will provide a more accurate
determination of the amount to withhold than the amount obtained from the tax tables.

If you use the tax tables, be sure to select the correct table according to the employee’s marital status as indicated on Form
HW-4, block 3. Next, determine the amount of tax to be withheld by reading down a column of wage brackets, and then across
to the column headed by the number of withholding allowances claimed by the employee on their Form HW-4.

If you choose to use the formula method, you may use the annualized method described in part 1 of the Appendix or the
alternative method described in part 2 of the Appendix. The annualized method allows you to determine the tax to be withheld
on the basis of annualized wages. Employers with more than one payroll period may find the annualized method to be helpful
for conserving computer memory capacity, since only the annual rates, wage brackets, and allowances need to be stored.

The following rules apply whether you use Part 1, 2, or 3 of the Appendix to determine the tax to be withheld:

(a)  You are not required to withhold tax of less than $.10 from a single wage payment.

(b)  You must treat an employee who qualifies as a “Head of Household”, as “Single” for withholding tax purposes.

(c) If you and the employee agree in writing to withhold an amount more than, but not less than, the amount required by
law, the additional amount of withholding is required by law to be deducted and withheld.

(d) If the payroll period is a multiple of one week other than biweekly, compute the required withholding for the average
wage for one week (or for a biweekly period) and multiply by the number of weeks (or biweekly periods) in the
payroll period. If the payroll period is a quarterly, semiannual or annual period, compute the required withholding for
the average wage for one month and multiply by the number of months in the payroll period.

Section 16. — FILING THE WITHHOLDING TAX RETURN, FORM HW-14:
What to Report —

The “Total Wages Paid” figure should include all wages paid during the period which are subject to withholding, and
wages paid to blind, deaf, or totally disabled persons even though excludable from withholding. Refer to Section 11,
paragraph (h). The “Total Taxes Withheld” figure should represent the amount of tax withheld from the wages paid during the
period.
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If no wages were paid and no tax withheld, or if you temporarily cease to pay wages, as in the case of a seasonal business,
you must continue to file Form HW-14. Enter the word “None” in the blocks requiring figures for the “Total Wages Paid”,
“Total Taxes Withheld” and the “Amount of Payment”.

If you go out of business, or permanently cease to pay wages, you should write the words “Final Return” on the face of
Form HW-14. Refer to Section 5, paragraph (i) for other instructions. Complete Form GEW-TA-RV-1 to cancel the
withholding account.

When To File —

Refer to Sections 2 and 3 on when you must file Form HW-14 and pay over the taxes withheld to the Hawaii Department of
Taxation.

If you have been permitted to file returns and make payments on a quarterly basis, and become delinquent in either filing
returns or making payments, the Department may at anytime revoke the permission to file on a quarterly basis. Instead, you
may be required to file returns and make payments by the fifteenth day of the calendar month after the close of the month in
which the liability arose and for which the taxes have been withheld and for each month thereafter.

If you have been permitted to file returns and make payments on a quarterly basis, but by a change of circumstances the
liability to pay over the taxes withheld exceeds $5,000 per year, you must file returns and make payments on a monthly basis.

Whenever you make a change from quarterly filing to monthly filing, or vice versa, you must notify the Department of
your intention in writing.

Upon application by an employer, the Director may, if good cause is shown, extend the time for making payment and
filing Form HW-14 (note, this does not apply to those making semiweekly payments). The extension may not be more than
two months. Application for the extension must be filed at least ten days before the regular due date. The extension may be
requested by submitting a letter stating the reason for the request.

Where To File —

You must file Form HW-14 and pay over the taxes withheld to the Hawaii Department of Taxation. Refer to Section 4 for
more information.

How To File —

You should have received a Hawaii Withholding Tax Return booklet containing a set of Form HW-14 monthly or
quarterly withholding tax returns. You must compare your name and Hawaii Tax I.D. No. assigned to you against all the
preprinted forms in the tax return booklet for printing errors. If there are any irregularities in your printed name or
identification number, you must notify the Department immediately so that they may be corrected. If you have been regularly
filing your withholding tax returns, your name should be preprinted on the forms in the booklet. However, if you recently
applied for a Hawaii Tax I.D. No., or were issued a replacement booklet, your name will not be preprinted on the forms in the
booklet.  You should then write your name and Hawaii Tax I.D. No. on all the forms.

If you are filing on a monthly basis, use the booklet Form HW-14 for the month in which the withholding tax liability
accrued. If you are filing on a quarterly basis, use the booklet Form HW-14 for the quarter in which the withholding tax
liability accrued; for example, “Quarter of Jan/Feb/Mar”. Do not combine the reported information for more than one month
if filing monthly, or for more than one quarter if filing quarterly.

Check your return to make sure it is correct. Sign and date your return. Attach your check or money order for full payment
of the taxes withheld. The check or money order must be payable in U. S. dollars and made payable to the “Hawaii State Tax
Collector”. Write "HW", the filing period, and your Hawaii Tax I.D. No. on your check or money order. DO NOT SEND
CASH.

If you pay your withholding tax liability semiweekly, file federal Schedule B (Form 941) (using Hawaii dates and
amounts) and attach the quarterly schedule of payments to the March, June, September, and December monthly Form HW-14.
See Department of Taxation Announcement No. 2005-01 for more information.

Electronic Filing (e-file)

Periodic withholding tax returns (Form HW-14) may be electronically filed (e-filed) through the State's Internet portal.
For more information, go to www.ehawaiigov.org/efile.

Bulk Filing —

The Department allows the bulk filing Form HW-14. For more information on bulk filing, go the Department's website at
www.hawaii.gov/tax.
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Section 17. — EMPLOYER’S ANNUAL RETURN AND RECONCILIATION OF HAWAII INCOME TAX
WITHHELD FROM WAGES, FORM HW-3:

Note: Wherever Form HW-2 is referred to in this booklet, commercially printed forms or the federal Form W-2 may be
substituted, provided all the required information is shown on such substitute form. Refer to Section 18 under “What to
Report”.

What to Report —

The “Total Wages” figure reported on Form HW-3, line 2, should include COLA (Cost of Living Allowance), sick pay,
and wages paid to a blind, deaf, or totally disabled person. The “Total Wages” figure on Form HW-3 should equal the sum of
the “Total Wages” reported on the attached copies of Form HW-2, “Statement of Hawaii Income Tax Withheld and Wages
Paid”. It will not necessarily equal the sum of the “Total Wages Paid” per the Form HW-14 monthly or quarterly withholding
tax returns filed for the same calendar year.

When to File —

You must file by the last day of February following the close of the calendar year, Copies 1 and 2 of Form HW-3 along
with Copy A of Forms HW-2 issued for the preceding calendar year.

If you go out of business or permanently cease to pay wages, you must file Form HW-3 with accompanying Forms HW-2
at the same time you file the final Form HW-14.

Complete Form GEW-TA-RV-1 to cancel the withholding account.

Upon application by an employer, the Director may grant an extension of time (not more than two months) for the filing of
Form HW-3 with accompanying Forms HW-2. Except in a case of termination of business or the like, application for the
extension must be filed on or before the last day of February.  File Form HW-26 to request an extension.

Where to File —

You must file Tax Office Copies 1 and 2 of Form HW-3, along with Copy A of Forms HW-2, and any remittance to the
Hawaii Department of Taxation.  Refer to Section 4 for more information.

How to File —

Check your return to make sure your name, Hawaii Tax I.D. No., and all figures are correct. Sign and date both Tax Office
Copies 1 and 2 of Form HW-3. Attach Copy A of Forms HW-2 issued for the calendar year. If remittance is required, attach
your check or money order payable in U. S. dollars. Make your check or money order payable to the “Hawaii State Tax
Collector”. Write “HW”, the filing period, and your Hawaii Tax I.D. No. on your check or money order. DO NOT SEND
CASH.

If an employer’s total payroll covers a number of separate units or establishments, the Forms HW-2 may be assembled
accordingly.

Where the number of Forms HW-2 is large, they may be forwarded in packages of convenient size. The packages should
be identified with the employer’s name and Hawaii withholding identification number. The packages should be consecutively
numbered and Form HW-3 placed in package No. 1.

Bulk Filing —

The Department presently does not allow bulk filing of Form HW-3 or Form HW-2.

Amending the Employer’s Return and Reconciliation of Hawaii Income Tax Withheld from Wages —

If you file Form HW-3 and later discover that you made an error, you should file Form HW-23, “Amended Employer’s
Annual Return and Reconciliation of Hawaii Income Tax Withheld from Wages” to correct that error. File Form HW-23
within 3 years after the date Form HW-3 was due or 3 years after the date it was filed, whichever is later.

If you are using Form HW-23 to transmit corrected Forms HW-2 or to submit additional Forms HW-2 after you have filed
Form HW-3, you must file two copies of Form HW-23 along with Copy A of the corrected Forms HW-2. Refer to section 18
under “Correcting or Reissuing a Form HW-2”.

If you are not required to transmit any Forms HW-2 along with Form HW-23, then file one copy of Form HW-23 to correct
an error made on a previously filed Form HW-3.
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Section 18. — STATEMENT OF HAWAII INCOME TAX WITHHELD AND WAGES PAID, FORM HW-2:

Note: Wherever Form HW-2 is referred to in this booklet, commercially printed forms or the federal Form W-2 may be
substituted, provided all the required information is shown on such substitute form. Refer to this section under “What to
Report”.

Who You Must Furnish a Form HW-2 To —

You must furnish copies B and C of Form HW-2 to every employee (a) upon whose wages deduction and withholding is
required, (b) whose wages are not subject to withholding because of his or her blindness, deafness or total disability, and (c) to
whom wages subject to withholding (or payments under wage continuation plans) have been paid in any period during the
calendar year (or time of employment).

What to Report —

Each Form HW-2 must show the employee’s name, address, and social security number, if any, the employer’s name,
address and Hawaii Tax I.D. No., the period covered by the statement, the total amount of wages paid to the employee during
the period, the amount of income tax deducted and withheld, if any, and such other information as the Director may require.
Compensation includable in gross income, but not subject to withholding, must be reported on Form HW-2.

You may use commercially printed forms or the federal Form W-2, provided that all the required information outlined in
the immediately preceding paragraph is included on the form. No Form W-2 will be acceptable to the Department of Taxation
unless the employer’s Hawaii Tax I.D. No. is clearly shown.

The “Total Wages” figure should include COLA (Cost of Living Allowance), wages paid to a blind, deaf, or totally
disabled person, and employer payments of sick pay. If a third-party payor of sick pay has notified you of the amount of sick
pay the employee must include in income, report this amount in the “Total Wages” figure. You must either include this
amount in income along with the employee’s wages, tips and other compensation, or you may furnish the employee with a
separate Form HW-2 for this amount. If you decide to issue a separate Form HW-2, you must indicate on the form that the
amount is for third-party sick pay. If the third-party payor notifies you of these payments after you have filed your HW-3, an
amendment to Form HW-3 must be prepared and filed on Form HW-23. If the employer and the third-party payor of sick pay
have entered into a valid agency agreement, the third-party payor may issue the HW-2’s (and file the HW-3) in the payor’s
name.  The same procedures prescribed for federal reporting may be followed.

If you are required to furnish an employee with a Form HW-2 for any reason stated in (a), (b), or (c) above under “Who
You Must Furnish a Form HW-2 To” and if the employee received noncash remuneration or advances or reimbursements for
expenses, the amount must be separately stated on Form HW-2.  Refer to Section 11, paragraphs (p), (q), and (r).

Correcting or Reissuing a Form HW-2 —

If it becomes necessary to correct a Form HW-2 after it has been given to an employee, a corrected statement must be
issued to the employee. Corrected statements should be clearly marked “Corrected by Employer”. In case a withholding
statement is lost or destroyed, a substitute copy clearly marked “Reissued by Employer” should be furnished to the employee.
If you are only correcting the employee’s names or social security numbers, you do not have to issue a corrected statement.
Advise the employee to make the correction on the original HW-2. Note, however, that if the employee was given a new social
security card because of an adjustment to their alien residence status, and that card shows a different name or social security
number than those you showed on a Form HW-2, file a corrected statement to correct the name and/or social security number.

If you make corrections to a Form HW-2 before you file Form HW-3, you should submit the Corrected Form HW-2 with
Form HW-3. If you make corrections to a Form HW-2 after you file Form HW-3, you should submit the Corrected Form
HW-2 with Form HW-23.  Refer to Section 17.

When to Furnish and File a Form HW-2 —

You must furnish copies B and C of Form HW-2 and any corrected statements to employees by January 31 of the
following calendar year. However, if an employee stops working for you before the end of a calendar year and is not expected
to return to work within such calendar year, the statement must be furnished to the employee within thirty days after the date
you receive a written request from the employee if such thirty-day period ends before January 31.

Upon application by an employer, the Director may grant an extension of time (not more than two months) for the
furnishing of the withholding statements. Except in a case of termination of employment, application for the extension must
be filed on or before the last day of February.

You must file by the last day of February following the close of the calendar year, Copies 1 and 2 of Form HW-3 along
with Copy A of Forms HW-2 issued for the preceding calendar year.  See Section 17 under “When to File”.
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Section 19. — RECORDKEEPING REQUIREMENTS: Every employer, who becomes subject to the Hawaii
withholding provisions, is required to keep full, complete, regular and accurate records pertaining to withholding taxes
available for inspection by the Department.  The records should include but not be limited to:

(a)  Each employee’s name, current address and social security number.

(b)  The Form HW-4 and Form HW-6 and any attachments, if any, filed by the employee.

(c)  The agreement, if any, between the employer and the employee for withholding additional amounts of tax.

(d) For each payment of remuneration: the date; the amount (including any sum withheld for any reason); the period of
services covered by such payment; the amount of the remuneration which constitute wages subject to withholding;
the amount of tax collected with respect to the remuneration, and if collected at a time other than the time such
payment was made, the date the tax was collected.

(e) The fair market value and date of each payment of non-cash remuneration made to an employee for services performed
as a retail commission salesperson, in which no income tax is withheld.

(f) Copies of any statements furnished by the employee, where tips are received by an employee in the course of the
employee’s occupation, unless the information disclosed by such statements is recorded on another document
retained by the employer.

(g)  Records of all remuneration paid to, including tips reported by, employees.

(h)  Copies of withholding tax returns filed.

You should keep all documents and evidence having relevancy to the determination of wages or your liability in respect of
wages until the statute of limitations runs out for each tax return. Usually this is three years from the date the tax return was due
or was filed, or two years from the date the tax was paid, whichever is later.

Section 20. — EMPLOYERS ARE LIABLE FOR WITHHELD TAXES: All taxes withheld by an employer under the
withholding law must be held in trust by the employer for the State and for payment to the Department in the manner and at the
time required by law. If an employer fails, neglects, or refuses to deduct and withhold from the wages paid to an employee or
to pay over the amount of tax required, the employer will be liable to pay the amount of tax to the State. An employer may
recover from an employee any amount which the employer should have withheld but did not withhold from the employee’s
wages, if the employer has been required to pay and paid the amount to the Department out of the employer’s own funds.

In addition to the liability described above, if any employer fails, neglects, or refuses to deduct and withhold from the
wages paid to any employee or to pay over the amount of tax required, any person, excluding those who have only ministerial
duties, who is under a duty to deduct and withhold or pay over the amount of tax required and who willfully fails to perform
such duty, will be liable to the State for the amount of tax. The voluntary or involuntary dissolution of the employer or the
withdrawal and surrender of its right to engage in business within the State will not discharge the liability imposed.

Section 21. — EMPLOYERS ARE SUBJECT TO CIVIL PENALTIES (ADDITIONS TO TAXES) FOR
NONCOMPLIANCE WITH THE LAW: There will be added to the amount of the tax required to be paid to the State:

(a) For failure to file a tax return on time, unless you have been granted an extension of time for filing, and unless you
show that the failure to file is due to reasonable cause and not due to neglect, 5% of the tax for the first month, with an
additional 5% for each additional month or part of a month, not exceeding 25% in the aggregate.

(b) For failure to pay the tax, if any part of any underpayment is due to negligence or intentional disregard of rules but
without intent to defraud, up to 25% of the underpayment as determined by the Director.

(c) For failure to pay the tax, if any part of any underpayment is due to fraud, up to 50% of the underpayment as
determined by the Director.

(d) For failure to pay the tax after filing a tax return on time, if the tax is not completely paid within 60 days of the due date,
up to 20% of the underpayment as determined by the Director.

On both the tax and the additions to tax described above, you must pay interest at the rate of 2/3 of 1% for each month or
part of a month beginning with the first calendar day following the due date for filing the return, or paying the tax, until paid.

Section 22. — EMPLOYERS ARE SUBJECT TO CRIMINAL PENALTIES: Employers are liable for criminal penalties
in the following cases:

(a) Any person required to collect, account for, and pay over any withholding tax, who willfully fails to collect or
truthfully account for and pay over such tax, shall, in addition to other penalties provided by law, be guilty of a class C
felony, punishable by a fine of not more than $100,000, imprisonment for not more than three years, probation, or any
combination; provided that a corporation shall not be fined more than $500,000.
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(b) Any person required to furnish a statement to an employee, who willfully furnishes a false or fraudulent statement or
who willfully fails to furnish a statement in the manner, at the time, and showing the information required, shall be
guilty of a misdemeanor, punishable by a fine of not more than $25,000, imprisonment for not more than one year,
probation, or any combination; provided that a corporation shall be fined not more than $100,000.

(c) Any person required to keep full, complete, regular, and accurate books of account, who willfully fails to keep such
records, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor, punishable by a fine of not more than $25,000, imprisonment for not more
than one year, probation, or any combination; provided that a corporation shall be fined not more than $100,000.

(d) Any person, who makes a false or fraudulent return or false statement in a return, with intent to defraud the State or to
evade the payment of any tax or any part thereof or who, in any manner, intentionally deceives or attempts to deceive
the Director or the Director’s authorized agent in relation to any tax, shall be guilty of a class C felony, punishable by a
fine of not more than $100,000, imprisonment for not more than three years, probation, or any combination; provided
that a corporation shall not be fined more than $500,000.

Section 23. — EMPLOYEES ARE SUBJECT TO CRIMINAL PENALTIES: You should inform your employees of the
criminal penalty to which an employee is liable if he or she willfully furnishes a false withholding allowance and status
certificate (Form HW-4), or willfully fails to furnish a new certificate when the filing of a new certificate is required. See
section 12, for instructions as to when a new certificate must be filed. Such an employee will be guilty of a class C felony,
punishable by a fine of not more than $100,000, imprisonment for not more than three years, probation or any combination.

An employee who furnishes a statement concerning nonresidence (Form HW-6) is subject to a fine of not more than
$100,000, imprisonment for not more than three years, probation, or any combination if by this statement he or she
intentionally deceives or attempts to deceive the Director or the Director’s authorized agent.

Any individual required to supply information to the individual’s employer under the Hawaii withholding tax law, who
willfully supplies false or fraudulent information or who willfully fails to supply information which would require an increase
in the tax to be withheld, will be fined not more than $25,000, imprisoned for not more than one year, probation, or any
combination.

Section 24. — LIST OF TAX FORMS: The forms which are designed and are to be used in carrying out the provisions of the
withholding law, with the exception of the State Basic Business Application, the Tax Payment Voucher, and the Change of
Address Form, bear the prefix “GEW-TA-RV” or “HW” as follows:

BB-1 State of Hawaii Basic Business Application

BB-1X State of Hawaii Basic Business Amended Application

GEW-TA-RV-1 Notification of Cancellation

GEW-TA-RV-5 General Excise/Use, Employer's Withholding, Transient Accommodations and Rental Motor Vehicle
& Tour Vehicle Surcharge Application Changes

HW-2 Statement of Hawaii Income Tax Withheld and Wages Paid (See Section 18.)

HW-3 Employer’s Annual Return and Reconciliation of Hawaii Income Tax Withheld from Wages (See
Section 17.)

HW-4 Employee’s Withholding Allowance and Status Certificate (See Section 12.)

HW-6 Employee’s Statement to Employer Concerning Nonresidence in the State of Hawaii (See Section 13.)

HW-7 Exemption From Withholding on Nonresident Employee's Wages

HW-14 (Monthly or Quarterly) Withholding Tax Return (See Section 16.)

HW-20 Amended (Monthly or Quarterly) Withholding Tax Return

HW-23 Amended Employer’s Annual Return and Reconciliation of Hawaii Income Tax Withheld From Wages
(See Section 17.)

HW-26 Application for Extension of Time to File the Employer’s Annual Return and Reconciliation of Hawaii
Income Tax Withheld from Wages (Form HW-3) (See Section 17.)

ITPS-COA Change of Address Form

VP-1 Tax Payment Voucher
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STATE OF HAWAII
DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION

APPENDIX I

HAWAII INCOME TAX WITHHOLDING RATES,
METHODS, AND TAX TABLES

Effective January 1, 2007, and thereafter

PART 1
ANNUALIZED INCOME TAX WITHHOLDING

PART 2
ALTERNATIVE METHOD OF COMPUTING TAX TO BE WITHHELD
UNLESS THE ANNUALIZED METHOD OR WITHHOLDING TABLES

ARE USED

PART 3
TAX TABLES FOR INCOME TAX WITHHOLDING

Employers using the Tax Tables in
Part 3 of this appendix may disregard the

formula methods shown in Part 1 and Part 2.
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PART 1

ANNUALIZED INCOME TAX WITHHOLDING

Annualized Income Tax Withholding: You may determine the tax to be withheld on the basis of annualized wages (using the tax
computation method for annual payroll periods), then prorate the tax on the basis of the payroll period actually used. Employers
with more than one payroll period (for instance, part-timers paid weekly; full-timers paid semi-monthly) may find this method
helpful for conserving computer memory capacity. Only the annual rates below, wage brackets and allowance values need to be
stored.

Example: An employee who is single and has only one job, is paid $375 a week. He claims three withholding allowances (one
personal exemption, an allowance since he is single and has only one job, and an allowance for his estimated itemized deductions)
on the Employee’s Withholding Allowance and Status Certificate (Form HW-4) on file with you.

1. Multiply weekly wage of $375 x 52 weeks to determine annual wage .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  . $ 19,500.00

2. Subtract withholding allowances ($1,040 x 3) .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  . 3,120.00

3. Amount subject to withholding (line 1 minus line 2) .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  . $ 16,380.00

4. Compute withholding tax on $16,380 using the WITHHOLDING TAX RATES below
for a single person, annual payroll period:
Tax on first $14,400 .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  . $ 682.00
Tax on remaining $1,980 at 6.8% .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  . 134.64
Annual withholding tax .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  . $ 816.64

5. Compute Weekly withholding tax ($816.64 /52 weeks) .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  . $ 15.70

ANNUAL PAYROLL PERIOD

A. SINGLE PERSONS — INCLUDING
UNMARRIED HEADS OF HOUSEHOLD

If the amount of wages
(after subtracting withholding allowances) is: The amount of income tax to be withheld shall be:

Over But not over
$ 0 $ 2,400 .    .    .    .    .    .    .    . 1.40% of excess over $ 0
$ 2,400 $ 4,800 .    .    .    .    .    .    .    . $ 34.00 plus 3.20% of excess over $ 2,400
$ 4,800 $ 9,600 .    .    .    .    .    .    .    . $ 110.00 plus 5.50% of excess over $ 4,800
$ 9,600 $ 14,400 .    .    .    .    .    .    .    . $ 374.00 plus 6.40% of excess over $ 9,600
$ 14,400 $ 19,200 .    .    .    .    .    .    .    . $ 682.00 plus 6.80% of excess over $ 14,400
$ 19,200 $ 24,000 .    .    .    .    .    .    .    . $ 1,008.00 plus 7.20% of excess over $ 19,200
$ 24,000 .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    . $ 1,354.00 plus 7.60% of excess over $ 24,000

B. MARRIED PERSONS
If the amount of wages
(after subtracting withholding allowances) is: The amount of income tax to be withheld shall be:

Over But not over
$ 0 $ 4,800 .    .    .    .    .    .    .    . 1.40% of excess over $ 0
$ 4,800 $ 9,600 .    .    .    .    .    .    .    . $ 67.00 plus 3.20% of excess over $ 4,800
$ 9,600 $ 19,200 .    .    .    .    .    .    .    . $ 221.00 plus 5.50% of excess over $ 9,600
$ 19,200 $ 28,800 .    .    .    .    .    .    .    . $ 749.00 plus 6.40% of excess over $ 19,200
$ 28,800 $ 38,400 .    .    .    .    .    .    .    . $ 1,363.00 plus 6.80% of excess over $ 28,800
$ 38,400 $ 48,000 .    .    .    .    .    .    .    . $ 2,016.00 plus 7.20% of excess over $ 38,400
$ 48,000 .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    . $ 2,707.00 plus 7.60% of excess over $ 48,000
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PART 2

ALTERNATIVE METHOD OF COMPUTING TAX TO BE WITHHELD, UNLESS
THE ANNUALIZED METHOD OR WITHHOLDING TABLES ARE USED.

WEEKLY PAYROLL PERIOD

If the period is weekly, proceed as follows:

Step 1. Deduct from the total wage for the period an amount for the withholding allowance equal to the number of
allowances claimed times $20.00.

a. If employee claims no allowance (zero), no deduction is made.  The total wage is used in computing the
amount of tax to be withheld.

b. If employee claims one allowance, deduct $20.00; if two, deduct $40.00; if three, deduct $60.00; and so forth.
(If balance is negative, employee’s wage is fully exempt).

Step 2. Use the amount of wages arrived at in Step 1 to apply the rates shown in A & B below.  If employee is single —
unmarried head of household, A applies; if employee is married, B applies.

A. SINGLE PERSONS — INCLUDING UNMARRIED HEADS OF HOUSEHOLD
If the amount of wages
(after subtracting withholding allowances) is: The amount of income tax to be withheld shall be:

Over But not over
$ 0 $ 46 .    .    .    .    .    .    .    . 1.40% of excess over $ 0
$ 46 $ 92 .    .    .    .    .    .    .    . $ .64 plus 3.20% of excess over $ 46
$ 92 $ 185 .    .    .    .    .    .    .    . $ 2.11 plus 5.50% of excess over $ 92
$ 185 $ 277 .    .    .    .    .    .    .    . $ 7.23 plus 6.40% of excess over $ 185
$ 277 $ 369 .    .    .    .    .    .    .    . $ 13.12 plus 6.80% of excess over $ 277
$ 369 $ 462 .    .    .    .    .    .    .    . $ 19.38 plus 7.20% of excess over $ 369
$ 462 .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    . $ 26.08 plus 7.60% of excess over $ 462

B. MARRIED PERSONS
If the amount of wages
(after subtracting withholding allowances) is: The amount of income tax to be withheld shall be:

Over But not over
$ 0 $ 92 .    .    .    .    .    .    .    . 1.40% of excess over $ 0
$ 92 $ 185 .    .    .    .    .    .    .    . $ 1.29 plus 3.20% of excess over $ 92
$ 185 $ 369 .    .    .    .    .    .    .    . $ 4.27 plus 5.50% of excess over $ 185
$ 369 $ 554 .    .    .    .    .    .    .    . $ 14.39 plus 6.40% of excess over $ 369
$ 554 $ 738 .    .    .    .    .    .    .    . $ 26.23 plus 6.80% of excess over $ 554
$ 738 $ 923 .    .    .    .    .    .    .    . $ 38.74 plus 7.20% of excess over $ 738
$ 923 .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    . $ 52.06 plus 7.60% of excess over $ 923
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BIWEEKLY PAYROLL PERIOD

If the period is biweekly, proceed as follows:

Step 1. Deduct from the total wage for the period an amount for the withholding allowance equal to the number of
allowances claimed times $40.00.

a. If employee claims no allowance (zero), no deduction is made.  The total wage is used in computing the
amount of tax to be withheld.

b. If employee claims one allowance, deduct $40.00; if two, deduct $80.00; if three, deduct $120.00; and so forth.
(If balance is negative, employee’s wage is fully exempt).

Step 2. Use the amount of wages arrived at in Step 1 to apply the rates shown in A & B below.  If employee is single —
unmarried head of household, A applies; if employee is married, B applies.

A. SINGLE PERSONS — INCLUDING UNMARRIED HEADS OF HOUSEHOLD
If the amount of wages
(after subtracting withholding allowances) is: The amount of income tax to be withheld shall be:

Over But not over
$ 0 $ 92 .    .    .    .    .    .    .    . 1.40% of excess over $ 0
$ 92 $ 185 .    .    .    .    .    .    .    . $ 1.29 plus 3.20% of excess over $ 92
$ 185 $ 369 .    .    .    .    .    .    .    . $ 4.27 plus 5.50% of excess over $ 185
$ 369 $ 554 .    .    .    .    .    .    .    . $ 14.39 plus 6.40% of excess over $ 369
$ 554 $ 738 .    .    .    .    .    .    .    . $ 26.23 plus 6.80% of excess over $ 554
$ 738 $ 923 .    .    .    .    .    .    .    . $ 38.74 plus 7.20% of excess over $ 738
$ 923 .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    . $ 52.06 plus 7.60% of excess over $ 923

B. MARRIED PERSONS
If the amount of wages
(after subtracting withholding allowances) is: The amount of income tax to be withheld shall be:

Over But not over
$ 0 $ 185 .    .    .    .    .    .    .    . 1.40% of excess over $ 0
$ 185 $ 369 .    .    .    .    .    .    .    . $ 2.59 plus 3.20% of excess over $ 185
$ 369 $ 738 .    .    .    .    .    .    .    . $ 8.48 plus 5.50% of excess over $ 369
$ 738 $ 1,108 .    .    .    .    .    .    .    . $ 28.78 plus 6.40% of excess over $ 738
$ 1,108 $ 1,477 .    .    .    .    .    .    .    . $ 52.46 plus 6.80% of excess over $ 1,108
$ 1,477 $ 1,846 .    .    .    .    .    .    .    . $ 77.55 plus 7.20% of excess over $ 1,477
$ 1,846 .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    . $ 104.12 plus 7.60% of excess over $ 1,846
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SEMIMONTHLY PAYROLL PERIOD

If the period is semimonthly, proceed as follows:

Step 1. Deduct from the total wage for the period an amount for the withholding allowance equal to the number of
allowances claimed times $43.35.

a. If employee claims no allowance (zero), no deduction is made.  The total wage is used in computing the
amount of tax to be withheld.

b. If employee claims one allowance, deduct $43.35; if two, deduct $86.70; if three, deduct $130.05; and so forth.
(If balance is negative, employee’s wage is fully exempt).

Step 2. Use the amount of wages arrived at in Step 1 to apply the rates shown in A & B below.  If employee is single —
unmarried head of household, A applies; if employee is married, B applies.

A. SINGLE PERSONS — INCLUDING UNMARRIED HEADS OF HOUSEHOLD
If the amount of wages
(after subtracting withholding allowances) is: The amount of income tax to be withheld shall be:

Over But not over
$ 0 $ 100 .    .    .    .    .    .    .    . 1.40% of excess over $ 0
$ 100 $ 200 .    .    .    .    .    .    .    . $ 1.40 plus 3.20% of excess over $ 100
$ 200 $ 400 .    .    .    .    .    .    .    . $ 4.60 plus 5.50% of excess over $ 200
$ 400 $ 600 .    .    .    .    .    .    .    . $ 15.60 plus 6.40% of excess over $ 400
$ 600 $ 800 .    .    .    .    .    .    .    . $ 28.40 plus 6.80% of excess over $ 600
$ 800 $ 1,000 .    .    .    .    .    .    .    . $ 42.00 plus 7.20% of excess over $ 800
$ 1,000 .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    . $ 56.40 plus 7.60% of excess over $ 1,000

B. MARRIED PERSONS
If the amount of wages
(after subtracting withholding allowances) is: The amount of income tax to be withheld shall be:

Over But not over
$ 0 $ 200 .    .    .    .    .    .    .    . 1.40% of excess over $ 0
$ 200 $ 400 .    .    .    .    .    .    .    . $ 2.80 plus 3.20% of excess over $ 200
$ 400 $ 800 .    .    .    .    .    .    .    . $ 9.20 plus 5.50% of excess over $ 400
$ 800 $ 1,200 .    .    .    .    .    .    .    . $ 31.20 plus 6.40% of excess over $ 800
$ 1,200 $ 1,600 .    .    .    .    .    .    .    . $ 56.80 plus 6.80% of excess over $ 1,200
$ 1,600 $ 2,000 .    .    .    .    .    .    .    . $ 84.00 plus 7.20% of excess over $ 1,600
$ 2,000 .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    . $ 112.80 plus 7.60% of excess over $ 2,000
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MONTHLY PAYROLL PERIOD

If the period is monthly, proceed as follows:

Step 1. Deduct from the total wage for the period an amount for the withholding allowance equal to the number of
allowances claimed times $86.65.

a. If employee claims no allowance (zero), no deduction is made.  The total wage is used in computing the
amount of tax to be withheld.

b. If employee claims one allowance, deduct $86.65; if two, deduct $173.30; if three, deduct $259.95; and so
forth.  (If balance is negative, employee’s wage is fully exempt).

Step 2. Use the amount of wages arrived at in Step 1 to apply the rates shown in A & B below.  If employee is single —
unmarried head of household, A applies; if employee is married, B applies.

A. SINGLE PERSONS — INCLUDING UNMARRIED HEADS OF HOUSEHOLD
If the amount of wages
(after subtracting withholding allowances) is: The amount of income tax to be withheld shall be:

Over But not over
$ 0 $ 200 .    .    .    .    .    .    .    . 1.40% of excess over $ 0
$ 200 $ 400 .    .    .    .    .    .    .    . $ 2.80 plus 3.20% of excess over $ 200
$ 400 $ 800 .    .    .    .    .    .    .    . $ 9.20 plus 5.50% of excess over $ 400
$ 800 $ 1,200 .    .    .    .    .    .    .    . $ 31.20 plus 6.40% of excess over $ 800
$ 1,200 $ 1,600 .    .    .    .    .    .    .    . $ 56.80 plus 6.80% of excess over $ 1,200
$ 1,600 $ 2,000 .    .    .    .    .    .    .    . $ 84.00 plus 7.20% of excess over $ 1,600
$ 2,000 .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    . $ 112.80 plus 7.60% of excess over $ 2,000

B. MARRIED PERSONS
If the amount of wages
(after subtracting withholding allowances) is: The amount of income tax to be withheld shall be:

Over But not over
$ 0 $ 400 .    .    .    .    .    .    .    . 1.40% of excess over $ 0
$ 400 $ 800 .    .    .    .    .    .    .    . $ 5.60 plus 3.20% of excess over $ 400
$ 800 $ 1,600 .    .    .    .    .    .    .    . $ 18.40 plus 5.50% of excess over $ 800
$ 1,600 $ 2,400 .    .    .    .    .    .    .    . $ 62.40 plus 6.40% of excess over $ 1,600
$ 2,400 $ 3,200 .    .    .    .    .    .    .    . $ 113.60 plus 6.80% of excess over $ 2,400
$ 3,200 $ 4,000 .    .    .    .    .    .    .    . $ 168.00 plus 7.20% of excess over $ 3,200
$ 4,000 .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    . $ 225.60 plus 7.60% of excess over $ 4,000
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DAILY OR MISCELLANEOUS PAYROLL PERIOD

If the period is daily or miscellaneous, or if there is no payroll period (refer to section 13) using the daily wage, or the average wage
per day, as instructed, proceed as follows:

Step 1. Deduct from the total wage for the period an amount for the withholding allowance equal to the number of
allowances claimed times $2.85.

a. If employee claims no allowance (zero), no deduction is made.  The total wage is used in computing the
amount of tax to be withheld.

b. If employee claims one allowance, deduct $2.85; if two, deduct $5.70; if three, deduct $8.55; and so forth.  (If
balance is negative, employee’s wage is fully exempt).

Step 2. Use the amount of wages arrived at in Step 1 to apply the rates shown in A & B below.  If employee is single —
unmarried head of household, A applies; if employee is married, B applies.

A. SINGLE PERSONS — INCLUDING UNMARRIED HEADS OF HOUSEHOLD
If the amount of wages
(after subtracting withholding allowances) is: The amount of income tax to be withheld shall be:

Over But not over
$ 0 $ 7 .    .    .    .    .    .    .    . 1.40% of excess over $ 0
$ 7 $ 13 .    .    .    .    .    .    .    . $ .10 plus 3.20% of excess over $ 7
$ 13 $ 26 .    .    .    .    .    .    .    . $ .29 plus 5.50% of excess over $ 13
$ 26 $ 39 .    .    .    .    .    .    .    . $ 1.01 plus 6.40% of excess over $ 26
$ 39 $ 53 .    .    .    .    .    .    .    . $ 1.84 plus 6.80% of excess over $ 39
$ 53 $ 66 .    .    .    .    .    .    .    . $ 2.79 plus 7.20% of excess over $ 53
$ 66 .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    . $ 3.73 plus 7.60% of excess over $ 66

B. MARRIED PERSONS
If the amount of wages
(after subtracting withholding allowances) is: The amount of income tax to be withheld shall be:

Over But not over
$ 0 $ 13 .    .    .    .    .    .    .    . 1.40% of excess over $ 0
$ 13 $ 26 .    .    .    .    .    .    .    . $ .18 plus 3.20% of excess over $ 13
$ 26 $ 53 .    .    .    .    .    .    .    . $ .60 plus 5.50% of excess over $ 26
$ 53 $ 79 .    .    .    .    .    .    .    . $ 2.09 plus 6.40% of excess over $ 53
$ 79 $ 105 .    .    .    .    .    .    .    . $ 3.75 plus 6.80% of excess over $ 79
$ 105 $ 132 .    .    .    .    .    .    .    . $ 5.52 plus 7.20% of excess over $ 105
$ 132 .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    . $ 7.46 plus 7.60% of excess over $ 132
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0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
or more

0 40 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
40 60 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
60 80 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
80 100 2 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0

100 120 3 2 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
120 140 4 3 2 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0
140 160 5 4 3 2 1 1 0 0 0 0 0
160 180 6 5 4 3 2 1 1 0 0 0 0
180 200 8 6 5 4 3 2 1 1 0 0 0
200 220 9 8 6 5 4 3 2 1 1 0 0
220 240 10 9 8 6 5 4 3 2 1 1 0
240 260 11 10 9 8 6 5 4 3 2 1 1
260 280 13 11 10 9 8 6 5 4 3 2 1
280 300 14 13 11 10 9 8 6 5 4 3 2
300 320 15 14 13 11 10 9 8 6 5 4 3
320 340 17 15 14 13 11 10 9 8 6 5 4
340 360 18 17 15 14 13 11 10 9 8 6 5
360 380 19 18 17 15 14 13 11 10 9 8 6
380 400 21 19 18 17 15 14 13 11 10 9 8
400 420 22 21 19 18 17 15 14 13 11 10 9
420 440 24 22 21 19 18 17 15 14 13 11 10
440 460 25 24 22 21 19 18 17 15 14 13 11
460 480 27 25 24 22 21 19 18 17 15 14 13
480 500 28 27 25 24 22 21 19 18 17 15 14
500 520 30 28 27 25 24 22 21 19 18 17 15
520 540 31 30 28 27 25 24 22 21 19 18 17
540 560 33 31 30 28 27 25 24 22 21 19 18
560 580 34 33 31 30 28 27 25 24 22 21 19
580 600 36 34 33 31 30 28 27 25 24 22 21

600 & over 37 36 34 33 31 30 28 27 25 24 22

INCOME TAX
WITHHOLDING

Weekly  PAYROLL PERIOD
For Calendar Year 2007, and thereafter

PART 3

FOR

7.60% of excess over $600 plus

WAGES ARE NUMBER OF WITHHOLDING ALLOWANCES CLAIMED

AT
LEAST

BUT
LESS
THAN AMOUNT OF INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD

Single  PERSONS — UNMARRIED Heads of Household

TAX TABLES
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0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
or more

0 40 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
40 60 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
60 80 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
80 100 1 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0

100 120 2 1 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
120 140 3 2 1 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0
140 160 3 3 2 1 1 1 0 0 0 0 0
160 180 4 3 3 2 1 1 1 0 0 0 0
180 200 5 4 3 3 2 1 1 1 0 0 0
200 220 6 5 4 3 3 2 1 1 1 0 0
220 240 7 6 5 4 3 3 2 1 1 1 0
240 260 8 7 6 5 4 3 3 2 1 1 1
260 280 9 8 7 6 5 4 3 3 2 1 1
280 300 10 9 8 7 6 5 4 3 3 2 1
300 320 11 10 9 8 7 6 5 4 3 3 2
320 340 12 11 10 9 8 7 6 5 4 3 3
340 360 13 12 11 10 9 8 7 6 5 4 3
360 380 14 13 12 11 10 9 8 7 6 5 4
380 400 16 14 13 12 11 10 9 8 7 6 5
400 420 17 16 14 13 12 11 10 9 8 7 6
420 440 18 17 16 14 13 12 11 10 9 8 7
440 460 20 18 17 16 14 13 12 11 10 9 8
460 480 21 20 18 17 16 14 13 12 11 10 9
480 500 22 21 20 18 17 16 14 13 12 11 10
500 520 23 22 21 20 18 17 16 14 13 12 11
520 540 25 23 22 21 20 18 17 16 14 13 12
540 560 26 25 23 22 21 20 18 17 16 14 13
560 580 27 26 25 23 22 21 20 18 17 16 14
580 600 29 27 26 25 23 22 21 20 18 17 16
600 620 30 29 27 26 25 23 22 21 20 18 17
620 640 31 30 29 27 26 25 23 22 21 20 18
640 660 33 31 30 29 27 26 25 23 22 21 20
660 680 34 33 31 30 29 27 26 25 23 22 21
680 700 35 34 33 31 30 29 27 26 25 23 22
700 720 37 35 34 33 31 30 29 27 26 25 23
720 740 38 37 35 34 33 31 30 29 27 26 25
740 760 40 38 37 35 34 33 31 30 29 27 26
760 780 41 40 38 37 35 34 33 31 30 29 27
780 800 42 41 40 38 37 35 34 33 31 30 29
800 820 44 42 41 40 38 37 35 34 33 31 30
820 840 45 44 42 41 40 38 37 35 34 33 31
840 860 47 45 44 42 41 40 38 37 35 34 33
860 880 48 47 45 44 42 41 40 38 37 35 34
880 900 50 48 47 45 44 42 41 40 38 37 35
900 920 51 50 48 47 45 44 42 41 40 38 37
920 940 53 51 50 48 47 45 44 42 41 40 38
940 960 54 53 51 50 48 47 45 44 42 41 40
960 980 56 54 53 51 50 48 47 45 44 42 41

980 & over 57 56 54 53 51 50 48 47 45 44 42

Married  PERSONS

Weekly  PAYROLL PERIOD

7.60% of excess over $980 plus

WAGES ARE NUMBER OF WITHHOLDING ALLOWANCES CLAIMED

AT
LEAST

BUT
LESS
THAN AMOUNT OF INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD

For Calendar Year 2007, and thereafter
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0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
or more

0 40 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
40 60 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
60 80 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
80 100 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0

100 120 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
120 140 3 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
140 160 3 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
160 180 4 3 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
180 200 5 3 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
200 220 6 4 3 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0
220 240 7 5 3 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0
240 260 8 6 4 3 1 1 0 0 0 0 0
260 280 9 7 5 3 2 1 0 0 0 0 0
280 300 10 8 6 4 3 1 1 0 0 0 0
300 320 11 9 7 5 3 2 1 0 0 0 0
320 340 12 10 8 6 4 3 1 1 0 0 0
340 360 13 11 9 7 5 3 2 1 0 0 0
360 380 14 12 10 8 6 4 3 1 1 0 0
380 400 16 13 11 9 7 5 3 2 1 0 0
400 420 17 14 12 10 8 6 4 3 1 1 0
420 440 18 16 13 11 9 7 5 3 2 1 0
440 460 20 17 14 12 10 8 6 4 3 1 1
460 480 21 18 16 13 11 9 7 5 3 2 1
480 500 22 20 17 14 12 10 8 6 4 3 1
500 520 23 21 18 16 13 11 9 7 5 3 2
520 540 25 22 20 17 14 12 10 8 6 4 3
540 560 26 23 21 18 16 13 11 9 7 5 3
560 580 27 25 22 20 17 14 12 10 8 6 4
580 600 29 26 23 21 18 16 13 11 9 7 5
600 620 30 27 25 22 20 17 14 12 10 8 6
620 640 31 29 26 23 21 18 16 13 11 9 7
640 660 33 30 27 25 22 20 17 14 12 10 8
660 680 34 31 29 26 23 21 18 16 13 11 9
680 700 35 33 30 27 25 22 20 17 14 12 10
700 720 37 34 31 29 26 23 21 18 16 13 11
720 740 38 35 33 30 27 25 22 20 17 14 12
740 760 40 37 34 31 29 26 23 21 18 16 13
760 780 41 38 35 33 30 27 25 22 20 17 14
780 800 42 40 37 34 31 29 26 23 21 18 16
800 820 44 41 38 35 33 30 27 25 22 20 17
820 840 45 42 40 37 34 31 29 26 23 21 18
840 860 47 44 41 38 35 33 30 27 25 22 20
860 880 48 45 42 40 37 34 31 29 26 23 21
880 900 50 47 44 41 38 35 33 30 27 25 22
900 920 51 48 45 42 40 37 34 31 29 26 23
920 940 53 50 47 44 41 38 35 33 30 27 25
940 960 54 51 48 45 42 40 37 34 31 29 26
960 980 56 53 50 47 44 41 38 35 33 30 27
980 1,000 57 54 51 48 45 42 40 37 34 31 29

1,000 1,020 59 56 53 50 47 44 41 38 35 33 30

Biweekly  PAYROLL PERIOD

Single  PERSONS — UNMARRIED Heads of Household

WAGES ARE NUMBER OF WITHHOLDING ALLOWANCES CLAIMED

AT
LEAST

BUT
LESS
THAN AMOUNT OF INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD

For Calendar Year 2007, and thereafter
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0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
or more

1,020 1,040 60 57 54 51 48 45 42 40 37 34 31
1,040 1,060 62 59 56 53 50 47 44 41 38 35 33
1,060 1,080 63 60 57 54 51 48 45 42 40 37 34
1,080 1,100 65 62 59 56 53 50 47 44 41 38 35
1,100 1,120 66 63 60 57 54 51 48 45 42 40 37
1,120 1,140 68 65 62 59 56 53 50 47 44 41 38
1,140 1,160 69 66 63 60 57 54 51 48 45 42 40
1,160 1,180 71 68 65 62 59 56 53 50 47 44 41
1,180 1,200 72 69 66 63 60 57 54 51 48 45 42

1,200 & over 74 71 68 65 62 59 56 53 50 47 44

For Calendar Year 2007, and thereafter

7.60% of excess over $1,200 plus

WAGES ARE NUMBER OF WITHHOLDING ALLOWANCES CLAIMED

AT
LEAST

BUT
LESS
THAN AMOUNT OF INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD

Biweekly PAYROLL PERIOD

Single PERSONS — UNMARRIED Heads of Household
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0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
or more

0 40 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
40 60 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
60 80 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
80 100 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0

100 120 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
120 140 2 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
140 160 2 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
160 180 2 2 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
180 200 3 2 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
200 220 3 2 2 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0
220 240 4 3 2 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0
240 260 5 3 2 2 1 1 0 0 0 0 0
260 280 5 4 3 2 2 1 0 0 0 0 0
280 300 6 5 3 2 2 1 1 0 0 0 0
300 320 7 5 4 3 2 2 1 0 0 0 0
320 340 7 6 5 3 2 2 1 1 0 0 0
340 360 8 7 5 4 3 2 2 1 0 0 0
360 380 9 7 6 5 3 2 2 1 1 0 0
380 400 10 8 7 5 4 3 2 2 1 0 0
400 420 11 9 7 6 5 3 2 2 1 1 0
420 440 12 10 8 7 5 4 3 2 2 1 0
440 460 13 11 9 7 6 5 3 2 2 1 1
460 480 14 12 10 8 7 5 4 3 2 2 1
480 500 15 13 11 9 7 6 5 3 2 2 1
500 520 16 14 12 10 8 7 5 4 3 2 2
520 540 17 15 13 11 9 7 6 5 3 2 2
540 560 18 16 14 12 10 8 7 5 4 3 2
560 580 20 17 15 13 11 9 7 6 5 3 2
580 600 21 18 16 14 12 10 8 7 5 4 3
600 620 22 20 17 15 13 11 9 7 6 5 3
620 640 23 21 18 16 14 12 10 8 7 5 4
640 660 24 22 20 17 15 13 11 9 7 6 5
660 680 25 23 21 18 16 14 12 10 8 7 5
680 700 26 24 22 20 17 15 13 11 9 7 6
700 720 27 25 23 21 18 16 14 12 10 8 7
720 740 28 26 24 22 20 17 15 13 11 9 7
740 760 30 27 25 23 21 18 16 14 12 10 8
760 780 31 28 26 24 22 20 17 15 13 11 9
780 800 32 30 27 25 23 21 18 16 14 12 10
800 820 33 31 28 26 24 22 20 17 15 13 11
820 840 35 32 30 27 25 23 21 18 16 14 12
840 860 36 33 31 28 26 24 22 20 17 15 13
860 880 37 35 32 30 27 25 23 21 18 16 14
880 900 39 36 33 31 28 26 24 22 20 17 15
900 920 40 37 35 32 30 27 25 23 21 18 16
920 940 41 39 36 33 31 28 26 24 22 20 17
940 960 42 40 37 35 32 30 27 25 23 21 18
960 980 44 41 39 36 33 31 28 26 24 22 20
980 1,000 45 42 40 37 35 32 30 27 25 23 21

1,000 1,020 46 44 41 39 36 33 31 28 26 24 22

For Calendar Year 2007, and thereafter

WAGES ARE NUMBER OF WITHHOLDING ALLOWANCES CLAIMED

AT
LEAST

BUT
LESS
THAN AMOUNT OF INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD

Biweekly  PAYROLL PERIOD

Married  PERSONS
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0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
or more

1,020 1,040 47 45 42 40 37 35 32 30 27 25 23
1,040 1,060 49 46 44 41 39 36 33 31 28 26 24
1,060 1,080 50 47 45 42 40 37 35 32 30 27 25
1,080 1,100 51 49 46 44 41 39 36 33 31 28 26
1,100 1,120 53 50 47 45 42 40 37 35 32 30 27
1,120 1,140 54 51 49 46 44 41 39 36 33 31 28
1,140 1,160 55 53 50 47 45 42 40 37 35 32 30
1,160 1,180 57 54 51 49 46 44 41 39 36 33 31
1,180 1,200 58 55 53 50 47 45 42 40 37 35 32
1,200 1,220 59 57 54 51 49 46 44 41 39 36 33
1,220 1,240 61 58 55 53 50 47 45 42 40 37 35
1,240 1,260 62 59 57 54 51 49 46 44 41 39 36
1,260 1,280 63 61 58 55 53 50 47 45 42 40 37
1,280 1,300 65 62 59 57 54 51 49 46 44 41 39
1,300 1,320 66 63 61 58 55 53 50 47 45 42 40
1,320 1,340 68 65 62 59 57 54 51 49 46 44 41
1,340 1,360 69 66 63 61 58 55 53 50 47 45 42
1,360 1,380 70 68 65 62 59 57 54 51 49 46 44
1,380 1,400 72 69 66 63 61 58 55 53 50 47 45
1,400 1,420 73 70 68 65 62 59 57 54 51 49 46
1,420 1,440 74 72 69 66 63 61 58 55 53 50 47
1,440 1,460 76 73 70 68 65 62 59 57 54 51 49
1,460 1,480 77 74 72 69 66 63 61 58 55 53 50
1,480 1,500 78 76 73 70 68 65 62 59 57 54 51
1,500 1,520 80 77 74 72 69 66 63 61 58 55 53
1,520 1,540 81 78 76 73 70 68 65 62 59 57 54
1,540 1,560 83 80 77 74 72 69 66 63 61 58 55
1,560 1,580 84 81 78 76 73 70 68 65 62 59 57
1,580 1,600 86 83 80 77 74 72 69 66 63 61 58
1,600 1,620 87 84 81 78 76 73 70 68 65 62 59
1,620 1,640 89 86 83 80 77 74 72 69 66 63 61
1,640 1,660 90 87 84 81 78 76 73 70 68 65 62
1,660 1,680 91 89 86 83 80 77 74 72 69 66 63
1,680 1,700 93 90 87 84 81 78 76 73 70 68 65
1,700 1,720 94 91 89 86 83 80 77 74 72 69 66
1,720 1,740 96 93 90 87 84 81 78 76 73 70 68
1,740 1,760 97 94 91 89 86 83 80 77 74 72 69
1,760 1,780 99 96 93 90 87 84 81 78 76 73 70
1,780 1,800 100 97 94 91 89 86 83 80 77 74 72
1,800 1,820 102 99 96 93 90 87 84 81 78 76 73
1,820 1,840 103 100 97 94 91 89 86 83 80 77 74
1,840 1,860 104 102 99 96 93 90 87 84 81 78 76
1,860 1,880 106 103 100 97 94 91 89 86 83 80 77
1,880 1,900 107 104 102 99 96 93 90 87 84 81 78
1,900 1,920 109 106 103 100 97 94 91 89 86 83 80
1,920 1,940 111 107 104 102 99 96 93 90 87 84 81

1,940 & over 112 109 106 103 100 97 94 91 89 86 83

Biweekly  PAYROLL PERIOD

Married  PERSONS

7.60% of excess over $1,940 plus

WAGES ARE NUMBER OF WITHHOLDING ALLOWANCES CLAIMED

AT
LEAST

BUT
LESS
THAN AMOUNT OF INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD

For Calendar Year 2007, and thereafter
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0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
or more

0 40 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
40 60 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
60 80 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
80 100 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0

100 120 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
120 140 2 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
140 160 3 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
160 180 4 2 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
180 200 4 3 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
200 220 5 4 2 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0
220 240 6 4 3 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0
240 260 7 5 3 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0
260 280 8 6 4 3 1 1 0 0 0 0 0
280 300 10 7 5 3 2 1 0 0 0 0 0
300 320 11 8 6 4 3 1 1 0 0 0 0
320 340 12 9 7 5 3 2 1 0 0 0 0
340 360 13 10 8 6 4 2 1 1 0 0 0
360 380 14 12 9 7 4 3 2 1 0 0 0
380 400 15 13 10 8 6 4 2 1 1 0 0
400 420 16 14 11 9 7 4 3 2 1 0 0
420 440 18 15 12 10 8 5 4 2 1 1 0
440 460 19 16 14 11 9 6 4 3 2 1 0
460 480 20 17 15 12 10 8 5 4 2 1 1
480 500 21 19 16 13 11 9 6 4 3 1 1
500 520 23 20 17 14 12 10 7 5 3 2 1
520 540 24 21 18 16 13 11 8 6 4 3 1
540 560 25 22 20 17 14 12 10 7 5 3 2
560 580 26 24 21 18 15 13 11 8 6 4 3
580 600 28 25 22 19 17 14 12 9 7 5 3
600 620 29 26 23 21 18 15 13 10 8 6 4
620 640 30 28 25 22 19 16 14 12 9 7 4
640 660 32 29 26 23 21 18 15 13 10 8 6
660 680 33 30 27 25 22 19 16 14 11 9 7
680 700 35 32 29 26 23 20 18 15 12 10 8
700 720 36 33 30 27 24 22 19 16 14 11 9
720 740 37 34 31 28 26 23 20 17 15 12 10
740 760 39 36 33 30 27 24 21 19 16 13 11
760 780 40 37 34 31 28 25 23 20 17 14 12
780 800 41 38 35 32 30 27 24 21 18 16 13
800 820 43 40 37 34 31 28 25 22 20 17 14
820 840 44 41 38 35 32 29 26 24 21 18 15
840 860 46 42 40 37 34 31 28 25 22 19 17
860 880 47 44 41 38 35 32 29 26 23 21 18
880 900 48 45 42 39 36 33 30 28 25 22 19
900 920 50 47 44 41 38 35 32 29 26 23 20
920 940 51 48 45 42 39 36 33 30 27 25 22
940 960 53 50 47 43 40 37 35 32 29 26 23
960 980 54 51 48 45 42 39 36 33 30 27 24
980 1,000 56 53 49 46 43 40 37 34 31 28 26

1,000 1,020 57 54 51 48 45 42 39 36 33 30 27

Semimonthly  PAYROLL PERIOD

Single  PERSONS — UNMARRIED Heads of Household
For Calendar Year 2007, and thereafter

WAGES ARE NUMBER OF WITHHOLDING ALLOWANCES CLAIMED

AT
LEAST

BUT
LESS
THAN AMOUNT OF INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD
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0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
or more

1,020 1,040 59 55 52 49 46 43 40 37 34 31 28
1,040 1,060 60 57 54 51 48 44 41 38 35 32 30
1,060 1,080 62 58 55 52 49 46 43 40 37 34 31
1,080 1,100 63 60 57 54 50 47 44 41 38 35 32
1,100 1,120 65 61 58 55 52 49 46 42 39 37 34
1,120 1,140 66 63 60 56 53 50 47 44 41 38 35
1,140 1,160 68 65 61 58 55 52 48 45 42 39 36
1,160 1,180 69 66 63 59 56 53 50 47 44 41 38
1,180 1,200 71 68 64 61 58 54 51 48 45 42 39
1,200 1,220 72 69 66 62 59 56 53 50 47 43 40
1,220 1,240 74 71 67 64 61 57 54 51 48 45 42
1,240 1,260 75 72 69 66 62 59 56 53 49 46 43
1,260 1,280 77 74 70 67 64 60 57 54 51 48 45
1,280 1,300 78 75 72 69 65 62 59 55 52 49 46

1,300 & over 80 77 73 70 67 63 60 57 54 51 48

Single PERSONS — UNMARRIED Heads of Household

7.60% of excess over $1,300 plus

WAGES ARE NUMBER OF WITHHOLDING ALLOWANCES CLAIMED

For Calendar Year 2007, and thereafter
Semimonthly PAYROLL PERIOD

AT
LEAST

BUT
LESS
THAN AMOUNT OF INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD
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0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
or more

0 40 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
40 60 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
60 80 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
80 100 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0

100 120 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
120 140 2 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
140 160 2 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
160 180 2 2 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
180 200 3 2 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
200 220 3 2 2 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0
220 240 4 3 2 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0
240 260 4 3 2 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0
260 280 5 4 3 2 1 1 0 0 0 0 0
280 300 6 4 3 2 2 1 0 0 0 0 0
300 320 6 5 4 3 2 1 1 0 0 0 0
320 340 7 6 4 3 2 2 1 0 0 0 0
340 360 8 6 5 3 2 2 1 1 0 0 0
360 380 8 7 5 4 3 2 2 1 0 0 0
380 400 9 7 6 5 3 2 2 1 1 0 0
400 420 10 8 7 5 4 3 2 1 1 0 0
420 440 11 9 7 6 5 3 2 2 1 1 0
440 460 12 10 8 7 5 4 3 2 1 1 0
460 480 13 11 9 7 6 5 3 2 2 1 1
480 500 14 12 9 8 7 5 4 3 2 1 1
500 520 15 13 10 9 7 6 4 3 2 2 1
520 540 16 14 12 9 8 6 5 4 3 2 1
540 560 17 15 13 10 8 7 6 4 3 2 2
560 580 19 16 14 11 9 8 6 5 4 3 2
580 600 20 17 15 12 10 8 7 6 4 3 2
600 620 21 18 16 14 11 9 8 6 5 3 2
620 640 22 19 17 15 12 10 8 7 5 4 3
640 660 23 21 18 16 13 11 9 7 6 5 3
660 680 24 22 19 17 15 12 10 8 7 5 4
680 700 25 23 20 18 16 13 11 9 7 6 5
700 720 26 24 21 19 17 14 12 10 8 7 5
720 740 27 25 23 20 18 15 13 11 9 7 6
740 760 28 26 24 21 19 17 14 12 9 8 7
760 780 30 27 25 22 20 18 15 13 10 9 7
780 800 31 28 26 23 21 19 16 14 12 9 8
800 820 32 29 27 25 22 20 17 15 13 10 8
820 840 33 30 28 26 23 21 19 16 14 11 9
840 860 34 32 29 27 24 22 20 17 15 12 10
860 880 36 33 30 28 26 23 21 18 16 14 11
880 900 37 34 31 29 27 24 22 19 17 15 12
900 920 38 35 33 30 28 25 23 21 18 16 13
920 940 40 37 34 31 29 26 24 22 19 17 15
940 960 41 38 35 32 30 28 25 23 20 18 16
960 980 42 39 37 34 31 29 26 24 21 19 17
980 1,000 43 41 38 35 32 30 27 25 23 20 18

1,000 1,020 45 42 39 36 34 31 28 26 24 21 19

Semimonthly  PAYROLL PERIOD
For Calendar Year 2007, and thereafter

AT
LEAST

BUT
LESS
THAN AMOUNT OF INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD

Married  PERSONS

WAGES ARE NUMBER OF WITHHOLDING ALLOWANCES CLAIMED
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0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
or more

1,020 1,040 46 43 40 38 35 32 30 27 25 22 20
1,040 1,060 47 44 42 39 36 33 31 28 26 23 21
1,060 1,080 48 46 43 40 37 35 32 29 27 25 22
1,080 1,100 50 47 44 41 39 36 33 30 28 26 23
1,100 1,120 51 48 45 43 40 37 34 32 29 27 24
1,120 1,140 52 50 47 44 41 38 36 33 30 28 26
1,140 1,160 54 51 48 45 43 40 37 34 31 29 27
1,160 1,180 55 52 49 47 44 41 38 35 33 30 28
1,180 1,200 56 53 51 48 45 42 40 37 34 31 29
1,200 1,220 57 55 52 49 46 44 41 38 35 32 30
1,220 1,240 59 56 53 50 48 45 42 39 37 34 31
1,240 1,260 60 57 54 52 49 46 43 41 38 35 32
1,260 1,280 62 59 56 53 50 47 45 42 39 36 34
1,280 1,300 63 60 57 54 51 49 46 43 40 38 35
1,300 1,320 64 61 58 56 53 50 47 44 42 39 36
1,320 1,340 66 63 60 57 54 51 48 46 43 40 37
1,340 1,360 67 64 61 58 55 53 50 47 44 41 39
1,360 1,380 68 65 62 60 57 54 51 48 45 43 40
1,380 1,400 70 67 64 61 58 55 52 50 47 44 41
1,400 1,420 71 68 65 62 59 56 54 51 48 45 42
1,420 1,440 72 69 67 64 61 58 55 52 49 47 44
1,440 1,460 74 71 68 65 62 59 56 53 51 48 45
1,460 1,480 75 72 69 66 63 60 57 55 52 49 46
1,480 1,500 77 74 71 68 65 62 59 56 53 50 48
1,500 1,520 78 75 72 69 66 63 60 57 54 52 49
1,520 1,540 79 76 73 70 67 65 62 59 56 53 50
1,540 1,560 81 78 75 72 69 66 63 60 57 54 51
1,560 1,580 82 79 76 73 70 67 64 61 58 56 53
1,580 1,600 83 80 77 74 72 69 66 63 60 57 54
1,600 1,620 85 82 79 76 73 70 67 64 61 58 55
1,620 1,640 86 83 80 77 74 71 68 65 62 60 57
1,640 1,660 88 84 82 79 76 73 70 67 64 61 58
1,660 1,680 89 86 83 80 77 74 71 68 65 62 59
1,680 1,700 90 87 84 81 78 75 72 69 67 64 61
1,700 1,720 92 89 86 83 80 77 74 71 68 65 62
1,720 1,740 93 90 87 84 81 78 75 72 69 66 63
1,740 1,760 95 92 89 85 82 79 77 74 71 68 65
1,760 1,780 96 93 90 87 84 81 78 75 72 69 66
1,780 1,800 98 95 91 88 85 82 79 76 73 70 67
1,800 1,820 99 96 93 90 87 84 81 78 75 72 69
1,820 1,840 101 97 94 91 88 85 82 79 76 73 70
1,840 1,860 102 99 96 93 90 86 83 80 77 74 72
1,860 1,880 103 100 97 94 91 88 85 82 79 76 73
1,880 1,900 105 102 99 96 92 89 86 83 80 77 74
1,900 1,920 106 103 100 97 94 91 88 84 81 79 76
1,920 1,940 108 105 102 98 95 92 89 86 83 80 77
1,940 1,960 109 106 103 100 97 94 90 87 84 81 78
1,960 1,980 111 108 104 101 98 95 92 89 86 83 80
1,980 2,000 112 109 106 103 100 96 93 90 87 84 81
2,000 2,020 114 110 107 104 101 98 95 92 89 85 82

Semimonthly  PAYROLL PERIOD
For Calendar Year 2007, and thereafter

Married  PERSONS

AT
LEAST

BUT
LESS
THAN AMOUNT OF INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD

WAGES ARE NUMBER OF WITHHOLDING ALLOWANCES CLAIMED
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0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
or more

2,020 2,040 115 112 109 106 102 99 96 93 90 87 84
2,040 2,060 117 113 110 107 104 101 98 95 91 88 85
2,060 2,080 118 115 112 108 105 102 99 96 93 90 87
2,080 2,100 120 116 113 110 107 104 101 97 94 91 88

2,100 & over 121 118 115 111 108 105 102 99 96 93 90

AT
LEAST

BUT
LESS
THAN AMOUNT OF INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD

WAGES ARE NUMBER OF WITHHOLDING ALLOWANCES CLAIMED

7.60% of excess over $2,100 plus

For Calendar Year 2007, and thereafter
Married PERSONS

Semimonthly PAYROLL PERIOD
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0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
or more

0 40 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
40 60 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
60 80 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
80 100 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0

100 120 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
120 140 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
140 160 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
160 180 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
180 200 3 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
200 220 3 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
220 240 4 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
240 260 4 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
260 280 5 3 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
280 300 6 3 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
300 320 6 4 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
320 340 7 4 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
340 360 8 5 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
360 380 8 5 3 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
380 400 9 6 3 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0
400 420 10 7 4 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0
420 440 11 7 5 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0
440 460 12 8 5 3 1 0 0 0 0 0 0
460 480 13 9 6 3 2 1 0 0 0 0 0
480 500 14 9 7 4 2 1 0 0 0 0 0
500 520 15 10 7 4 2 1 0 0 0 0 0
520 540 16 12 8 5 3 1 0 0 0 0 0
540 560 17 13 8 6 3 2 0 0 0 0 0
560 580 19 14 9 6 4 2 1 0 0 0 0
580 600 20 15 10 7 4 2 1 0 0 0 0
600 620 21 16 11 8 5 2 1 0 0 0 0
620 640 22 17 12 8 5 3 2 0 0 0 0
640 660 23 18 13 9 6 3 2 1 0 0 0
660 680 24 19 15 10 7 4 2 1 0 0 0
680 700 25 20 16 11 7 5 2 1 0 0 0
700 720 26 21 17 12 8 5 3 1 0 0 0
720 740 27 23 18 13 9 6 3 2 1 0 0
740 760 28 24 19 14 9 7 4 2 1 0 0
760 780 30 25 20 15 10 7 4 2 1 0 0
780 800 31 26 21 16 12 8 5 3 1 0 0
800 820 32 27 22 17 13 8 6 3 2 0 0
820 840 33 28 23 19 14 9 6 4 2 1 0
840 860 34 29 24 20 15 10 7 4 2 1 0
860 880 36 30 26 21 16 11 8 5 2 1 0
880 900 37 31 27 22 17 12 8 5 3 2 0
900 920 38 33 28 23 18 13 9 6 3 2 1
920 940 40 34 29 24 19 15 10 7 4 2 1
940 960 41 35 30 25 20 16 11 7 5 2 1
960 980 42 37 31 26 21 17 12 8 5 3 1
980 1,000 43 38 32 27 23 18 13 9 6 3 2

1,000 1,020 45 39 34 28 24 19 14 9 7 4 2

Monthly  PAYROLL PERIOD

Single  PERSONS — UNMARRIED Heads of Household
For Calendar Year 2007, and thereafter

WAGES ARE NUMBER OF WITHHOLDING ALLOWANCES CLAIMED

AT
LEAST

BUT
LESS
THAN AMOUNT OF INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD
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0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
or more

1,020 1,040 46 40 35 30 25 20 15 10 7 4 2
1,040 1,060 47 42 36 31 26 21 16 12 8 5 3
1,060 1,080 48 43 37 32 27 22 17 13 8 6 3
1,080 1,100 50 44 39 33 28 23 19 14 9 6 4
1,100 1,120 51 45 40 34 29 24 20 15 10 7 4
1,120 1,140 52 47 41 36 30 26 21 16 11 8 5
1,140 1,160 54 48 43 37 31 27 22 17 12 8 5
1,160 1,180 55 49 44 38 33 28 23 18 13 9 6
1,180 1,200 56 51 45 40 34 29 24 19 15 10 7
1,200 1,220 57 52 46 41 35 30 25 20 16 11 7
1,220 1,240 59 53 48 42 37 31 26 21 17 12 8
1,240 1,260 60 54 49 43 38 32 27 23 18 13 9
1,260 1,280 62 56 50 45 39 34 28 24 19 14 9
1,280 1,300 63 57 51 46 40 35 30 25 20 15 10
1,300 1,320 64 58 53 47 42 36 31 26 21 16 12
1,320 1,340 66 60 54 48 43 37 32 27 22 17 13
1,340 1,360 67 61 55 50 44 39 33 28 23 19 14
1,360 1,380 68 62 57 51 45 40 34 29 24 20 15
1,380 1,400 70 64 58 52 47 41 36 30 26 21 16
1,400 1,420 71 65 59 54 48 43 37 31 27 22 17
1,420 1,440 72 67 61 55 49 44 38 33 28 23 18
1,440 1,460 74 68 62 56 51 45 40 34 29 24 19
1,460 1,480 75 69 63 57 52 46 41 35 30 25 20
1,480 1,500 77 71 65 59 53 48 42 37 31 26 21
1,500 1,520 78 72 66 60 54 49 43 38 32 27 23
1,520 1,540 79 73 67 62 56 50 45 39 34 28 24
1,540 1,560 81 75 69 63 57 51 46 40 35 30 25
1,560 1,580 82 76 70 64 58 53 47 42 36 31 26
1,580 1,600 83 77 72 66 60 54 48 43 37 32 27
1,600 1,620 85 79 73 67 61 55 50 44 39 33 28
1,620 1,640 86 80 74 68 62 57 51 46 40 34 29
1,640 1,660 88 82 76 70 64 58 52 47 41 36 30
1,660 1,680 89 83 77 71 65 59 54 48 43 37 31
1,680 1,700 90 84 78 72 67 61 55 49 44 38 33
1,700 1,720 92 86 80 74 68 62 56 51 45 40 34
1,720 1,740 93 87 81 75 69 63 57 52 46 41 35
1,740 1,760 95 89 82 77 71 65 59 53 48 42 37
1,760 1,780 96 90 84 78 72 66 60 54 49 43 38
1,780 1,800 98 91 85 79 73 67 62 56 50 45 39
1,800 1,820 99 93 87 81 75 69 63 57 51 46 40
1,820 1,840 101 94 88 82 76 70 64 58 53 47 42
1,840 1,860 102 96 90 83 77 72 66 60 54 48 43
1,860 1,880 103 97 91 85 79 73 67 61 55 50 44
1,880 1,900 105 99 92 86 80 74 68 62 57 51 46
1,900 1,920 106 100 94 88 82 76 70 64 58 52 47
1,920 1,940 108 102 95 89 83 77 71 65 59 54 48
1,940 1,960 109 103 97 90 84 78 72 67 61 55 49
1,960 1,980 111 104 98 92 86 80 74 68 62 56 51
1,980 2,000 112 106 100 93 87 81 75 69 63 57 52
2,000 2,020 114 107 101 95 89 82 77 71 65 59 53

For Calendar Year 2007, and thereafter
Single  PERSONS — UNMARRIED Heads of Household

Monthly  PAYROLL PERIOD

WAGES ARE NUMBER OF WITHHOLDING ALLOWANCES CLAIMED

AT
LEAST

BUT
LESS
THAN AMOUNT OF INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD
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0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
or more

2,020 2,040 115 109 102 96 90 84 78 72 66 60 54
2,040 2,060 117 110 104 98 91 85 79 73 67 62 56
2,060 2,080 118 112 105 99 93 87 81 75 69 63 57
2,080 2,100 120 113 107 101 94 88 82 76 70 64 58
2,100 2,120 121 115 108 102 96 90 83 77 72 66 60
2,120 2,140 123 116 110 103 97 91 85 79 73 67 61
2,140 2,160 124 118 111 105 99 92 86 80 74 68 62
2,160 2,180 126 119 113 106 100 94 88 82 76 70 64
2,180 2,200 127 121 114 108 102 95 89 83 77 71 65
2,200 2,220 129 122 116 109 103 97 90 84 78 72 67
2,220 2,240 130 124 117 111 104 98 92 86 80 74 68
2,240 2,260 132 125 119 112 106 100 93 87 81 75 69
2,260 2,280 133 127 120 114 107 101 95 89 82 77 71
2,280 2,300 135 128 122 115 109 102 96 90 84 78 72
2,300 2,320 136 130 123 117 110 104 98 91 85 79 73
2,320 2,340 138 131 125 118 112 105 99 93 87 81 75
2,340 2,360 139 133 126 120 113 107 101 94 88 82 76
2,360 2,380 141 134 128 121 115 108 102 96 90 83 77
2,380 2,400 142 136 129 123 116 110 103 97 91 85 79
2,400 2,420 144 137 131 124 118 111 105 99 92 86 80
2,420 2,440 145 139 132 126 119 113 106 100 94 88 82
2,440 2,460 147 140 134 127 121 114 108 102 95 89 83
2,460 2,480 149 142 135 129 122 116 109 103 97 90 84
2,480 2,500 150 143 137 130 124 117 111 104 98 92 86
2,500 2,520 152 145 138 132 125 119 112 106 100 93 87
2,520 2,540 153 146 140 133 127 120 114 107 101 95 89

2,540 & over 155 148 141 135 128 122 115 109 102 96 90

Monthly PAYROLL PERIOD
For Calendar Year 2007, and thereafter

AT
LEAST

BUT
LESS
THAN AMOUNT OF INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD

7.60% of excess over $2,540 plus

WAGES ARE NUMBER OF WITHHOLDING ALLOWANCES CLAIMED

Single PERSONS — UNMARRIED Heads of Household
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0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
or more

0 40 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
40 60 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
60 80 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
80 100 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0

100 120 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
120 140 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
140 160 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
160 180 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
180 200 3 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
200 220 3 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
220 240 3 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
240 260 4 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
260 280 4 3 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
280 300 4 3 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
300 320 4 3 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
320 340 5 3 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
340 360 5 4 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
360 380 5 4 3 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
380 400 5 4 3 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0
400 420 6 5 3 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0
420 440 7 5 4 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0
440 460 7 5 4 3 1 0 0 0 0 0 0
460 480 8 5 4 3 2 1 0 0 0 0 0
480 500 8 6 4 3 2 1 0 0 0 0 0
500 520 9 6 5 4 2 1 0 0 0 0 0
520 540 10 7 5 4 3 1 0 0 0 0 0
540 560 10 8 5 4 3 2 0 0 0 0 0
560 580 11 8 6 4 3 2 1 0 0 0 0
580 600 12 9 6 5 3 2 1 0 0 0 0
600 620 12 10 7 5 4 2 1 0 0 0 0
620 640 13 10 7 5 4 3 2 0 0 0 0
640 660 14 11 8 5 4 3 2 1 0 0 0
660 680 14 11 9 6 5 3 2 1 0 0 0
680 700 15 12 9 7 5 4 2 1 0 0 0
700 720 16 13 10 7 5 4 3 1 0 0 0
720 740 16 13 11 8 5 4 3 2 1 0 0
740 760 17 14 11 8 6 4 3 2 1 0 0
760 780 17 15 12 9 6 5 4 2 1 0 0
780 800 18 15 13 10 7 5 4 3 1 0 0
800 820 19 16 13 10 8 5 4 3 2 0 0
820 840 20 17 14 11 8 6 4 3 2 1 0
840 860 21 17 14 12 9 6 5 3 2 1 0
860 880 22 18 15 12 10 7 5 4 2 1 0
880 900 23 19 16 13 10 7 5 4 3 2 0
900 920 24 20 16 14 11 8 5 4 3 2 1
920 940 26 21 17 14 11 9 6 5 3 2 1
940 960 27 22 18 15 12 9 7 5 4 2 1
960 980 28 23 18 16 13 10 7 5 4 3 1
980 1,000 29 24 19 16 13 11 8 5 4 3 2

1,000 1,020 30 25 20 17 14 11 8 6 4 3 2

Monthly  PAYROLL PERIOD
For Calendar Year 2007, and thereafter

Married  PERSONS

WAGES ARE

AT
LEAST

BUT
LESS
THAN AMOUNT OF INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD

NUMBER OF WITHHOLDING ALLOWANCES CLAIMED
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0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
or more

1,020 1,040 31 26 22 17 15 12 9 6 5 4 2
1,040 1,060 32 27 23 18 15 13 10 7 5 4 3
1,060 1,080 33 28 24 19 16 13 10 8 5 4 3
1,080 1,100 34 30 25 20 17 14 11 8 6 4 3
1,100 1,120 35 31 26 21 17 14 12 9 6 5 3
1,120 1,140 37 32 27 22 18 15 12 10 7 5 4
1,140 1,160 38 33 28 23 19 16 13 10 7 5 4
1,160 1,180 39 34 29 24 20 16 14 11 8 5 4
1,180 1,200 40 35 30 26 21 17 14 11 9 6 5
1,200 1,220 41 36 31 27 22 18 15 12 9 7 5
1,220 1,240 42 37 33 28 23 18 16 13 10 7 5
1,240 1,260 43 38 34 29 24 19 16 13 11 8 5
1,260 1,280 44 39 35 30 25 20 17 14 11 8 6
1,280 1,300 45 41 36 31 26 22 17 15 12 9 6
1,300 1,320 46 42 37 32 27 23 18 15 13 10 7
1,320 1,340 48 43 38 33 28 24 19 16 13 10 8
1,340 1,360 49 44 39 34 30 25 20 17 14 11 8
1,360 1,380 50 45 40 35 31 26 21 17 14 12 9
1,380 1,400 51 46 41 37 32 27 22 18 15 12 10
1,400 1,420 52 47 42 38 33 28 23 19 16 13 10
1,420 1,440 53 48 44 39 34 29 24 20 16 14 11
1,440 1,460 54 49 45 40 35 30 26 21 17 14 11
1,460 1,480 55 50 46 41 36 31 27 22 18 15 12
1,480 1,500 56 52 47 42 37 33 28 23 18 16 13
1,500 1,520 57 53 48 43 38 34 29 24 19 16 13
1,520 1,540 59 54 49 44 39 35 30 25 20 17 14
1,540 1,560 60 55 50 45 41 36 31 26 22 17 15
1,560 1,580 61 56 51 46 42 37 32 27 23 18 15
1,580 1,600 62 57 52 48 43 38 33 28 24 19 16
1,600 1,620 63 58 53 49 44 39 34 30 25 20 17
1,620 1,640 64 59 55 50 45 40 35 31 26 21 17
1,640 1,660 66 60 56 51 46 41 37 32 27 22 18
1,660 1,680 67 61 57 52 47 42 38 33 28 23 19
1,680 1,700 68 63 58 53 48 44 39 34 29 24 20
1,700 1,720 69 64 59 54 49 45 40 35 30 26 21
1,720 1,740 71 65 60 55 50 46 41 36 31 27 22
1,740 1,760 72 66 61 56 52 47 42 37 33 28 23
1,760 1,780 73 68 62 57 53 48 43 38 34 29 24
1,780 1,800 75 69 63 59 54 49 44 39 35 30 25
1,800 1,820 76 70 65 60 55 50 45 41 36 31 26
1,820 1,840 77 72 66 61 56 51 46 42 37 32 27
1,840 1,860 78 73 67 62 57 52 48 43 38 33 28
1,860 1,880 80 74 69 63 58 53 49 44 39 34 30
1,880 1,900 81 75 70 64 59 55 50 45 40 35 31
1,900 1,920 82 77 71 66 60 56 51 46 41 37 32
1,920 1,940 84 78 72 67 61 57 52 47 42 38 33
1,940 1,960 85 79 74 68 63 58 53 48 44 39 34
1,960 1,980 86 81 75 69 64 59 54 49 45 40 35
1,980 2,000 87 82 76 71 65 60 55 50 46 41 36
2,000 2,020 89 83 78 72 66 61 56 52 47 42 37

Married  PERSONS

Monthly  PAYROLL PERIOD

AT
LEAST

BUT
LESS
THAN AMOUNT OF INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD

WAGES ARE NUMBER OF WITHHOLDING ALLOWANCES CLAIMED

For Calendar Year 2007, and thereafter
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0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
or more

2,020 2,040 90 84 79 73 68 62 57 53 48 43 38
2,040 2,060 91 86 80 75 69 63 59 54 49 44 39
2,060 2,080 92 87 81 76 70 65 60 55 50 45 41
2,080 2,100 94 88 83 77 72 66 61 56 51 46 42
2,100 2,120 95 89 84 78 73 67 62 57 52 48 43
2,120 2,140 96 91 85 80 74 69 63 58 53 49 44
2,140 2,160 98 92 87 81 75 70 64 59 55 50 45
2,160 2,180 99 93 88 82 77 71 66 60 56 51 46
2,180 2,200 100 95 89 84 78 72 67 61 57 52 47
2,200 2,220 101 96 90 85 79 74 68 63 58 53 48
2,220 2,240 103 97 92 86 81 75 69 64 59 54 49
2,240 2,260 104 98 93 87 82 76 71 65 60 55 50
2,260 2,280 105 100 94 89 83 78 72 66 61 56 52
2,280 2,300 107 101 95 90 84 79 73 68 62 57 53
2,300 2,320 108 102 97 91 86 80 75 69 63 59 54
2,320 2,340 109 104 98 92 87 81 76 70 65 60 55
2,340 2,360 110 105 99 94 88 83 77 72 66 61 56
2,360 2,380 112 106 101 95 89 84 78 73 67 62 57
2,380 2,400 113 107 102 96 91 85 80 74 69 63 58
2,400 2,420 114 109 103 98 92 87 81 75 70 64 59
2,420 2,440 116 110 104 99 93 88 82 77 71 66 60
2,440 2,460 117 111 106 100 95 89 84 78 72 67 61
2,460 2,480 118 113 107 101 96 90 85 79 74 68 63
2,480 2,500 120 114 108 103 97 92 86 81 75 69 64
2,500 2,520 121 115 110 104 98 93 87 82 76 71 65
2,520 2,540 122 117 111 105 100 94 89 83 78 72 66
2,540 2,560 124 118 112 107 101 95 90 84 79 73 68
2,560 2,580 125 119 113 108 102 97 91 86 80 75 69
2,580 2,600 127 121 115 109 104 98 92 87 81 76 70
2,600 2,620 128 122 116 110 105 99 94 88 83 77 72
2,620 2,640 129 123 117 112 106 101 95 90 84 78 73
2,640 2,660 131 125 119 113 107 102 96 91 85 80 74
2,660 2,680 132 126 120 114 109 103 98 92 87 81 75
2,680 2,700 133 127 122 116 110 104 99 93 88 82 77
2,700 2,720 135 129 123 117 111 106 100 95 89 84 78
2,720 2,740 136 130 124 118 113 107 101 96 90 85 79
2,740 2,760 137 132 126 120 114 108 103 97 92 86 81
2,760 2,780 139 133 127 121 115 110 104 98 93 87 82
2,780 2,800 140 134 128 122 117 111 105 100 94 89 83
2,800 2,820 141 136 130 124 118 112 107 101 95 90 84
2,820 2,840 143 137 131 125 119 113 108 102 97 91 86
2,840 2,860 144 138 132 127 121 115 109 104 98 92 87
2,860 2,880 146 140 134 128 122 116 110 105 99 94 88
2,880 2,900 147 141 135 129 123 117 112 106 101 95 90
2,900 2,920 148 142 136 131 125 119 113 107 102 96 91
2,920 2,940 150 144 138 132 126 120 114 109 103 98 92
2,940 2,960 151 145 139 133 127 122 116 110 104 99 93
2,960 2,980 152 146 141 135 129 123 117 111 106 100 95
2,980 3,000 154 148 142 136 130 124 118 113 107 101 96
3,000 3,020 155 149 143 137 132 126 120 114 108 103 97

Monthly  PAYROLL PERIOD
For Calendar Year 2007, and thereafter

Married  PERSONS

AT
LEAST

WAGES ARE NUMBER OF WITHHOLDING ALLOWANCES CLAIMED

BUT
LESS
THAN AMOUNT OF INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD
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0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
or more

3,020 3,040 156 151 145 139 133 127 121 115 110 104 98
3,040 3,060 158 152 146 140 134 128 122 117 111 105 100
3,060 3,080 159 153 147 141 136 130 124 118 112 107 101
3,080 3,100 161 155 149 143 137 131 125 119 113 108 102
3,100 3,120 162 156 150 144 138 132 127 121 115 109 104
3,120 3,140 163 157 151 146 140 134 128 122 116 110 105
3,140 3,160 165 159 153 147 141 135 129 123 117 112 106
3,160 3,180 166 160 154 148 142 136 131 125 119 113 107
3,180 3,200 167 161 156 150 144 138 132 126 120 114 109
3,200 3,220 169 163 157 151 145 139 133 127 122 116 110
3,220 3,240 170 164 158 152 146 141 135 129 123 117 111
3,240 3,260 172 166 160 154 148 142 136 130 124 118 113
3,260 3,280 173 167 161 155 149 143 137 132 126 120 114
3,280 3,300 174 168 162 156 151 145 139 133 127 121 115
3,300 3,320 176 170 164 158 152 146 140 134 128 122 117
3,320 3,340 177 171 165 159 153 147 141 136 130 124 118
3,340 3,360 179 173 166 161 155 149 143 137 131 125 119
3,360 3,380 180 174 168 162 156 150 144 138 132 127 121
3,380 3,400 182 175 169 163 157 151 146 140 134 128 122
3,400 3,420 183 177 171 165 159 153 147 141 135 129 123
3,420 3,440 185 178 172 166 160 154 148 142 137 131 125
3,440 3,460 186 180 174 167 161 156 150 144 138 132 126
3,460 3,480 187 181 175 169 163 157 151 145 139 133 127
3,480 3,500 189 183 176 170 164 158 152 146 141 135 129
3,500 3,520 190 184 178 172 166 160 154 148 142 136 130
3,520 3,540 192 186 179 173 167 161 155 149 143 137 132
3,540 3,560 193 187 181 174 168 162 156 151 145 139 133
3,560 3,580 195 188 182 176 170 164 158 152 146 140 134
3,580 3,600 196 190 184 177 171 165 159 153 147 141 136
3,600 3,620 198 191 185 179 173 166 161 155 149 143 137
3,620 3,640 199 193 186 180 174 168 162 156 150 144 138
3,640 3,660 200 194 188 182 175 169 163 157 151 146 140
3,660 3,680 202 196 189 183 177 171 165 159 153 147 141
3,680 3,700 203 197 191 185 178 172 166 160 154 148 142
3,700 3,720 205 198 192 186 180 174 167 161 156 150 144
3,720 3,740 206 200 194 187 181 175 169 163 157 151 145
3,740 3,760 208 201 195 189 183 176 170 164 158 152 146
3,760 3,780 209 203 197 190 184 178 172 166 160 154 148
3,780 3,800 210 204 198 192 186 179 173 167 161 155 149
3,800 3,820 212 206 199 193 187 181 174 168 162 156 151
3,820 3,840 213 207 201 195 188 182 176 170 164 158 152
3,840 3,860 215 209 202 196 190 184 177 171 165 159 153
3,860 3,880 216 210 204 198 191 185 179 173 166 161 155
3,880 3,900 218 211 205 199 193 186 180 174 168 162 156
3,900 3,920 219 213 207 200 194 188 182 175 169 163 157
3,920 3,940 221 214 208 202 196 189 183 177 171 165 159
3,940 3,960 222 216 210 203 197 191 185 178 172 166 160
3,960 3,980 223 217 211 205 198 192 186 180 174 167 161
3,980 4,000 225 219 212 206 200 194 187 181 175 169 163
4,000 4,020 226 220 214 208 201 195 189 183 176 170 164

Monthly  PAYROLL PERIOD
For Calendar Year 2007, and thereafter

Married  PERSONS

AT
LEAST

BUT
LESS
THAN AMOUNT OF INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD

WAGES ARE NUMBER OF WITHHOLDING ALLOWANCES CLAIMED
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0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
or more

4,020 4,040 228 222 215 209 203 197 190 184 178 172 166
4,040 4,060 229 223 217 210 204 198 192 186 179 173 167
4,060 4,080 231 224 218 212 206 199 193 187 181 174 168
4,080 4,100 232 226 220 213 207 201 195 188 182 176 170
4,100 4,120 234 227 221 215 209 202 196 190 184 177 171
4,120 4,140 235 229 222 216 210 204 198 191 185 179 173
4,140 4,160 237 230 224 218 211 205 199 193 186 180 174
4,160 4,180 239 232 225 219 213 207 200 194 188 182 175
4,180 4,200 240 233 227 221 214 208 202 196 189 183 177

4,200 & over 242 235 228 222 216 210 203 197 191 185 178

For Calendar Year 2007, and thereafter
Married PERSONS

Monthly PAYROLL PERIOD

7.60% of excess over $4,200 plus

AT
LEAST

BUT
LESS
THAN AMOUNT OF INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD

WAGES ARE NUMBER OF WITHHOLDING ALLOWANCES CLAIMED

46



0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
or more

0 10 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
10 20 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
20 30 1 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
30 40 2 1 1 1 1 1 1 0 0 0 0
40 50 2 2 2 2 1 1 1 1 1 1 0
50 60 3 3 3 2 2 2 2 2 1 1 1
60 70 4 3 3 3 3 3 2 2 2 2 2
70 80 4 4 4 4 4 3 3 3 3 3 2

80 & over 5 5 5 5 4 4 4 4 3 3 3

0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
or more

0 10 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
10 20 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
20 30 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
30 40 1 1 1 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0
40 50 2 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 0 0 0
50 60 2 2 2 2 2 1 1 1 1 1 1
60 70 3 3 2 2 2 2 2 2 1 1 1
70 80 3 3 3 3 3 3 2 2 2 2 2
80 90 4 4 4 4 3 3 3 3 3 2 2
90 100 5 5 4 4 4 4 4 4 3 3 3

100 110 6 5 5 5 5 5 4 4 4 4 4
110 120 6 6 6 6 5 5 5 5 5 4 4
120 130 7 7 7 6 6 6 6 6 5 5 5
130 140 8 7 7 7 7 7 6 6 6 6 6
140 150 8 8 8 8 8 7 7 7 7 7 6
150 160 9 9 9 9 8 8 8 8 7 7 7
160 170 10 10 10 9 9 9 9 8 8 8 8
170 180 11 11 10 10 10 10 9 9 9 9 9
180 190 11 11 11 11 11 10 10 10 10 10 9

200 & over 13 13 13 12 12 12 12 11 11 11 11

WAGES ARE NUMBER OF WITHHOLDING ALLOWANCES CLAIMED

AT
LEAST

BUT
LESS
THAN AMOUNT OF INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD

WAGES ARE NUMBER OF WITHHOLDING ALLOWANCES CLAIMED

AT
LEAST

BUT
LESS
THAN AMOUNT OF INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD

7.60% of excess over $200 plus

For Calendar Year 2007, and thereafter
Married PERSONS

Daily PAYROLL PERIOD
For Calendar Year 2007, and thereafter

Single PERSONS — UNMARRIED Heads of Household

Daily PAYROLL PERIOD

7.60% of excess over $80 plus
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